Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th November 2005, 12:29 AM
Trek1701 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vulcan
Posts: 284
floppy mount

Hi,

I'd like to know if there is some command to "refresh" the floppy when I replace it for another one without need to unmount and mount the drive.

Thanks and sorry for my bad english.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th November 2005, 05:12 PM
Furball Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Passau, Germany
Age: 34
Posts: 331
As far as I know that's not possible.
If you use msdos formatted floppies you can however circumvent this by using the mtools.
(Check if they are installted with 'rpm -q mtools')
You can use them like the dos commands with a 'm'-prefix, like mdir A: for example. The floppy has not to be mounted for them.
__________________

Benjamin Duehring, FORWISS
Universitaet Passau, D-94030 Passau
WWW: http://www.lyxx.de/card
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th November 2005, 08:55 PM
Trek1701 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vulcan
Posts: 284
I'll try that.

Thanks Furball
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th November 2005, 08:59 PM
mjr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 296
you cant use dos formated floppy but there is a gnu programe that partion hard drive and floppy plus make the file system. \

the program is called parted


www.gnu.org i think that may be wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th November 2005, 09:00 PM
mjr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 296
and there is always disk managment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
floppy, mount

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to mount USB floppy? mlim650 Hardware & Laptops 2 20th August 2006 04:20 PM
Floppy drive doesn't mount the floppy bhushan4520 Hardware & Laptops 3 9th February 2005 05:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:32 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat