Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th June 2005, 04:52 PM
arjay Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Coin, Spain
Posts: 82
newbie - new software doesn't seem to install icons on desktop/in menus

When I install new software, the install sequence doesn't seem to put a launch icon on the desktop or in the KDE menus (or anywhere else I can see for that matter). Is this normal - because I then don't know how to find the files to run the programs. In windoze, at least I could find the right file because it would invariably be an *.exe file.

How do I <easily> identify the equivalent file for a bit of linux software.?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th June 2005, 05:18 PM
bytesniper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Abq, NM
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
usually it doesnt, at least on my systems. easy enough to work around though. i create a new icon on the desktop name it appropriately. the app will either be in or have a link in /usr/bin. the icon will usually be in 'other icons'. if the rpm contains an icon it may not show up until you restart KDE (i konw thats the case with the openoffice icons).
__________________
I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th June 2005, 05:43 PM
arjay Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Coin, Spain
Posts: 82
Sorry - not with you. Do you mean you find the apps relevant "exe" file, drag it to the desktop and rename it? Or do you mean you actually create new icon on the desktop and then link it somehow to the apps launch file? If so - how?

Thanks for the prompt reply BTW
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th June 2005, 06:27 PM
bytesniper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Abq, NM
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
if you right lick on the the desktop youll get a menu that has a Create New-->Link To Application. click there and it will open a window to create a link. on the first tab give it a name and click on the icon next to it and it will take you to another window where you can specify an icon. installed apps usually will be listed under "other icons". ignore the second tab, shouldnt need it for this. the third tab (application) is where you actually tell it what file to run. the only blank you need to fill out there is a blank called command. it will 99% of the time be in /usr/bin/{appname} where {appname}=the name of the application your creating a link to.
__________________
I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th June 2005, 06:28 PM
tejas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Age: 27
Posts: 1,574
Well, first find out where your program is.

There is a pretty good chance the name of the ".exe" file is just the program name in all small letters.

ex: GNU Plot become 'gnuplot'

1. Run the program in the terminal
$ gnuplot

2. Find where it is
$ whereis gnuplot
ex: /usr/bin/gnuplot

3. Make a link to it on the desktop. Best way to do this is to soft link it
$ ln -s /usr/bin/gnuplot ~/Desktop

if you could not find your file that way, try
$ locate gnuplot

-Tejas Dinkar
__________________
I Was Counted! Registered Linux User #384707

BASH && Beer && Bass! Now THAT makes sense!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th June 2005, 10:23 PM
arjay Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Coin, Spain
Posts: 82
Hey - thanks guys. Good advice and I can actually understand it. Can't ask more than that! I'm off to find all my missing apps and give them icons and homes!

Regards

Richard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop or in, icons, install, menus, newbie, software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i'm not able to see my desktop icons and panel icons..... gauravrai0316 Using Fedora 0 4th August 2008 09:13 AM
kde Menus deleting software nigel_c Using Fedora 0 25th July 2007 07:11 AM
Gnome Desktop Icons and Menus disappear under Fedora 7 pwebb Using Fedora 2 11th June 2007 01:44 AM
gnome desktop icons appear as desktop text files nick623 Using Fedora 3 15th December 2006 02:21 PM
newbie lost icons on KDE desktop arjay Using Fedora 2 8th June 2005 05:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:13 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kampong Baharu Balakong - Polkowice Photos - Mathba Instagram Photos