Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th December 2005, 06:56 PM
cyhsieh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 8
GUI (KDE/GENOME) setup/installation problems

Hi:
I have Fedora core 4. When I log in root/superuser, KDE/GENOME work fine, but I can't log in the regular user.
I had installed genome again by yum, but it didn't work. Can someone help me? Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th December 2005, 06:58 PM
ThijsH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 24
Posts: 124
Do you get any error-messages?
Have you set the permissions on the users home-directory ?
__________________
Dutch Fedora website: http://www.fedora-linux.nl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th December 2005, 07:04 PM
cyhsieh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 8
I think I setup the permission for regular users, but I set them up on KDE environment. Will it cause problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th December 2005, 07:06 PM
cyhsieh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 8
By the way, the error message is said that "the installation may not be correct or the quota is overflow" But I checked my space. It still has a lot of space. Any clue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th December 2005, 07:56 PM
ThijsH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 24
Posts: 124
Try creating a new user (using 'system-config-users'), maybe it works then. You can copy the files you need from the old user to the new one.
__________________
Dutch Fedora website: http://www.fedora-linux.nl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th December 2005, 08:57 PM
cyhsieh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 8
I tried your suggestion. This command only works in GUI. I don't need to copy old files to this new account. New account can't log in GUI(KDE). If you have any suggestion, please do. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gui, kde or genome, problems, setup or installation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First F8 installation, problems with RAID setup machgr Hardware & Laptops 13 1st May 2008 06:14 PM
Genome to KDE where Cool Surfer Using Fedora 5 27th June 2007 06:20 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:21 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat