Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th September 2005, 10:46 AM
aero-z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Age: 28
Posts: 488
Question Q: YUMEX and Red Hat Update agent

I downloaded Yumex Red Hat Update Agent hack and I already have Yumex. The applet shows that my system is up to date, but when I run Yumex, there are updates available for some packages. Why the applet shows no new updates?
__________________
|| Registered Linux User #418296 ||

Last edited by aero-z; 7th September 2005 at 03:48 PM.
  #2  
Old 7th September 2005, 12:02 PM
Twey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 867
It doesn't check constantly; possibly it just hadn't checked yet.
__________________
Twey
  #3  
Old 7th September 2005, 12:16 PM
aero-z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Age: 28
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twey
It doesn't check constantly; possibly it just hadn't checked yet.
But when I saw that there are available updates I manually clicked on Check for updates and it only gave me the blue tick
__________________
|| Registered Linux User #418296 ||
  #4  
Old 7th September 2005, 12:30 PM
drunkahol Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 639
Is the up2date agent not "broken" at the moment?

Ignore the throbber icon and check yumex or yum yourself at regular intervals.

Cheers

Duncan
  #5  
Old 7th September 2005, 12:34 PM
aero-z Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Age: 28
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkahol
Is the up2date agent not "broken" at the moment?

Ignore the throbber icon and check yumex or yum yourself at regular intervals.

Cheers

Duncan
I dunno. I didn't install the Red Hat Update Agent (ORIGINAL) but up2date packages are installed. I don't know what's up with YUMEX applet then. Does anyone have the same problem or does the original Red Hat Update Agent "work" now?
__________________
|| Registered Linux User #418296 ||

Last edited by aero-z; 7th September 2005 at 03:49 PM.
  #6  
Old 12th September 2005, 08:17 AM
Zigzagcom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: CALIFORNIA, yeah
Age: 87
Posts: 1,657
Yes, I've had the same issue, so I have been updating with yumex. This has been going on for some time.
__________________
Ziggy
  #7  
Old 12th September 2005, 08:23 AM
Clunixchit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Strasbourg
Age: 30
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zigzagcom
Yes, I've had the same issue, so I have been updating with yumex. This has been going on for some time.
same over here on both FC3 and FC4
On both FCs, yumex says that there is updates for kde
__________________
Itx either one or zero_
http://clunixchit.blogspot.com/
  #8  
Old 12th September 2005, 09:59 AM
Zerlinna Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 33
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clunixchit
same over here on both FC3 and FC4
On both FCs, yumex says that there is updates for kde
Clunixchit forgot to say that if we try to do the update with yumex, we got the error "Fehler bei der Verarbeitung" (which means: error during the process) - so we can't do the update with yumex (FC3 and FC4).

Any suggestions?
  #9  
Old 12th September 2005, 05:17 PM
PeTzZz Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tartu
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerlinna
Clunixchit forgot to say that if we try to do the update with yumex, we got the error "Fehler bei der Verarbeitung" (which means: error during the process) - so we can't do the update with yumex (FC3 and FC4).

Any suggestions?
Actually it is another problem already and not related with the update applet. In most cases yumex should not say so. It usually happens when one repository is down from your repository list, but I may be wrong. If you are sure that it is all ok with the yum repository list and it is not temporary then you may report it in Yum Extender's Bug Report forum.

Last edited by Demz; 14th September 2008 at 01:23 PM.
Closed Thread

Tags
agent, hat, red, update, yumex

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 05:57 (Sunday, 23-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ishim Photos on Instagram - Khorramabad Photos on Instagram - Kotido Instagram Photos