Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th December 2005, 09:27 AM
donn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Unhappy Network booting old PCs - to install Linux on them.

(This post was originally on ubuntuforums.org, but I could get no help. I am hoping that there will be better feedback here.)
Hello there,
I have always installed from a CD, but this time there is no CD. Let me describe my setup and then beg for some help. Please understand that I am a network nitwit, I used binary years ago to create sprites on my home computer, but netmasks and subnets all sound like so much fishing-tackle to me!

My main desktop box (DB) is Fedora 3. I want to install Kubuntu onto a very old machine that has no CD ROM drive.

The box on the floor (BOF) is a donation for education in computer literacy. It's literally 10 years old and has never been opened, when I did, it was horrible; an even gray pelt of luxurious dust and hair on all the cards, wires, drives, the motherboard, everywhere. Scary. Needless to say, I don't want to try and plug a CD ROM drive into that mess. I can't risk disturbing the little eco-system balance thing that's going-on in there! Still, it boots and up comes Win95 - amazing.

The BOF has a network-card (and I had to clean the chips to discover it was a Realtek 8019AS.) and 64Mb Ram and a 2gig HDD (I hope these specs will handle Kubu 5.10, but that's another issue)

I fetched the etherboot image from the automated web-form (and I think I matched the network card properly). The BOF boots from the stiffy and starts looking for the network, so that seems good.

My network is like this:
Wireless aerial from my WISP. It has an ethernet cable that comes from the roof and into my little 5-port hub. (A box with flashing lights...BWFL) From the BWFL I have cables going out. One to my DB, on to an Access Point for the XP-Home laptop that roams about. One to the BOF.

I connect to the WISP by VPN on ppp0 over eth0. I use "dhclient eth0" to get an IP address from the WISP.

ifconfig on my DB:
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:20:ED:91:49:5D
          inet addr:172.0.10.255  Bcast:172.0.0.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:7666 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3957 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:4312828 (4.1 MiB)  TX bytes:467900 (456.9 KiB)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe400

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:295 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:295 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:12005 (11.7 KiB)  TX bytes:12005 (11.7 KiB)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
          inet addr:192.168.15.226  P-t-P:192.168.8.1  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1496  Metric:1
          RX packets:3773 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3021 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:3806677 (3.6 MiB)  TX bytes:246045 (240.2 KiB)
I hope that makes some sense.

Okay, so I am following the steps in the wiki:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Installation/LocalNet

I have installed tftpd (which has differing directories to the ones described for Ubuntu, but that's not too bad).

I mount the kubuntu5.10.iso on a loop on /tftpboot/kubu

I have apache running, and I make a symlink in /var/www from to /tftpboot/kubu
PROBLEM 1: I can't seem to go into http://localhost/kubu, but if I make the link inside /var/www/html then I can. Will this be a problem?

Then comes the great debacle - the DHCP-server. Hoo-boy am I up against my ignorance here! It's complete Greek. (Greek would make more sense - apologies to the Greeks out there!)

On Fedora, I installed "dhcp" (not "dhcp3" which was not available on yum). I then created an /etc/dhcp.conf as suggested in the wiki, (had to add a line at the end, hey - it told me to!).

But whatever numbers I use in 'subnet' and 'netmask' I just keep getting errors, even if I make them the same as the ifconfig readout.

Plus, I don't know what 'pxelinux.0' is, but I located it at the address you see below.

Example dhcp.conf file:
Code:
ping-check = 1;
filename = "/usr/lib/syslinux/pxelinux.0";
subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
	{ 
		range 192.168.1.10 192.168.1.254;
	}
ddns-update-style ad-hoc;
Now, when I do a "service dhcpd restart" I get messages like this:
Code:
No subnet declaration for eth0 (172.0.10.255).
** Ignoring requests on eth0.  If this is not what
   you want, please write a subnet declaration
   in your dhcpd.conf file for the network segment
   to which interface eth0 is attached. **

Not configured to listen on any interfaces!
And when I change "subnet to 172.0.10.255 netmask 255.255.0.0" I get:
Code:
/etc/dhcpd.conf line 3: subnet 172.0.10.255 netmask 255.255.0.0: bad subnet number/mask combination.

^
Configuration file errors encountered -- exiting
Well, that's as far as I have gotten this thing. Can anyone enlighten me? Pretty please!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th December 2005, 10:59 PM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
read here
http://wiki.ltsp.org/twiki/bin/view/Ltsp/LtspBreezyTest
but it certainly looks easier to install a cd!!! then what you have done so far...
ecosystem and grass growing or not--I would clean the thing up!!
2 gig hard drive will do a really bare bones gnome install (and you had better be selective at that--the install needs more then just the "program" space--it needs a place to put the install image too)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th December 2005, 05:10 AM
donn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Cool

Okay - maybe it would be easier to go with the CD route, but surely there is a situation where one would run "thin" clients off a server?
Could the DB be the server and the BOF the client?

And when the BOF can login to the server and get some kind of bash prompt, could I not then "suck" then "mount" a CD on the server and install away!

This really is a practical question because the money is tight.

There is no money <- that's tight !

On the resources-front, I think I will clean and combine the two donation boxes I have so that I can have one with two drives and maybe 48Mb RAM and so on. It's for the best as I only have one mouse.

Okay, any thoughts would be great - I thought Linux was super-flexible and network-oriented and could not be stumped!

Last edited by donn; 10th December 2005 at 05:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th December 2005, 01:02 PM
simonn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 217
http://www.ltsp.org/ ?
__________________
"Your attitude reminds me of a hairdresser who wonders why anybody took Einstein seriously with a haircut like that."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th December 2005, 02:03 PM
donn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Yea...ah - Ok Terminal Server, thin clients I see. Thanks for the link, it's new to me.
I was hoping to keep the focus on the OP and the issues with IP and netmask problems.
I's my fault for mentioning "thin" and "server" - I was just trying to prompt some ideas. So far it's looking like a CD install only world...

I have heard of companies that install to many (dozens, hundreds?) of machines all at the same time - perhaps this is some kind of hard-drive cloning thing?

Is the Net-boot-install-linux thing just a pipe-dream?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th December 2005, 06:42 PM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
hummmmm--read here..
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=85280
I understand $$ limitations--I'm sitting on a bunch right now in my backpocket--but it's that "Holiday Seasons" (politically correct way to say--bah-humbug--it's Christmas time) time of year and I have to buy for others first and I did want to go look/buy that new 64 bit board and processor--but guess next year will bring more $$ to spend on myself...
network installs usually occur with a setup working network with some kind of OS already running (easier usually) or with a setup "server" (look at the thinnet stuff--it's interesting)
but the above link looks like it could help--and ya get the "latest" stuff if using yum/rpm to go fetch it with and don't have the overhead of install-than the update taking 2x as long as the install did..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th December 2005, 07:03 AM
donn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Well, have a great time spending your savings. Have fun!
Thanks for the info, am following it up as best I can.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
booting, install, linux, network, pcs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
network booting with grub ac3raven Servers & Networking 12 28th May 2009 10:06 PM
BCM4310 Broadcom Wireless Network Card Linux Install Dell Inspiron 1525 Obrzut Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 14 31st October 2008 08:32 PM
Help booting over network tjhuot Servers & Networking 3 31st August 2007 12:58 AM
Booting from Network grial Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 5th April 2004 03:49 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:12 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Banovce nad Bebravou Travel Photos on Instagram - Bondo Travel Photos on Instagram - Hun Travel Photos