Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 2nd October 2005, 11:02 PM
rootloser Offline

cant get internet access

I just installed Fedora Core 4 last night. I am really new at Linux, and complex computing in general, but i want to learn, and I enjoy it. My new computer is a celeron d processor on an D945GNTLR Motherboard, meaning I have onboard sound and ethernet card. I was not able to get the ethernet that was built in working, since FC4 does not support it in its present kernel. So, I jsut grabbed an older ethernet card that it did recognize...a 3com 3c90x. The ethernet card is now recognized and supposedly active, and configured for DHCP which is what my cable internet service provider uses. Everything is set up in such a way that it seems like it SHOULD work. But it doesnt. The auto update program cant find a connection, I cant get onto the internet at all, and I get the following error message when i log in:

Could not look up internet address for x1-6-00-60-08-74-c8-2f. This will prevent Gnome from operating correctly. It may be possible to correct the problem by adding x1-6-00-60-08-74-c8-2f to the file /etc/hosts.

Can anyone help me get online? Can anyone tell me what this error message means, and if it is related to my problem? I would be really grateful for any support anyone can offer, I am really stumped with this one, and Id like to get it fixed so i can start tackling some of my other hadware issues (sound)...The Internet is the priority though. Thanks for any help you can offer!

cheers,
Brian
Old 2nd October 2005, 11:57 PM
rootloser Offline

ok, quick update...the following things make me think that the computer is in fact connecting to the internet, but i am being blocked from doing anything, anmd the system is being blocked from doing anything by the firewall:

-gkrellm shows ethernet activity
-network device control shows eth0 active
-during startup after boot it says, "detecting ip information for eth0...done"