Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st May 2005, 03:42 AM
pitta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 66
Posts: 9
Wireless does not work on FC3

I am running FC3 on my Dell Latitude D600. I get this message when I try to active the wireless card:
"ipw2100 device eth1 does not seem to be present". Kudzu found the intel card the first time I run it and it is shown on the network conf window as eth1.

I wlll appreciate any ideas how to solve this problem.

Thanks,

pitta
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st May 2005, 09:33 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
Fedorajim has a good how-to on your issue.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st May 2005, 09:54 AM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Fedorajim's howto does indeed look good. Is it possible that what provoked this problem is simply that you are running a newer kernel now than the one you prepared the ipw2100 driver for?
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st May 2005, 04:18 PM
pitta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 66
Posts: 9
It is possible . Do I need to rebuild and install the kernel? If yes not sure about the right steps to do it.
sbin/lsmod produced this output:
ipw2100 85241 0
ieee80211 22341 1 ipw2100
ieee80211_crypt 7365 1 ieee80211

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd May 2005, 12:18 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
Just like madwifi everytime the kernel is upgraded so are the drivers.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd May 2005, 04:23 PM
pitta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 66
Posts: 9
Thanks to all. I will follow Fedorajim.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th May 2005, 02:14 AM
pitta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 66
Posts: 9
I followed Fedorajim's steps, some progress but still not connection. "iwlist scan" give me the list of all wireless available in my neighborhood included mine. It shows my wireless on channel 6 but the Wireless Configuration Device Window shows channel =1 and can not be changed, it is grayed out.
I get this message when I try to activate the wireless network:
"Determining IP info for etho failed; not link present"

Any ideas
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th May 2005, 08:03 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
@ pitta

Have you tried using the >system tools >internet configuration wizard >wireless connection? You must enter your root password and when you get to network setting under the EDIT tab make sure you are using dhcp settings and you can also change some other setting such as channel ...
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th May 2005, 08:12 AM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
What does

iwconfig

say? If it shows your encryption key, you might want to XXX that out after pasting.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th May 2005, 12:27 AM
pitta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 66
Posts: 9
This is "iwlist scan" output:
Cell 02 - Address: 00:0F:3D:63:99:2C
ESSID:"DELLESS"
Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
Mode:Master
Channel:1
Encryption key:on
Bit Rate:36 Mb/s
Extra: Rates (Mb/s): 1 2 5.5 11 6 12 24 36
Signal level=-69 dBm
Extra: Last beacon: 36ms ago
This is "iwconfig" output:
eth0 unassociated ESSID:"DELLESS" Nickname:"localhost.localdomain"
Mode:Managed Channel=0 Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
Bit Rate=0 kb/s Tx-Power:off
Retry:on RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
I have tried the internet wizard as root and the channel is still grayed out. I changed the channel to 1 in the wireless router, same result.
I hope you do not get tired of helping me. I really want to use Fedora on my laptop instead of XP

Thanks
Bit Rate=0 kb/s Tx-Power:off
Retry:on RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25th May 2005, 12:44 AM
pitta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 66
Posts: 9
I get this message after closing system-config-network window:
Warning : Device eth0 has been compiled with version 17
of Wireless Extension, while we are using version 16.
Some things may be broken...

How can I compile etho with version 16?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc3, wireless, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant get wireless to work Rambo Servers & Networking 2 1st April 2008 07:58 PM
when will wireless work on fc8 ? geek1234 Servers & Networking 20 17th December 2007 05:32 AM
Getting Wireless to work techdawg270 Hardware & Laptops 9 11th July 2007 02:50 AM
Wireless Card configuration: Dell wireless 1350 WLAN miniPCI. Doesn't Work! mjman Servers & Networking 3 14th December 2006 03:46 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:39 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...MAC Photos on Instagram - Cafe El Triunfo Instagram Photos - TGI Friday's South Gate, Ca - Liceo Particular Mixto Los Andes Travel Photos - The Fancy Moose Travel Photos on Instagram