Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 26th June 2005, 09:40 AM
andre@home Offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
Asus L3800C laptop plus Asus Wl-100g pcmcia wifi working (ndiswrapper with broadcom)

At first I did bot get it to work on the internet, locally it worked pretty fast with FC3.
I could ping my whole network but not outside it.
So there seemed to be some resolving problem but where?

Down my story. Suggestions on improvement are very welcome !

My experiences:
system-config-network as http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...ht=ndiswrapper
did not work as only known drivers are in the list, not ndiswrapper. So I could not add a connction with Networktools....

So I´ve done it completely manual: ndiswrapper v1.2
make distclean
make install
ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
dmesg ndiswrapper
ndiswrapper (iw_set_bitrate:480): setting bit rate failed (C00000BB)
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
ndiswrapper (iw_set_bitrate:480): setting bit rate failed (C00000BB)
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
route del -net gw netmask
route add -host netmask gw
route add -host netmask gw
ifdown eth0
ifup wlan0
lo .................
wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 0p:0d:A7:6D:AE:A2
inet addr: Bcast: Mask:
inet6 addr: fe80::20e:a6ff:fe9d:aea3/64 Scope:Link
RX packets:7954 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:10154 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1281055 (1.2 MiB) TX bytes:963279 (940.7 KiB)
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"default" Nickname:"mobail"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412GHz Access Point: 0p:0d:A7:6D:AE:A2
Bit Rate=2Mb/s Tx-Power:25 dBm
RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr=2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:99/100 Signal level:-92 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:1258 Invalid misc:4375 Missed beacon:0
routing table:
[root@mobail ~]# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface * U 0 0 0 wlan0 * U 0 0 0 wlan0
default UG 0 0 0 wlan0
Added the script manually!!!
# RATE=54Mb/s
and testing the connection with my provider
[root@mobail ~]# ping www.chello.nl
PING www.chello.nl ( 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from www.chello.nl ( icmp_seq=0 ttl=248 time=11.6 ms
64 bytes from www.chello.nl ( icmp_seq=1 ttl=248 time=12.1 ms
64 bytes from www.chello.nl ( icmp_seq=2 ttl=248 time=11.7 ms
64 bytes from www.chello.nl ( icmp_seq=3 ttl=248 time=11.7 ms
64 bytes from www.chello.nl ( icmp_seq=4 ttl=248 time=13.3 ms
64 bytes from www.chello.nl ( icmp_seq=5 ttl=248 time=13.3 ms
PS: well see if I van get it into a script ....
Now Networktools does see my wlan0.... so the presence of ifcfg-wlan0 seems essential..
I can mod it now even better.
If I ran ndiswrapper -m before the systems crashes, thats why I want a post script...
Lucky me I had an image as it took the whole systems down...
Security: not installed yet, my access point does not reach far....
If I added wlan0 in the routing table with eth0 down Ie got a SIOCDELRT error, eth0 up and I could complete the addition.
So I will have to test whether it is a one time event or it must be put into the script.
I´ve used the dirver/inf form XP (2004 version).

Last edited by andre@home; 26th June 2005 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2005, 08:27 PM
andre@home Offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
After a restart I only had to give the command:
modprobe ndiswrapper
..... so that will be put in the last startup script from Fedora itself... rc.local (so far I recall)
Reply With Quote

asus, broadcom, l3800c, laptop, ndiswrapper, pcmcia, wifi, wl100g, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora8 loses WiFI and cannot reconnect; asus p5k-e wifi-ap a_simple_system Servers & Networking 1 10th December 2007 05:51 PM
Wifi (pcmcia wl-100g) halts FC8 but works after modprobe ndiswrapper Sparcky Servers & Networking 0 11th November 2007 12:34 PM
ASUS WiFi-TV Card not working.. HELP! tfindlay Hardware & Laptops 4 14th November 2006 09:41 PM
ASUS A1 laptop + Fedora 4 = non stop working fan linuxben Hardware & Laptops 0 12th August 2005 12:48 PM
Ndiswrapper - ASUS PCMCIA Sniffer Servers & Networking 2 9th November 2004 11:57 AM

Current GMT-time: 18:18 (Tuesday, 01-12-2015)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat