Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th June 2005, 08:14 PM
wtogami Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
FC4 Sun Java Warning

http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/releas...ata/#id2503640

Fedora Core 4 users are advised not to use the Java RPM provided by Sun. It contains Provides that conflict with names used in packages provided as part of Fedora Core 4. Because of this, Sun Java might disappear from an installed system during package upgrade operations.

Fedora Core 4 users should use either the RPM from jpackage.org or manually install the Sun Java tarball into /opt. Sun Java 1.5+ is recommended for stability purposes.
  #2  
Old 14th June 2005, 03:30 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
Ok, but which of the RPMs provided by jpackage? I've looked at it, but did not know which to download. Should I get the one for Java 1.5.0 labled as it is from Sun? Or should I get Kafe? or which?
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
  #3  
Old 14th June 2005, 04:29 PM
PeTzZz Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tartu
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtogami
or manually install the Sun Java tarball into /opt.
Is it Linux self-extracting file in the download section of Sun Java page?
  #4  
Old 14th June 2005, 04:39 PM
strikeforce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 1,464
Yeah the linux self extracting one. However I don't know how to export the path properly since the names if I run java it runs as libgcj I think it is?

Last edited by strikeforce; 14th June 2005 at 04:46 PM.
  #5  
Old 14th June 2005, 05:50 PM
kentiz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
did anyone get this to work?

Did anyone get java to work?
  #6  
Old 14th June 2005, 06:04 PM
bytesniper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Abq, NM
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
java works great. there is a link in /usr/bin/java that actually starts java so it needs to be pointed to the correct java installation. the easiest way to do this (to presserve both or all installations of java) is to use alternatives.

if you type alternatives --config java you will see a single entry pointing to something like /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.4.2-gcj/bin/java.

all you need to do is add the link (path) to the new installation of java from sun

alternatives --install /usr/bin/java java /pathto/sunjava/java 2
(usage is alternatives <link> <name> <path> <priority>)

once you add the new java configuration to alternatives all you need to do is activate, to tell the system this is what should be run as /usr/bin/java:

alternatives --config java
this will give you a menu of java installations. choose the second option (hence, priority 2) and hit enter. now when you type something like java -jar filename.jar it will use the sun java instead of the inlcuded gcj.

note: you can also delete the /usr/bin/java and make a new symbolic link to the java binary of the new java installation, but i do not recommend this.
__________________
I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.
  #7  
Old 14th June 2005, 06:05 PM
PeTzZz Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tartu
Posts: 1,550
I managed to get java working now.

Download JRE 5.0 Update 3 here. Note that you have to download the Linux self-extracting file. Then read the instructions how to install it.

After that do as root:
Code:
gedit /etc/profile.d/java.sh
and paste this text and save:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jdk1.5.0_03
export JAVA_HOME
JAVA_BIN=$JAVA_HOME/bin
CLASSPATH=$CLASSPATH:$JAVA_HOME:$JAVA_HOME/lib
PATH=$JAVA_BIN:$PATH
export JAVA_BIN CLASSPATH PATH
where /usr/java/jdk1.5.0_03 is the directory you installed it. Now reboot. Maybe log in and log out works also.

To get the firefox plugin to work, make a link of
Code:
theinstallationpath/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so
(right click on it in Nautilus and choose Make Link, Nutilus has to be run with root privilegs - you can do it by running nautilus from terminal as root) and move it to /usr/lib/firefox-1.0.4/plugins (note that you have to remove link to prefix in the filename if you made the link with the right click menu).

That's it. Azureus and other java applications should work now.

