Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 5th November 2005, 04:16 AM
Devil_1 Offline

Display settings.

I'm very new to Linux. I have Red Hat Fedora Core 1 on an older system I had lying around. I have a 17 in monitor, and I set the display settings to high for the monitor.. Nowe when I try to boot up, it will run through the boot sequences, then the screen goes blank, and a Sync error comes up... Is there any way to fix this? Thanks.
Old 5th November 2005, 04:31 AM
Optimal Aurora Offline

I don't know how you would solve that problem now that you aren't able to get to the screen resolution setting under desktop or on the first boot up, setup screen. I do know that the only way I solved that problem was to reinstall FC4 and then at first boot up select my monitor type which for me is a Gateway VX700 with a max resolution of 1280x1024 at 60Hz. However, they list as being 16??x???? which is well beyond my monitors range, although, you can tell it that you want to use 1024x768 with millions of colors. If you can get to the desktop screen then click on desktop at the top and Preferences and Screen Resolution then you can say I want to use 1024x768 at whatever frequency you want.

Sorry that, that probably won't help your situation but it could help someone else.

Quote:
Knowledge is Power and Power you are going to need to be a computer programmer.
Old 5th November 2005, 04:34 AM
Optimal Aurora Offline

Hay, you can't by any chance see a terminal screen or have any access to fedora? There is a way to reset Xserver.xorg which I was thinking you might be able to do.

Also do you have the installation disk. You can use it to boot Fedora into a rescue mode, which might allow you to access the screen resolution setting or access a terminal.

Quote:
Old 5th November 2005, 04:34 AM
Devil_1 Offline