Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th May 2005, 04:08 PM
SnoopyMontana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Setting up a SSH / Newbie

Hello all,

I've been trying to set up my fc3 box to allow ssh. I've been using tiddy on an XP(I have to, it's my work laptop(not my choice)) workstation trying to access my fc3 box. I can never get through. I do have a router, but I have port 22 being routed to the proper local ip address(fc3).

I was told that fedora comes w/ ssh automaticly installed. I was curious if anyone had any suggestions?

I am going to try to minimize my firewall settings tonight when I get to my fc3 box, but that's the only thing I can think of.

any comments, suggestions would be greatly appreciated by this new fc user.

Thanks,
-Snoopy Montana
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th May 2005, 04:26 PM
mattmattic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopyMontana
any comments, suggestions would be greatly appreciated by this new fc user.
Make sure the sshd service is running on your box. YOu can also try to ssh to localhost from your box to see if that responds. If not, you might not have the SSH daemon running or installed.
__________________
Regards,
Matt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th May 2005, 04:27 PM
keithmo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wrocław, Poland
Age: 50
Posts: 38
Exactly what error do you see when you try to connect?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th May 2005, 04:30 PM
SnoopyMontana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithmo
Exactly what error do you see when you try to connect?

Network error: Session timed out. It seems to just not find the fc3 box.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th May 2005, 04:34 PM
brahms Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 434
Code:
su -
service sshd status
It should tell you that sshd is running. If it isn't:
Code:
service sshd start
Then do
Code:
system-config-securitylevel
Enter your root password. Check the SSH box and the box for your connection to your router (probably eth0). Click OK, then type
Code:
service iptables restart
__________________
:cool:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th May 2005, 04:39 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
During install one of the options is to use port 22 for SSH. (if you didn't do this then what mattmattic said and open port 22 on the pc firewall)
On the client side the tool or viewer uses port 22 and tells the pc to forward anything on port 22 from this ip to 590n.
So the PC is listening on port 22 (i.e. an OPEN INPUT PORT)
The router is not listening on any ports (except standard ports like 80,21, etc, maybe) so no unsolicited input.
So the router must be told to open port 22 to listen. Routintg the port 22 to itsself or another port is not going to open the port in the router.

So from home, webpage your router and set port 22 to listen (open)

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th May 2005, 05:42 PM
SnoopyMontana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Awsome, I'm @ work now. I'll try all of the above when I get home, and let you great folks know how it worked out. Thanks again for all of your help!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th May 2005, 01:31 AM
SnoopyMontana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
All the above suggestions helped, and the PROBLEM IS SOLVED!!

Thank you,
-Snoopy Montana
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie, setting, ssh

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWBIE - Need Help Setting up SAMBA Ghost.X Using Fedora 11 25th March 2011 02:10 PM
Newbie setting up LAMP (Fedora 7) r557 Servers & Networking 0 16th September 2007 07:56 PM
Newbie: What should come first is setting up security in fedora 5 raremon Security and Privacy 11 7th July 2006 11:41 PM
Newbie: Setting up RAID1 d-lexy Hardware & Laptops 3 5th December 2004 02:45 PM
Setting up Novel Print Queue (Newbie) crossbyname Using Fedora 2 25th October 2004 10:25 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:54 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat