Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th July 2005, 01:39 PM
purinkle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Cannot See "Start Menu" Items Or Icons Inside A Window

I now have the problem that when I click on the "Start Menu" and hover over a sub-menu if the sub-menu contains more than x items they are not visible unless I scroll over them.

On a similar note when I open a new window nothing is visble inside apart from the icons after I scroll over them.

When I move a window by dragging the title bar the contents disappear again and upon release of the title bar the whole window disappears until I click on the titlebar and then only the titlebar and border are visble.

Does anybody have a clue about what I am talking about or even better how to fix it?

It would be great if someone did.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th July 2005, 03:42 PM
jayemef Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Juniata College, PA
Age: 29
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by purinkle
I now have the problem that when I click on the "Start Menu" and hover over a sub-menu if the sub-menu contains more than x items they are not visible unless I scroll over them.
Not sure exactly what you mean by this. Are you saying you have sub-menus that have more items then your screen resolution will vertically allow for, and in order to view the ones at the bottom, you need to scroll to them? If so, this is normal.

However, it does sound like you're having some redrawing issues. Which desktop enviroment/window manager are you running (gnome, kde, etc)? Have you tried simply restarting X (CTRL+ALT+Backspace)? How long has this been going on?
__________________
- JMF
Registered Linux User #371168

+Fedora Core 3 - k2.6.10-1.766_FC3
+WindowMaker 0.91.0

Last edited by jayemef; 29th July 2005 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th July 2005, 03:56 PM
purinkle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
I am using Gnome and what actually happens is that when you highlight over a menu with a > nothing comes up until you scroll over where you thinkthe new menu should be and an item will appear as you scroll over it.

I spoke to someone on the LinuxAnswers.org fourm and they said it might be a graphics card problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icons, inside, items, start menu, window

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
possible to add an "End Process" option to the right-click menu in window list? DennyCrane Using Fedora 4 20th January 2009 03:51 AM
"ls" and "cd" treat ".." differently inside symlinked directories bnorman Using Fedora 0 19th June 2008 04:49 PM
KDE Question: Extended "Start" menu went away StefanJ Using Fedora 3 24th April 2007 06:48 AM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 04:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:59 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat