Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th July 2005, 08:55 AM
3dre Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 24
Problem with wmp54g

Hi all,

Just installed FC4 and bought a Linksys Wireless lan card (wmp54g).
Downloaded the ndiswrapper and installed it.
After following instructions in the ndiswrapper-site the card works. I can acces the internet.
But at the moment i restart my computer, i can't get connected anymore.
If I go to my network control and try to activate my wlan0, it says "not connected, check if cable is present"

Anyone??

Greetz 3Dré
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th July 2005, 09:03 AM
bitrain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Age: 27
Posts: 1,426
Which chipset does your linkys card have? Check with /sbin/lspci
__________________
Registered Linux user number 389291

Laptop: Nec Versa p550, Pentium M 1.86GHz, 1024MB ram, x300, 80 GB HD, bluetooth, 2915BG Wlan card
Desktop: Amd Athlon x2 4200+, 2GB ram, Geforce 7300GT 512MB silent, 160GB HD in a nice centurion 534 case :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th July 2005, 09:24 AM
3dre Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 24
At this time I can't check it (not at home right now), but I used RT2500.inf to install with ndiswrapper.
I think it's the one from realtek.

The odd thing is, when i scan for wireless networks from the console it can see a network with no essid, if i do a 'iwconfig wlan0 essid MYLAN', and do a scan again, it says that is sees this network.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th July 2005, 09:29 AM
bitrain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Age: 27
Posts: 1,426
Uninstall ndiswrapper and install the native drivers: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?p=285475
It works here (same chipset)
__________________
Registered Linux user number 389291

Laptop: Nec Versa p550, Pentium M 1.86GHz, 1024MB ram, x300, 80 GB HD, bluetooth, 2915BG Wlan card
Desktop: Amd Athlon x2 4200+, 2GB ram, Geforce 7300GT 512MB silent, 160GB HD in a nice centurion 534 case :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th July 2005, 05:51 PM
3dre Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 24
Thanks,
I installed and it works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem, wmp54g

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadcom chipset (Linksys WMP54G) IP address problem Bassett Servers & Networking 0 19th January 2009 09:03 PM
wmp54g help agentblue Servers & Networking 6 17th June 2005 10:35 PM
wmp54g help agentblue Servers & Networking 2 12th June 2005 01:56 PM
WMP54G Help hath Servers & Networking 2 5th November 2004 06:58 PM
Linksys wmp54g earobinson111 Hardware & Laptops 5 4th September 2004 07:26 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:44 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat