Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st November 2007, 06:09 AM
ZuriJAckshoT Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
SAMBA SWAT on Fedora Core 7

When I installed Fedora 7, Samba Swat is not already installed. Can anyone, give me some advice on how do I install and configure Samba Swat on my Fedora 7? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st November 2007, 11:25 AM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
Do the following as root:
Code:
yum install samba-swat
service xinetd start
chkconfig swat on
SWAT should now be accessible at http://localhost:901/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st November 2007, 11:35 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,623
I'm assuming you can still use swat in Fedora 8. Haven't tried yet. How about considering Webmin? You will need to download and install it but once installed it opens up a world of configuration options. It's browser based. In the location bar of the browser you enter https://localhost.localdomain:10000/, enter username root and root's password and you're off! You can find webmin here.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB

Last edited by glennzo; 21st November 2007 at 11:37 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2007, 12:34 PM
ZuriJAckshoT Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
How about YUM?

Thanks for the reply. If you have time please enlighten me by answering the following questions. I'm behind a web proxy server.

- How do I tell yum to use my proxy when it connects to it's repositories?
- Where can I get a list of repositories server where my yum can connect to?
- Can I tell yum to connect to my desire repository? If yes, How?
- How can I get a list of all packages I installed with yum and while installation Fedora?

You see? I'm bit in the dark with how yum works, and it's configurations, etc...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st November 2007, 12:42 PM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuriJAckshoT
- How do I tell yum to use my proxy when it connects to it's repositories?
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/yum/en...xy-server.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuriJAckshoT
- Where can I get a list of repositories server where my yum can connect to?
- Can I tell yum to connect to my desire repository? If yes, How?
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/yum/en...ositories.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuriJAckshoT
- How can I get a list of all packages I installed with yum and while installation Fedora?
Code:
yum list installed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st November 2007, 12:47 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuriJAckshoT
Thanks for the reply. If you have time please enlighten me by answering the following questions. I'm behind a web proxy server.

- How do I tell yum to use my proxy when it connects to it's repositories?
No idea.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuriJAckshoT
- Where can I get a list of repositories server where my yum can connect to?
The main repos are already included. You can also install the Livna repos. Follow the instructions here: http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mj...ra-f8.html#yum or go to rpm.livna.org to find out how. There's also many other repos. Seek and ye shall find.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuriJAckshoT
- Can I tell yum to connect to my desire repository? If yes, How?
You can disable the repos you don't want to use, on a temporary basis or permanently.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st November 2007, 01:00 PM
ZuriJAckshoT Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
wow!, thanks alot! both of u guys, cleared me almost every questions I've been asking for the last couple of hours. Now I'm gonna configure yum properly first and then install samba-swat I love this forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
core, fedora, samba, swat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swat and samba! vanienious Using Fedora 1 5th November 2007 06:53 PM
SAMBA, SWAT, FC4 and me :( xsithlordx Servers & Networking 9 24th November 2005 12:26 PM
Samba... SWAT? ToolNIN420 Servers & Networking 10 9th March 2005 11:36 PM
Installing samba-swat messed up Samba kgmuller Servers & Networking 1 2nd October 2004 06:44 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:38 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat