Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th June 2005, 03:29 AM
Berticus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Exclamation Terminal: bash

I have a small problem. Some of the bash commands don't seem to be working. Such as telinit and ifconfig. I haven't tried other commands, but I'm afraid that this might cause some problems.

Should I reformat, or are there other alternatives? I tried uninstalling it, but yum said there was a dependence problem. So I couldn't do that.

---------------------------------------------------Edited---------------------------------------------------
I should probably tell what's happening. Well in the terminal, when I type in "ifconfig" as root, I get:
Quote:
Originally Posted by GNOME Terminal
[root@berticus albert]# ifconfig
bash: ifconfig: command not found
[root@berticus albert]#
Then when I do "telinit 5," I get:
Quote:
Originally Posted by GNOME Terminal
[root@berticus albert]#telinit 5
bash: telinit: command not found
[root@berticus albert]#

Last edited by Berticus; 24th June 2005 at 03:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th June 2005, 03:59 AM
jtang613 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,931
Try:
Code:
/sbin/ifconfig
/sbin/telinit 5
The /sbin and /usr/sbin are not in the path unless you login as root (instead of su'ing to root).

hth,
Jason
__________________
There is no 'CTRL' button on Chuck Norris's computer. Chuck Norris is always in control.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th June 2005, 04:00 AM
BostonWatcher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
Do you have /sbin in your path? In a common installation those 2 programs reside in /sbin/. What happens when you do '/sbin/ifconfig' as root?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th June 2005, 04:05 AM
Berticus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 112
Ah. I thought I could just switch user to root...

/sbin/ thing works! Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th June 2005, 04:45 AM
bytesniper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Abq, NM
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
you can also su to root using: su - (with the dash...short for su --login) it sets up a complete environment for root including, among other things, putting /sbin and /usr/sbin in the $PATH.
__________________
I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bash, terminal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does bash get its environment in a gnome terminal? leonardevens Using Fedora 1 28th April 2007 11:18 PM
Terminal bash comands unlovedwarrior Using Fedora 6 20th October 2006 08:43 PM
about terminal and bash Doritos Using Fedora 1 12th January 2005 10:02 PM
Get bash completion working on fedora 3 (bash 3.0) madcat Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 27th November 2004 11:05 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:07 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Dunaharaszti Photos - Itaugua Photos on Instagram - Trudovoye