Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th December 2005, 06:20 PM
katalyst Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 38
firefox 1.5 install problem

when i install the firefoc 1.5 rpm. I get an error that says i have a newer version installd but looking at the help-about firefox it says i am using version 1.0.7. Any ideas whats wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th December 2005, 07:33 PM
phefner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Franklin, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 103
Where are you getting FF 1.5 from?

I wouldn't suggest using the one found in the Development repo. I got the same error. I think the error stems from the dependencies. I try to stay away from Development packages as much as possible.
__________________
Forget 'em, Support the Indies
Independent Music Online
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th December 2005, 10:09 PM
Clunixchit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Strasbourg
Age: 29
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by phefner
Where are you getting FF 1.5 from?

I wouldn't suggest using the one found in the Development repo. I got the same error. I think the error stems from the dependencies. I try to stay away from Development packages as much as possible.
you can still use them. i did overcome my dependencies : see http://clunixchit.blogspot.com/2005/...erbird-15.html
__________________
Itx either one or zero_
http://clunixchit.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th December 2005, 10:15 PM
zgerrz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 48
Just uninstall your current version of firefox by doing 'yum remove firefox'

Then install the 1.5 version manually.

If you go this route, I suggest you add firefox to the 'exclusions' list in yum.conf. This will prevent automatic upgrading of firefox via yum, but it will stop any dependancy issues and allow you to install custom, optimized firefox rpms that will probabaly work bette than the ones provided by yum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th December 2005, 01:32 AM
phefner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Franklin, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 103
FF 1.5 Development version

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clunixchit
you can still use them. i did overcome my dependencies : see http://clunixchit.blogspot.com/2005/...erbird-15.html
I just tried installing FF 1.5 from the Development tree again, and I get the same dependency issues. There are about 10 or more packages it needs before it will continue. Namely Xorg files and shared object libraries. Any thoughts?
__________________
Forget 'em, Support the Indies
Independent Music Online
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th December 2005, 02:04 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 55
Posts: 12,371
Hi:

If you want to install ff 1.5 via a FC4 rpm, then have a look here. The rpm repo(s) are quite good and compatible with the normal / standard yum set-up.
http://www.nrpms.net/
http://www.nrpms.net/Packages/fedora...n/firefox.html


hth

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th December 2005, 02:11 AM
phefner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Franklin, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 103
Firefox that works!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve
Hi:

If you want to install ff 1.5 via a FC4 rpm, then have a look here. The rpm repo(s) are quite good and compatible with the normal / standard yum set-up.
http://www.nrpms.net/
http://www.nrpms.net/Packages/fedora...n/firefox.html


hth

Seve
Thanks for the link, however I downloaded one that was made available by someone at FreshRPMS, and it works just great. I appreciate the help though. Here is the link for it if anyone wants it.

Firefox 1.5

I have it installed now and everything works great. They even fixed the rendering problem that Qute has also. Great!
__________________
Forget 'em, Support the Indies
Independent Music Online
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th December 2005, 02:24 AM
glanz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
http://www.mtl2002.net/firefox/firef...ozilla-binary/

This one contains all the dependencies and installs nicely. The system takes it into account and YUM won't over-ride it with an older version during general updates...
use "rpm -Uvh" to install...

Another way is to untar the Firefox tarball from the Firefox site and use that self-contained folder from your home directory. Uninstall the firefox 1.0.7 first. As root create a symlink in /usr/bin pointing to the Firefox directory in /home/'username'... This directory is not to be confused with the /home/username/.mozilla/firefox directory. The new install will use that after inserting the necessary updated files. You won't lose your bookmarks or anything important except for a few incompatible extensions and/or themes, which you will be able to either uninstall or update from the new firefox "tools" menu interface.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th December 2005, 05:17 AM
katalyst Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 38
can you give an example of what code you are using i have never installed an rpm with the rpm -Uvh command
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th December 2005, 05:22 AM
nlkrio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens-Greece
Posts: 1,331
rpm -Uvh with this command you upgrade an rpm,with tje command rpm -ivh you install a rpm
__________________
Drink more beer but never drive !!!
:) :p :eek:
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th December 2005, 05:31 AM
katalyst Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 38
still not sure . like this
Quote:
rpm -Uvh firefox-1.5-1.mozilla.FC4.i686.rpm
cause when i do that i get an error saying it is not an rpm
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20th December 2005, 08:55 AM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,460
Use

Code:
yum localinstall firefox-1.5-1.mozilla.FC4.i686.rpm
That will take care of dependancies.
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Toshiba Satellite C650D - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium Power output bust.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
firefox, install, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uninstall Firefox 3.5 Beta 4, install Firefox 3.0.11 stable Dillio Using Fedora 4 1st July 2009 07:42 PM
Firefox 2 install problem RJP Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 11th February 2007 09:42 PM
Firefox 1.5 // install and run problem Alukardian Using Fedora 2 11th March 2006 10:47 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:27 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat