Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th November 2005, 05:35 AM
supertech Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
How do I get firewire to work on FC4?

Hi Everyone!


I am a Linux newbie and managed to install and run FC4 quite comfortably. One problem though I can't seem to get my Firewire to work.....I want to capture video from a Sony TRV38 handycam. However it seems as though there is no support for the Firewire module as yet. The hardware browser picks up the Firewire port quite easily, however it does not detect anything plugged into it. Can anyone help me please.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th November 2005, 07:31 AM
nlkrio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens-Greece
Posts: 1,331
you have to install libdv.i386,use yum to install it.
open a terminal as root and type:yum install libdv.i386
below are infos about libdv.i386 good luck!
libdv.i386 0.103-4 installed
Matched from:
The Quasar DV codec (libdv) is a software codec for DV video, the
encoding format used by most digital camcorders, typically those that
support the IEEE 1394 (a.k.a. FireWire or i.Link) interface. libdv was
developed according to the official standards for DV video: IEC 61834
and SMPTE 314M.
__________________
Drink more beer but never drive !!!
:) :p :eek:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd November 2005, 11:03 AM
supertech Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Hi Thanks very much for the help. However the yum update tells me "nothing to do" at the end of the process. Does this mean that it is installed already?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd November 2005, 04:19 PM
nlkrio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens-Greece
Posts: 1,331
open terminal and type:rpm -q libdv.i386
and you will see if it is installed
__________________
Drink more beer but never drive !!!
:) :p :eek:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th December 2005, 02:03 AM
mwette Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 887
Has this been resolved? I have firewire on my laptop and just installed firewire card on my
server. Both have libdv, but I don't see any /dev/ieee1394 directory gets created.
I do have this:
[root@localhost rules.d]# grep 1394 50-udev.rules
# IEEE1394 (firewire) devices (must be before raw devices below)
KERNEL=="raw1394", NAME="%k"
KERNEL=="dv1394*", NAME="dv1394/%n"
KERNEL=="video1394*", NAME="video1394/%n"

Also:
[root@localhost rules.d]# rpm -qa | grep 1394
libraw1394-devel-1.2.0-1.fc4
libraw1394-1.2.0-1.fc4
libavc1394-devel-0.4.1-8
libavc1394-0.4.1-8

And I have libdv installed. What's up?

Last edited by mwette; 29th December 2005 at 02:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc4, firewire, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC3 and Firewire taylor65 Hardware & Laptops 1 21st November 2004 11:37 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:07 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat