Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th June 2005, 08:55 AM
dhenchoz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
FC3 - Clone disk - LVM

Hello,

I've recently installed a FC3 on a DELL 8100 with 2 x 20GB disk and 256 MB RAM

After the installtion, patches, and basic configuration, I've "cloned" the first disk on the second disk with a program called Dfsee. It copy block by block the first disk on the second one.

I want to have an useable second boot disk in case of problem or misconfiguration on the first one.

During the installation of FC3 LVM is started an installed and the file systems are referenced like /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 for the / filesystem for example.

During the boot after the clone, I get the following error message :

Found duplicate PV f4NFg3y6v2CkhmI489SH66vdqRoOdIRN: using /dev/hdb2 not /dev/hda2

The "commands" report the same problem after the system is booted :

# pvdisplay
Found duplicate PV f4NFg3y6v2CkhmI489SH66vdqRoOdIRN: using /dev/hdb2
not /dev/hda2
--- Physical volume ---
PV Name /dev/hda2
VG Name VolGroup00
PV Size 18,53 GB / not usable 0
Allocatable yes
PE Size (KByte) 32768
Total PE 593
Free PE 1
Allocated PE 592
PV UUID f4NFg3-y6v2-Ckhm-I489-SH66-vdqR-oOdIRN

I suspect ther i a problem with the PV UUID on the second disk /dev/hdb2, but I dont know how to resolve this problem ?

Any idea ?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Daniel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th June 2005, 03:45 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Almost sounds as if the disks are switched for some odd reason.

I haven't heard of that tool. You can copy hard drives bit for bit with the dd tool. I'm not sure what added complexity LVM brings, however.

A different solution to this would be to develop a kickstart automated install file, so you could reinstall to the same state. You wouldn't even need the extra disk.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th June 2005, 04:10 PM
dhenchoz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for your proposal.

The problem isn't to copy the disk. Dfsee, dd, ... or anything else works fine.

The problem is that LVM stores somewhere the drive name /dev/hda2, and when I try to boot on /dev/hdb2 the name missmatch and it doesn't work ... :

Found duplicate PV f4NFg3y6v2CkhmI489SH66vdqRoOdIRN: using /dev/hdb2 not /dev/hda2

I would like to modifiy the "LVM" information on the second disk (/dev/hdb2) to let it work ...

Kickstart is a nice idea, but it's quiet borring to write the PostInstall script to keep all the modifications done on the system ...

My primary goal was to have a standby backup disk cloned on a regular basis. I could so prevent a disk failure and also be able to recover one specific file ont the "cloned" disk in case of human error.

Thanks

Daniel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clone, disk, fc3, lvm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dd disk clone problem Flanker711 Using Fedora 1 27th June 2009 03:06 PM
How do I clone a VM ? koridor Using Fedora 1 30th April 2008 04:23 AM
clone disk from ata to sata sdem Hardware & Laptops 4 24th March 2006 06:26 PM
Disk to disk backup -- Click and Clone halts in Ghost For Linux (g4l) loninappleton Hardware & Laptops 7 30th November 2004 12:06 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:29 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat