Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th June 2005, 01:52 AM
mikegabriel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Unable to access the CDROM

Hello, I am tired of running Windows server so I am trying to switch over to Linux. I have a dedicated box sitting in my closet for this. Here's my problem...

I put in Disc 1 and boot into the Install. Choose webserver and then I go through and uncheck things like Firefox since I want to learn how to install them myself and have the latest versions. It continues the install, saying it will require discs 1, 2 and 3. Then it asks for disc 2 and copys the files needed. Once it asks to insert disc 3, it prompts the error Unable to access the CDROM. Now I got these cds from work which we have used all 4 (Full Install). But I figured cds can get scratched and went off and downloaded Disc 3 again. After burning it, it couldn't read it either. I canceled the install and restarted it, same error.

Anyone have any suggestions? I am really trying to switch over my main box to Linux if I can get it put on and learn it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th June 2005, 03:25 AM
gavinw6662 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 36
Posts: 1,281
this is probably way off topic, but I have gotten the same error in the past. I don't know what it is, but when I first installed FC3, everything went fine, and now each install after, i do get that error more frequently, the way I get around is by putting the cd in my second cd drive, but I know not all are that fortunate. So I am not sure I know the solution. Did you burn the iso at a slow speed?? That might be a cause, I can't remember the speed I burned mine on, but the faster you burn the iso, the more problems I hear. Good Luck!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th June 2005, 03:28 AM
mikegabriel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
yeah i burnt the 2nd try of disc 3 at slowest speed my burner goes. as far as a second drive, i dont have that option, my case is made out of lego.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access, cdrom, unable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to access my dvd/cdrom tp69 Hardware & Laptops 3 21st March 2008 04:41 PM
Unable to mount cdrom humour Hardware & Laptops 3 4th October 2007 12:43 AM
Unable to access the CDROM[FC6] Lubear Hardware & Laptops 2 15th January 2007 04:28 PM
Unable to access CDROM - FC5 dstme EOL (End Of Life) Versions 7 30th August 2006 12:14 PM
Unable to mount cdrom mbeain Hardware & Laptops 2 16th April 2006 10:32 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:52 (Friday, 26-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...SIGNAL IDUNA PARK Travel Photos - Union Square Circle