Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st June 2005, 06:56 PM
AnxietyZone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: U.S.
Posts: 14
Unhappy Ok, I give up...

Greetings

I realize that Fedora Core 4 is still very new and so the latest version of Synaptic I downloaded did'nt have a repository included but now Fedora.redhat.com has a "core" and "extras" repository and I would like to add them to Synaptic but I have no earthly idea how and I've tried just about everything I can think of so far, looked for information on the web, etc. I simply want to add the "core" and "extras" sources below to synaptic...

CORE: http://download.fedora.redhat.com/p...updates/4/i386/

EXTRAS: http://download.fedora.redhat.com/p.../extras/4/i386/

What goes in the following spaces?...

URI:
Distribution:
Section(s):

Can someone give me an example please?

- Regards, AnxietyZone
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st June 2005, 07:00 PM
komi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zistersdorf, Austria
Age: 28
Posts: 181
Hi!
As far as I know, the respositories on fedora.redhat.com
are for yum and Synaptic uses apt.
So they won't work with synaptic.

regards
__________________
Desktop:
OS: Fedora Core 5
Kernel: 2.6.17
on a HP Compaq dc5100 MT with 1 GB RAM, 3.2 GHz Pentium 4 HT

Notebook:
OS: Ubuntu Dapper Drake
on a HP Compaq nc8230 with 1 GB RAM, 2.1 GHz Pentium 4

My homepage: http://www.komendera.com/
My company's homepage and blog
We do branding, marketing, print stuff, advertising,
web apps and a lot more.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2005, 07:07 PM
AnxietyZone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: U.S.
Posts: 14
Thank's for the reply. Ok, here are the ones for APT but what do I need to put in those three spaces?. Can someone please give me a working example?...

ftp://ftp.uninett.no/pub/linux/apt/f...386/RPMS.core/
ftp://ftp.uninett.no/pub/linux/apt/f...86/RPMS.extras

*** THREE SPACES ***

URI:
Distribution:
Section(s):
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd June 2005, 03:17 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
See the sources.list man page. (Fedora's is slightly different, I think. apt for rpm has an "rpm" stuck in there some where.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well, I did give it a try! Adamant1988 Fedora Focus 21 27th March 2007 08:03 AM
I give up with FC6 Penguin_Be EOL (End Of Life) Versions 40 2nd November 2006 02:27 PM
Ugh, I give up! Secant Servers & Networking 50 31st December 2005 08:09 PM
Ok, I Give Up !!! pfschim Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 3rd March 2005 04:11 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:30 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Manchester - Carcar - Darchula