Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th July 2005, 10:00 PM
jcwinnie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SouthernTierNY, USA
Posts: 129
Thumbs down Upgrade FC3 -> FC4 -> No Love

Attempting apt-get dist-upgrade using Freshrpms repositories warned me that I could lose system functionality, so I avoided proceeding. Smart, right?

Instead, I got the FC4 CDs and ran upgrade. Guess what?

Oh, it happened to you, too. So, now I have:
  • No rpm
  • No yum
  • No apt-get
  • No up2date
  • No love!

All those things about which I was warned came to pass. I am able to log in via console and that is about it.

I notice a new error on startup having to do with rpc.idmapd that may be an indicator of what is wrong.

Also, I ran
Code:
 ldd `which rpm`
The following were NOT FOUND:
- librpm-4.3.so
- librpmdb-4.3.so
- librpmio-4.3.so

Before you recommend a fresh install, please tell me how I can protect the system backup, which is on two other partitions.
__________________
Stay Clear of Netgear

Last edited by jcwinnie; 24th July 2005 at 10:28 PM. Reason: Style
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th July 2005, 11:26 PM
jcwinnie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SouthernTierNY, USA
Posts: 129
Oh, and I have this system administrator's problem, too, http://fcp.fedoranews.org/modules/ne...16358&forum=23 , i.e., libssl.so.5: cannot open shared object.
__________________
Stay Clear of Netgear
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2005, 11:28 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
I always recommed to do a data backup such as bookmarks, music, photos, docs, etc and do a fresh installation.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th July 2005, 12:47 AM
jcwinnie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SouthernTierNY, USA
Posts: 129
Hm, before posting this thread, I had read the thread http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=59393 and tried what was suggested to no avail.

I went back; read it again; and, followed the link to the Bug Report 156907

I followed Paul Nasrat's directions at first with no success. Then I made sure that I was pointing to where I knew the specific RPMs resided. Then I followed another key step, i.e.,
Code:
/sbin/ldconfig
It worked.

I still had to remove yum (two versions) and reinstall it, but I now could do so with rpm.
I now am running
Code:
yum update
Which is a much better place than I have been for several days.

While the solution dealt with a bug in an earlier Rawhide version, Ling Li reports that the bug is still in FC4 final, which is what I had used to upgrade.

Note: If you use selinunx, there are additonal recommendations in the report that may help.
Best of luck!
__________________
Stay Clear of Netgear
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th July 2005, 03:59 AM
iamroot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,039
I would recommend not to use multiple installation options. If you use Yum, stick to it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th July 2005, 11:39 AM
jcwinnie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SouthernTierNY, USA
Posts: 129
Well, it qualified joy in Mudville. I do have rpm again. Yay!

I was able to run rpm -Uvh on rpm-libs, but not rpm because of rpm-build and rpm-python dependencies with the latter.

Now I have a more subtle problem, having to do with Apache configuration, something about OpenSSLCertificate missing. I think that is why yum and up2date continue to fail.

Still no apt-get and only console login is possible.
__________________
Stay Clear of Netgear
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th July 2005, 12:49 PM
jcwinnie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SouthernTierNY, USA
Posts: 129
More qualified joy in Mudville... I got a bigger hammer.

Translation: I forced some things, which I really, really, really, really, really, really dislike doing.

First I made sure that I had a copy of the current gnome-vfs2 rpm along with yum, dbus and hal packages.

Then I temporarily removed dbus and hal with the bigger hammer
Code:
rpm -e --nodeps <the older versions of dbus and hal>
Reinstalled them
Code:
rpm -ivh <the current versions of dbus and hal>
Followed by an upgrade of gnome-vfs2
Code:
rpm -Uvh <the current version of gnome-vfs2>
It also was necessary to remove and reinstall yum. With those forced changes, I regained use of yum and was able to run yum upgrade successfully. Yay!

I also used the same trick with apt and up2date, i.e., removed and reinstalled them, to get them to work.

Nonetheless, my joy is less than unbounded. I have no GNOME Desktop Environment and unreliable KDE similar to http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/...ad.php?t=63976 and worst of all -- No Firefox! C'mon, that was a kick below the belt.

After I removed FC3 / FC4 duplications to make apt-get happy, it reports a host of problem including a destablizing one with raidtools. ("Don't proceed unless you know what you are doing," it again warns.) Uh-oh! Wasn't I just there? I know, I'll rely on the FC4 CDs, they'll help me.
__________________
Stay Clear of Netgear
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th July 2005, 05:13 PM
jcwinnie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SouthernTierNY, USA
Posts: 129
Back with the Fox

I removed and reinstalled Firefox and have regained use of my everyday browser. I also now have a GNOME Desktop Enviornment, albeit a disfunctional one, after
Code:
yum groupinstall GNOME
__________________
Stay Clear of Netgear

Last edited by jcwinnie; 26th July 2005 at 05:15 PM. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th July 2005, 05:40 PM
jcwinnie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SouthernTierNY, USA
Posts: 129
Well, the big bambino is batting two for three now. I have regained use of KDE and got a positive outcome to testing XFCE4.

Gnome remains, in GNASA lingo, a Gno-go. This may have to do with the desktop manager being Metacity that starts a GNOME session on my system. Time will tell. In any case, two users are still in shambles. Wandering around in a daze, moaning "Oh! Gnome is me, Gnome is me."

Otherwise, there is general jubilation in Mudville.
__________________
Stay Clear of Netgear
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
>, fc3, fc4, love, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For the Love of God HELP ME! scrop Hardware & Laptops 3 27th June 2007 12:36 AM
Getting no love from HDPARM dmb Hardware & Laptops 24 16th April 2007 06:26 PM
for the love of god, please! socc3r Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 8th January 2005 06:36 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:37 (Friday, 22-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat