Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th October 2005, 12:00 AM
petebog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
FC4 remote login from windoze

hi folks ... im still fairly new at linux. I now this qestion has been asked before but i havent yet found an answer that actually works .....

i have a box which will run FC4 as a gateway. the box will run headless so i need remote access, all beith across a LAN. the problem is i canna get VNC to run as a sevice at boot time so that when accessed i see a login screen. i can run VNC fine as long as a user is logged in.

if anyone could point me in the right direct it would be brill ..............

thnx in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th October 2005, 12:15 AM
smfinley Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,334
You could get XLivecd, ssh into your box and do trusted X forwarding (ssh -Y you@yourdomain.org).
__________________
Stanton Finley
stanton-finley.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th October 2005, 12:36 AM
chili555 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 261
You can also install putty on the Windows box and use ssh. I run three headless machines running FC4 and I administer them all with ssh.

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th October 2005, 04:11 PM
petebog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
thnx for that folks ....

so are we saying this canna be done - using VNC - with linux and / or fedora ?

it certaintly works fine on windoze.

as to SSH and putty could you point me in the direction of a howto ?

thnx again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th October 2005, 04:46 PM
Twey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 867
It certainly can be done with VNC. The problem you're having is that it won't work the way other services do, because it ought not to be run as root. Add:
Code:
su myuser -c vncserver
to your /etc/rc.d/rc.local file, and make sure you've run vncserver as that user once before (or it will prompt for a password and die). However, if you've got a headless box, I'm assuming it's a server of some kind. Frankly, you don't need pretty graphical interfaces for a server. All running X and vncserver will do is increase the install size ridiculously and (debatably) slow the machine down.
As for using SSH and PuTTY, it's very simple.
  1. Run system-config-services / ntsysv and tick sshd.
  2. Run system-config-securitylevel / system-config-securitylevel-tui and open up port 22:tcp.
  3. Download and unzip PuTTY from http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~s.../download.html onto the Windows machine.
  4. Run PuTTY, and connect to your box with your usual name and password.
  5. Administrate.
Alternatively, you could use Tunnelier. A nice SSH client, but it's non-Free (but doesn't cost money). Its installation procedures are fairly self-explanatory, and even the [strikethrough]least[/strikethrough] lower end of the mediocre range of computer-literate of users should be able to manage it.
__________________
Twey

Last edited by Twey; 12th October 2005 at 04:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th October 2005, 09:41 PM
petebog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
thnx twey .....

i understand what your saying about not needin a GUI for a server however im still learning with linux so a GUI helps to keep things easier when in a rush ..... but i will get to that point and will opt for the PuTTY / SSH option ... it work a treat.

as to the original question about VNC ... i tried your suggestion above ..... i can get a login but it the same as when using PuTTY ......... what im really looking for is a GUI login ........

petebog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th October 2005, 09:48 PM
grim76 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Age: 38
Posts: 17
You can try running nx server. I am running it for remote access when I need to get something done via a GUI and I am not anywhere near the machine.

http://fedoranews.org/contributors/rick_stout/freenx/
__________________
Dreams are nightmares wrapped in flights of fancy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc4, login, remote, windoze

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote login (no video-out) nrose8989 Servers & Networking 0 15th July 2009 05:29 AM
Removing Login Or Remote Login GrandpaGenocide Using Fedora 3 9th August 2007 07:23 AM
remote login gavinjb Using Fedora 3 14th September 2005 02:47 PM
VNC, remote login??? hamburger Using Fedora 6 22nd July 2005 12:33 AM
Remote Login Rivenskye Servers & Networking 4 5th July 2004 07:17 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:24 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ramla - Cholet - Istgah-e Rah Ahan-e Garmsar Travel Photos on Instagram