Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th December 2005, 09:51 AM
gloom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
FC4 x86_64 + NVidia GeForce 6800 PCE + 2 displays

Hi all,

I'm posting here cause I was looking for an answer on the net but didn't find anything yet.

Yesterday I installed 64Bit version of Fedora and putted latest version of nvidia driver.

Everything go fine and my 2 displays (Dell 24" and Dell 17") works fine.

Only problem I got, the 17" who is connected using standard VGA adapter seems to be the primary display under X. 24" on DVI comes after.

So that is not really a problem for software development but when I want to play a game like Quake 4 or UT2004, it takes the 17" for fuul screen .

I'm looking now to tell X or NVidia driver to take the DVI port as primary display.

Anyone has info on how to do it please ?

Here are the options I putted in my xorg.conf :

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA Unknown (generic)"
Option "TwinView"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024 +1920+176,1920x1200; NULL, 1920x1200; 1280x1024, NULL"
EndSection

I tried the following but X didn't start anymore :

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0, CRT-0"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024 ,1280x1024"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th December 2005, 05:11 AM
hotdog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 250
Well, in your list of meta modes you're putting the modes for your 17" monitor ahead of the modes for you 24" monitor. Have you tried simply swapping those round? Replace

Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024 +1920+176,1920x1200; NULL, 1920x1200; 1280x1024, NULL"

with

Option "MetaModes" "1920x1200,1280x1024 +1920+176; 1920x1200, NULL; NULL, 1280x1024"

X should be able to work out which mode is for which monitor, given the capabilities of the two, but if it gets confused you can explictly state it like this

Option "MetaModes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200, CRT-0: 1280x1024 +1920+176; DFP-0: 1920x1200, CRT-0: NULL; DFP-0: NULL, CRT-0: 1280x1024"

(See the TwinView readme http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L...ppendix-g.html for details, plus some comments on game full screen modes.)

Hope this helps. I don't have a second monitor here to test it (just got one lovely 24" monitor ) but seems to me it ought to work.
__________________
Asus Eee PC 901, 2GB RAM, 20GB SSD + 16GB SDHC w/ Fedora 11
HTC Hero w/ Android 1.5 (MoDaCo Custom ROM 2.2e)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th December 2005, 09:39 AM
gloom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog
Option "MetaModes" "1920x1200,1280x1024 +1920+176; 1920x1200, NULL; NULL, 1280x1024"
Tried this one but the only thing I got was my 24" is in 1280x1024 and the 17" doesn't support display mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog
Option "MetaModes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200, CRT-0: 1280x1024 +1920+176; DFP-0: 1920x1200, CRT-0: NULL; DFP-0: NULL, CRT-0: 1280x1024"
And this one init just the 24" in 1920x1200 but 17" isn't initialised
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th December 2005, 01:01 PM
hotdog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 250
OK, so the first suggestion is a no go, when you don't specifiy which mode is which it always uses the second mode for DVI and the first for VGA.

I'm surprised the second one doesn't at least result in both displays working. I'd have thought even if it didn't select the primary display correctly it'd drive both displays, as it should be equivalent to the line you were using. Can you post your /var/log/X.org.0.log file for when you use this MetaMode line? Difficult to know where it's going wrong without more information.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
6800, displays, fc4, geforce, nvidia, pce, x8664

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
akmods problems on nVidia Geforce 6800, Fedora10 linhan Hardware & Laptops 0 3rd January 2009 03:41 AM
XFX GeForce 6800 GT LinuxTom Using Fedora 1 21st December 2008 06:51 AM
GeForce 6800 GS anybody? erasmix Hardware & Laptops 5 24th November 2005 01:52 PM
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 LE leetambiah Hardware & Laptops 2 25th June 2005 08:01 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:06 (Thursday, 28-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat