Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th August 2005, 05:23 PM
Cantrade Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Central NM
Posts: 2
Internal Error Problem

I just installed Fedora 4 and have a curious situation. I did an upgrade from Fedora 2 and then rebooted the system. With some minor glitches the system got up and was working. Then I logged out and tried to log back in and I got an "internal error". I reinstalled the system yesterday and it worked. This morning I tried to log in and got the "internal error" message at the log in screen.

The actual message:
Cannot start session due to some internal error.

Pressing "OK" birngs up this:
Your session lasted less than 10 seconds. If you have not logged out yourself, this could mean there is some installation problem or that you may be out of disk space. Try logging in with one of the failsafe sessions to see if you can fix this problem.

(Logging in with failsafe session produces identical results.)

Details of error:
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: Registering your session with wtmp and utmp.
/etc/X11/gdm/PreSession/Default: running: /usr/X11R6/bin/sessreg -a -w/var/log/wtmp -u/var/run/utmp -x"/:o. Xservers" -h " -1 " :o" "don"
session_child_run: could not exec/etc/X11/xdm/Xsession stratkde.

The system is a AMD Athlon with a 20 GB HD and 256 MB. I do not think disk space is a problem since this is a box that is dedicated to one purpose and has minimal application software installed. When it was working I used Webmin to install an RPM package of KPSK, a ham radio program, and the system worked well after that was done.

Any ideas??

Thanks
__________________
There are many complicated solutions to any problem but if one looks deeper and closer there will be a simple solution and that is the one to try.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd August 2005, 02:25 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Looks like you are trying to start KDE. Try to get to a failsafe terminal and run
Code:
startkde
This script should load KDE for you. Also, try setting your default desktop by running
Code:
switchdesk kde
I think the setting of which desktop you prefer got confused somehow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, internal, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC9 nfs internal error again pwalden Using Fedora 4 2nd February 2009 08:08 PM
PackageKit Error - Internal System Error KirkD Using Fedora 26 29th September 2008 12:37 AM
nfs internal error jmbnyc Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 21 9th August 2008 05:52 AM
internal compiler error: Bus error maxcell Using Fedora 0 26th March 2007 07:49 AM
Can't start error due to some internal error nystom Using Fedora 0 25th September 2006 10:26 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:01 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Belabo Photos - Gravesend Travel Photos - Masvingo Travel Photos on Instagram