Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 5th September 2005, 07:52 PM
Snake-Eyes Offline

PS/2 Optical Mouse

I bought a PS/2 Optical Mouse to use with my fedora core 4 comp, and the only mouse that works is my usb laser mouse.... please help me install the other one, because i use it a server, and I dont need a good mouse for it. But I use my laser mouse for games ( Counter-Strike 1.6 / Source ) so please help me to get it installed.

PS I am new to Linux
Old 5th September 2005, 08:42 PM
daneel971 Offline

A PS/2 mouse should work with no problem at all. Plug the mouse in, run system-config-mouse and you're done. In the "worst" case, you'll have to restart X - no need to reboot.
Old 6th September 2005, 01:38 PM
Snake-Eyes Offline

Talking Thnx

Thnx but how do I do that? I am new to linux and all i can navigate is the GUI. All i use it for is my Counter-Strike server. thnx for the help
Old 6th September 2005, 01:51 PM
daneel971 Offline

If your computer is off, just plug the mouse in and turn the pc on; the mouse should be recognized during boot - if kudzu (the hardware configuration demon) ask you to configure a new device, answer yes and follow the steps.
If your computer is already on, log out and then switch to a virtual console (ctrl+alt+F1), login as root and type

Code:
init 3
plug the new mouse in; type
Code:
system-config-mouse
select from the list the option most suited to your model and confirm; type
Code:
init 5
You'll return to the graphical login with the new mouse working.
Return to the virtual console and logout; hit ctrl+alt+F7 for the graphical login.
Old 11th September 2005, 09:17 PM
Snake-Eyes Offline