Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 29th July 2005, 04:58 PM
OutCell Offline

Display Problem

Hi,

I installed FC4 yesterday on my Dell dimension desktop. I had WinXP and tried to work both OS's but had problems with XP not booting but FC4 was working fine, which was ok since i was going to get a way to work this problem,
BUT today i changed the display resolution in FC4 and i get a blank screen with
"1: Analog Input
Cannot Display this Video Mode"

Can anybody help me with this problem plz? This is my first time using linux so simplicity would be highly appreciated
I tried to play around with "fsck" (Eventhough i don't know what is it exactly) when i got to a point where i had to "fsck" without -a or -p.. i forced a check which turned out ok (I think) after answering yes to all questions; but i still can't login and still get the Cannot Display Video Mode

thanks
Old 29th July 2005, 06:05 PM
steve941

XP not booting is probably a grub issut you have XP and FC on same drive right?
boot from FC4 disc 1 .. type 'linux rescue'
say no to network initialization and no to detecting/mounting FC..
if you have a boot partition type:
mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/source hda if IDE hd, sda if SATA drive, hda2 depends on your partion setup if you don't know any of this you may have to reboot rescue and say yes to mounting FC4
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/source/boot
chroot /mnt/source
cd boot
cd grub
nano grub.conf
-- post this on here so I can look to see why XP isn't booting, also where did you install grub to the MBR?
--exit
type:
cd /
cd etc
cd X11
ls --will list files and directories
rm xorg.conf
also remove any other xorg files
reboot to FC4, screen will flash at text login and it will ask you if you want to configure X, I say no
then type system-config-display at prompt --after becoming root
Old 29th July 2005, 06:27 PM
OutCell Offline

Thanks Steve,