Last edited by PeTzZz; 17th June 2005 at 09:14 AM. Reason: made a bit more understandable
  #8  
Old 14th June 2005, 06:06 PM
bytesniper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Abq, NM
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
i wrote this to a questions almost identical to this one some time back. its a much better walk through but geared toward getting java to work on a 64bit system and using it as a firefox browser plugin. might help you out.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/...ad.php?t=55412
__________________
I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.
  #9  
Old 14th June 2005, 06:11 PM
PeTzZz Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tartu
Posts: 1,550
bytesniper's method seems to be better. So you may use his method instead of making mentioned /etc/profile.d/java.sh.
  #10  
Old 15th June 2005, 12:47 AM
strikeforce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 1,464
You are an absoluet champion it worked straight away. Thanks so much for this. I just had to re-arrange where stuff was which is fine.
  #11  
Old 16th June 2005, 03:13 AM
xbaxe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Singapore
Age: 23
Posts: 13
um , im a newb so dont mind me asking ... Whats the difference? I want to play java games on the internet with my FC4 whihc im isntalling right now. Will i be able to play it as it has various Java choices? Can i use sun Java to play that game ( www.runescape.com)

Thanks

xbaxe
__________________
Im COUNTED , what about you?
Quote:
"In a world without fences or walls, there's no need for Gates or Windows."
  #12  
Old 16th June 2005, 03:21 AM
strikeforce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 1,464
Yeah as long as you put a symbolic link not your firefox plugins directory to the java plugin. That will mean you have java enabled in your browser.
  #13  
Old 16th June 2005, 07:25 AM
smfinley Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtogami
http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/releas...ata/#id2503640

Fedora Core 4 users are advised not to use the Java RPM provided by Sun. It contains Provides that conflict with names used in packages provided as part of Fedora Core 4. Because of this, Sun Java might disappear from an installed system during package upgrade operations.

Fedora Core 4 users should use either the RPM from jpackage.org or manually install the Sun Java tarball into /opt. Sun Java 1.5+ is recommended for stability purposes.
See the (entire) Java section at Fedora Core 4 Installation Notes.
__________________
Stanton Finley
stanton-finley.net

Last edited by smfinley; 18th December 2005 at 05:53 PM.
  #14  
Old 16th June 2005, 09:12 AM
xbaxe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Singapore
Age: 23
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by strikeforce
Yeah as long as you put a symbolic link not your firefox plugins directory to the java plugin. That will mean you have java enabled in your browser.
What do you mean " not your firefox plugins directory " ?
__________________
Im COUNTED , what about you?
Quote:
"In a world without fences or walls, there's no need for Gates or Windows."
  #15  
Old 16th June 2005, 10:55 PM
sc123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeTzZz
I managed to get java working now.

Download JRE 5.0 Update 3 here. Note that you have to download the Linux self-extracting file. Then read the instructions how to install it.

After that do as root:
Code:
gedit /etc/profile.d/java.sh
and paste this text:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jdk1.5.0_03
export JAVA_HOME
JAVA_BIN=$JAVA_HOME/bin
CLASSPATH=$CLASSPATH:$JAVA_HOME:$JAVA_HOME/lib
PATH=$JAVA_BIN:$PATH
export JAVA_BIN CLASSPATH PATH
where /usr/java/jdk1.5.0_03 is the directory you installed it. Now reboot. Maybe log in and log out works also.

To get the firefox plugin to work, make a link of
Code:
theinstallationpath/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so
(right click on it in Nautilus and choose Make Link, Nutilus has to be run with root privilegs - you can do it by running nautilus from terminal as root) and move it to /usr/lib/firefox-1.0.4/plugins.

That's it. Azureus and other java applications should work now.
I just wanted to say thanks to Pet for posting this - it worked for me and I was really frustrated!
-SC
Closed Thread

Tags
fc4, java, sun, warning

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[F9 64-bit] jperf Java f/e for iperf - Java exception error techmum Using Fedora 0 24th July 2008 01:22 AM
Can I update java by simply installing java? schwim Using Fedora 5 20th December 2007 01:34 PM
Gtk-WARNING and libgnomevfs-WARNING when loading programs from the terminal someuser77 Using Fedora 1 13th May 2006 09:54 AM
java prob: alternatives --config java peimankhosravi Using Fedora 0 12th August 2005 04:06 PM
Warning java -jar not understood anmb Using Fedora 4 6th June 2005 09:44 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:12 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Sao Joao da Barra - Sattur - Le Perreux-sur-Marne Instagram Photos