Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd July 2005, 09:43 AM
wtogami Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
FC4 CD/DVD Installer Syslinux Crash Workaround

Quote:
RAMDISK: Couldn't find valid RAM disk image starting at 0.
VFS: Cannot open root device "<NULL>" or unknown-block(8,3)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,3)
(... kernel traceback messages here ...)
http://people.redhat.com/wtogami/arc...inux-crash.jpg
If you boot the FC4 CD or DVD installer and see an error something like the above text or picture, then your motherboard chipset may be affected by the syslinux crash bug. This bug reportedly happens most often on Intel Pentium4 or Nocona chipsets 845, 865, 875, 915, 925, 945, 955, and very rarely on some AMD64 motherboards.

Simple Workaround
The majority of users can easily workaround this problem by using the "garbage"" workaround. Simply boot the CD/DVD, and at the first prompt type any line of garbage (the string "garbage" works fine), then ENTER. At this point you can use any regular installer command to start the installer, or simply ENTER.

Less than Simple Workaround
http://people.redhat.com/pjones/i915/booti915.iso
For some rare users the "garbage" workaround does not work. For these users, this 6MB sized i386 boot.iso replacement should theoretically work. Note that boot.iso is only usable with a network-based install.

http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/....cgi?id=159026
This bug is tracked in this Bugzilla report.

Last edited by wtogami; 18th July 2005 at 09:10 PM.
  #2  
Old 14th July 2005, 06:20 AM
Ruxton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
I was originally getting this crash.. now im getting the IRQ11 error after trying every fix on the forums, problem is... its still not booting. Do the new kernels that are out now fix this? and if so is there a way i can setup the install dvd's to use these?


Thanks
  #3  
Old 24th July 2005, 06:31 PM
Quella Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boston, MA (USA)
Posts: 474
You saved me on this Install. I had an eMachine system that was getting Core4, and one again this group of people gave me the solution to my problems. I would have never guessed this one, but the simple one did the trick for me.

Quella
__________________
"The eyes of the LORD are in every place, Watching the evil and the good." Proverbs 15:3
  #4  
Old 26th July 2005, 07:11 PM
cruiseoveride Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 644
i had the same prob, but after that msg now i get a new one
saying
kernel panic - no syncing (blabla) spin locked on non initialized blahblah

how do i go around this one too
__________________
Registered Linux User no. 335484 :cool:
An RHCE guy, and wannabe RHCA :cool:
--------------------------------------------------------
Get Counted at http://counter.li.org/
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMD X3 710, ASUS M4N78-Pro, Visiontek ATi HD4870, Corsair 2GB Dual Channel Kit, 6x500Gb Western Digital Disks LVM2+RAID5
  #5  
Old 26th July 2005, 07:38 PM
cruiseoveride Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 644
hay hay i fixed it
do the garbage trick then
type

linux acpi=off nofb

thats it!!!
__________________
Registered Linux User no. 335484 :cool:
An RHCE guy, and wannabe RHCA :cool:
--------------------------------------------------------
Get Counted at http://counter.li.org/
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMD X3 710, ASUS M4N78-Pro, Visiontek ATi HD4870, Corsair 2GB Dual Channel Kit, 6x500Gb Western Digital Disks LVM2+RAID5
  #6  
Old 27th July 2005, 03:37 AM
tclovis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Campinas - Sao Paulo - Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 1
Hi Wtogami,
I´ve the same problem in boot CD FC4.
I tried all the tips and tricks, but not work for me.
Any ideas, help please

Use P4 chipset D865Perl with one SATA disk 120Gb, 01 Gb RAM
  #7  
Old 27th July 2005, 08:00 AM
cruiseoveride Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 644
try and
disable acpi from the bios
set plugNplay OS = no
and disable APM (aka power management stuff)
see if that works
__________________
Registered Linux User no. 335484 :cool:
An RHCE guy, and wannabe RHCA :cool:
--------------------------------------------------------
Get Counted at http://counter.li.org/
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMD X3 710, ASUS M4N78-Pro, Visiontek ATi HD4870, Corsair 2GB Dual Channel Kit, 6x500Gb Western Digital Disks LVM2+RAID5
  #8  
Old 3rd August 2005, 08:53 AM
behdad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks

Thanks cruise, the acpi & nofb worked for me too.
  #9  
Old 5th August 2005, 03:14 PM
mailmaldi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
i am afraid to install FC4 now after i installed on my friends & it stopped his windows from functioning...

please tell me if FC4 has any issues with SATA hdd?

i ve a samsung 80GB SATA
  #10  
Old 7th August 2005, 02:26 AM
gavinw6662 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 1,281
i just installed on the 845 chipset, and it went without a hitch. I had some initial problems, but that was me being excited and over looking some basic things. Ha ha ha.
  #11  
Old 9th August 2005, 02:55 AM
david.wright Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks cruise, the acpi & nofb worked
  #12  
Old 9th August 2005, 08:43 PM
cruiseoveride Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 644
its so screwed up, redhat have been in this game for so long, and they cant even put up proper acpi support,
SuSE 9.3 works fine acpi and all
__________________
Registered Linux User no. 335484 :cool:
An RHCE guy, and wannabe RHCA :cool:
--------------------------------------------------------
Get Counted at http://counter.li.org/
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMD X3 710, ASUS M4N78-Pro, Visiontek ATi HD4870, Corsair 2GB Dual Channel Kit, 6x500Gb Western Digital Disks LVM2+RAID5
  #13  
Old 12th August 2005, 04:27 PM
forwardtokinjal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Hey guys, please help me out. I'm still not getting past the same Kernel Panic error. Even using booti915.iso does not work. It throws up improperly packed file kind of error (do not remember exact error message, but it meant this).

I have an IBM celeron m/c with intel 810 chipset, 10GB hdd. There is one primary partition(2GB) with win2k on it. another extended one of 2GB is also there. rest of the hdd is unformatted.

Please help me on this.
  #14  
Old 21st August 2005, 11:55 AM
mnc-co-uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
installing on a AMD64 laptop using FC4 64 bit version - Boot sequence hung after SELinux messages, no errors displyed on console. Tried various linux kernel options to fix - no luck

Tried FC4 i386 version, error message was displayed on console as discribed in this main topic

I then switched back to FC4 64Bit version and tried workround as discribed above,

It worked!!!

So beware AMD64Bit users. Seems to have the same problem but with no error - just a hang
  #15  
Old 31st August 2005, 08:51 AM
wasanka2000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy FC4 crash

Hi All,

I'm a new bie to Linux and I'm using VMWare 5 to run Fedora 4 (32bit using iso's). But I can not install it properly. The installation process goes about 20% and crash when trying to install syslinux-3.08-2 package. Then it give a error message. Can any one help me to continue the installation. I ran FC3 in VMWare 5 successfully.

Thanks

Last edited by wasanka2000; 31st August 2005 at 09:01 AM.
Closed Thread

Tags
cd or dvd, crash, fc4, installer, syslinux, workaround

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installer Bug / Crash on Windows 7 ReaperLove Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 9th October 2009 02:47 AM
Workaround for beagle daemon crash on Fedora 9 cazador Using Fedora 1 23rd May 2008 07:31 PM
FC6, ATI fglrx driver, and Wine (crash and workaround) srussell Using Fedora 9 28th February 2008 07:47 AM
Mayday! Installer crash! Need help! BrillianceLin Using Fedora 0 25th January 2007 11:26 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:45 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat