Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 28th October 2005, 03:31 PM
dayal_78 Offline

My two cents

Hi,
I just want to share my thoughts/experiences regarding my ongoing rendezvous with linux on my desktop environment.
Before I used to interact with *nix systems only on a server environment using SSH/SCP. Primarily I am a server side programmer,
with a specialization in middle tier services, EIS integration etc. I program on J2EE and till date I have mostly used Open Source API's/tools/software for my programming requirements.
There were cases when I worked with Oracle 9i database/XML DB, Visual Studio 6.0 etc etc but thats in the past.

I decided to give a kickstart to my desktop experience on my Dell desktop with FC4. Anaconda carried me real well through out the install process. Initially I had some problems getting my Audio working
but with great help from these forums and after upgrading alsa I got my audio working. I still have to work out some kinks as far as sound/video are concerned.

After getting excited from my FC4 experience I decided to install Ubuntu on my new Dell laptop. I created a separated partition so that I can have both winXP and
Ubuntu on my single 100GB HD. I chose Ubuntu because I have heard that Breezy is real good and it just works out of the box. I thought its perfect as I want my laptop to be highly available.
Any learning/tweaking etc I can do on my desktop.As promised Ubuntu looks real good and the OS recognized all my hardware, well almost.
I had to tweak my IPW 2200 drivers a bit to get my wireless working properly and I had to remove WPA authentication on my network as Ubuntu doesn't have WPA support out of the box.
I can access windows shares ok with samba but I am not being able to access other samba shares. I guess more tweaking to do as far as samba is concerned.