Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th September 2005, 06:52 PM
Djeepy46234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Can't boot the FC4-i386

Hi

I can't boot the FC4-i386 Fedora installation CD... I just took some picture from the start of the installation. I notice, the Fedora logo is replaced by a white rectangle and the last image is the spot where the installation froze.

(Look at the picture down)

I did a checksum of the CDs and the hash is okay.

I have this :

Code:
Intel P4 2.8GHZ 1MB L2 Cache 800MHz Front Side Bus HyperThreading
512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM
160 GB 7200RPM Serial ATA hard drive
DVD+RW/DVD-RW/CD-RW Drive
CD-ROM Drive
I already have Windows XP on the C: partition and Mandrake and /boot on the same partition, ext3.

Help me please..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1681.JPG
Views:	86
Size:	354.3 KB
ID:	6157   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1682.JPG
Views:	99
Size:	437.6 KB
ID:	6158   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1684.JPG
Views:	98
Size:	472.9 KB
ID:	6159  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th September 2005, 11:34 PM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
See this sticky thread at the top of the forum:
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=62400
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th September 2005, 02:52 AM
Djeepy46234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
The installation worked but now I cant boot on Windows XP anymore.

Look at this :

Code:
[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

Disque /dev/sda: 160.0 Go, 160041885696 octets
240 têtes, 63 secteurs/piste, 20673 cylindres
Unités = cylindres de 15120 * 512 = 7741440 octets

Périphérique Amorce    Début         Fin      Blocs    Id  Système
/dev/sda1               1         674     5095408+   b  W95 FAT32
/dev/sda2   *         675       18639   135815400    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3           18640       20673    15377008+  83  Linux

Disque /dev/sdb: 81.9 Go, 81963515904 octets
255 têtes, 63 secteurs/piste, 9964 cylindres
Unités = cylindres de 16065 * 512 = 8225280 octets

Périphérique Amorce    Début         Fin      Blocs    Id  Système
/dev/sdb1   *           1        9964    80035798+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
And now to my grub.conf :

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
#          root (hd0,2)
#          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda3
#          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,2)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp)
	root (hd0,2)
	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp.img
title Fedora Core-up (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
	root (hd0,2)
	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
title Other
	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
	chainloader +1
I think I need to fix the Other (hd0,0) to (hd0,1) but I really dont know... Can someone help me for this ?

And finally, I have a Canadian french keyboard and I cant find the keyboard disposition. The only ones available are the Europe AZERTY keyboards ... Is there a spot to download additionnal keyboards disposition ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th September 2005, 03:14 AM
shams Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 881
if your xp is installed in the C drive then (h0,0) is ok (hd0,1) is for D drive, edit your grub.conf and increase the timeout from 5 to 30, and when the grub screen come out hit any key and select the xp, if you want to change the defualt boot from linux to the xp change the defualt=0 to defualt=1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th September 2005, 03:55 AM
Djeepy46234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Okay, after around 10 minutes of searching without result, I just modify the grub.conf myself and now it's working.

Here's the thing we need to add :

Code:
title Windows XP
	rootnoverify (hd0,1)
	chainloader +1
The reason why we need to change (hd0,0) to (hd0,1) is because HP is dumb and want to be different so this mean :

(hd0,0) = D:\
(hd0,1) = C:\

That's dumb 'cause now, FC4 put the (hd0,0) as the second boot but It's not true because this is the *ugly* System Save of HP. So much problem for nothing. And I just found the keyboard layout, it wasn't there, that's strange.

Here you go for my new grub.conf for HP a630n (with Factory hardrive layout) :

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
#          root (hd0,2)
#          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda3
#          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,2)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp)
	root (hd0,2)
	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp.img
title Fedora Core-up (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
	root (hd0,2)
	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
title Windows XP Home Edition (hd0,1)
	rootnoverify (hd0,1)
	chainloader +1
title HP System Save (hd0,0)
	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
	chainloader +1
The last thing I need to know is to mount my second hardrive and my (hd0,1). Is the command mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ?
__________________
Mount Windows 2k/NT/XP drive : http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=27045
Fix GRuB grub.conf for HP computers : http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...65&postcount=5
Get answered for the basic questions for FC4 : http://www.fedorafaq.org/

Last edited by Djeepy46234; 18th September 2005 at 04:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, fc4i386

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual boot i386 and x86_64 F7 cr22rc Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 3rd June 2007 03:25 AM
How to share /boot for i386 and x86-64 installs ? georgesgiralt Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 8th January 2007 02:49 PM
FC4-i386-DVD.iso does not boot jbsarma Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 18th July 2005 01:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:29 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Jundiai - Jammu Travel Photos - Karimganj Travel Photos