Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th May 2005, 01:14 AM
604traveller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Yum update problem :(

I've done a few clean installs now..

I'm trying to set up a mythtv box..

The thing is YUM doesn't like me

After a clean install the first thing I do is

# wget http://ATrpms.net/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
# rpm --import RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms

then

# rpm -Uvh http://atrpms.net/dist/fc3/atrpms-ki....at.x86_64.rpm

and I've also included a .repo file for atrpms in my /etc/yum.repos.d/

like this:

[at-stable]
name=ATrpms for Fedora Core $releasever stable
baseurl=http://apt.atrpms.net/fedora/$releasever/en/$basearch/at-stable

now when I type:

# yum list available I get a list with all the rpms I'm ever going to need.. including a nvidia driver and mythtv suite (so close )

but

# yum update

gives me this:

[root@cs78190245 mythtv]# yum update
Setting up Update Process
Setting up Repos
at-stable 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
base 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
updates-released 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
python2.3: Modules/gcmodule.c:215: update_refs: Assertion `gc->gc.gc_refs == (-3)' failed.
Aborted

Could someone tell me what is wrong? I've done 2 clean installs now and it's the same freaking error message
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th May 2005, 01:28 AM
tchung Offline
FedoraNEWS.org Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California, US
Posts: 561
This might be related issue on FC3 x86_64:
http://fedoranews.org/blog/?p=631

Thomas Chung
__________________
Thomas Chung
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ThomasChung
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th May 2005, 12:33 PM
604traveller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Nope that does absolutely nothing to me

I once again did a clean install

here's what I did then:

wget http://ATrpms.net/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
rpm --import RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpm

and then I created a file called atrpms.repo to my home folder and

cp /home/mythtv/atrpms.repo /etc/yum.repos.d/atrpms.repo

then

yum list available

(up to this point everything has worked just fine)=

now

[root@cs78190245 mythtv]# yum update
Setting up Update Process
Setting up Repo: at-stable
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: base
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Setting up Repo: updates-released
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
at-stable : ################################################## 996/996
base : ################################################## 2852/2852
updates-re: ###### 118/966python: Modules/gcmodule.c:215: update_refs: Assertion `gc->gc.gc_refs == (-3)' failed.
Aborted

then I did

rpm -e perl.i386

then

[root@cs78190245 mythtv]# yum update
Setting up Update Process
Setting up Repo: at-stable
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Setting up Repo: base
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Setting up Repo: updates-released
repomd.xml 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
at-stable : ################################################## 996/996
base : ################################################## 2852/2852
updates-re: ################################################## 966/966
python: Modules/gcmodule.c:294: visit_reachable: Assertion `gc_refs > 0 || gc_refs == (-3) || gc_refs == (-2)' failed.
Aborted


I sure would appreciate if someone could tell me what is wrong..

I'm soon going to move to another distro as Fedora Core 3 just seems too buggy..

I tried to follow myth(tv)logy guide to set up this on normal 32 bit FC3 which went fine till I installed Nvidia driver which only gives me blank screen as soon as x starts..

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th May 2005, 05:07 PM
604traveller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Angry

Okay I wasn't really expecting someone would actually know the reason for this error message. I think this bug lies somewhere very deep within FC3 since I haven't even messed up with the system before it starts shouting error (sort of like pre xp windows..) Fedora Core 3 x86_64 isn't worth the trouble.. in my opinion. So as I'm typing this I'm updating the 32 bit version instead. This time I think I'll download the driver straight from nvidia and install it myself. If I still get a blank screen I MIGHT HAVE TO STAB SOMEONE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th May 2005, 12:18 AM
604traveller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by 604traveller
Okay I wasn't really expecting someone would actually know the reason for this error message. I think this bug lies somewhere very deep within FC3 since I haven't even messed up with the system before it starts shouting error (sort of like pre xp windows..) Fedora Core 3 x86_64 isn't worth the trouble.. in my opinion. So as I'm typing this I'm updating the 32 bit version instead. This time I think I'll download the driver straight from nvidia and install it myself. If I still get a blank screen I MIGHT HAVE TO STAB SOMEONE

Not that suprising that I couldn't get the driver to work

So here I am again with a fresh x86_64 install, only this time I didn't install that arch compatibility package thingy, and suprise suprise, YUM works. Too bad I can't get openoffice.org now

However I've got a plan, once I've set up the mythtv box.. then I'll install the compatibility libraries and hopefully everything will play out well
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th November 2005, 12:31 AM
Mariano Suárez-
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That problem you were/are seeing has nothing to do with FC being buggy: you are seeing what is called a failed assertion in the Python interpreter. An assertion in this context is something the programmer thinks should be true at some point, and what you are seeing is the fact that that programmer was mistaken.

This failed assertion might be something really bad, as this is happening in Python's reference counting garbage collector (see http://pxr.openlook.org/pxr/source/Modules/gcmodule.c )

As this is most certainly a bug in Python, you should report this to the Python people. Their bug tracker is at http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=5470, IIRC.

Remember: a kitten will be killed if you dso not report this bug!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th November 2005, 05:40 AM
Optimal Aurora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: somewhere between dimensions...
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mariano Suárez-
That problem you were/are seeing has nothing to do with FC being buggy: you are seeing what is called a failed assertion in the Python interpreter. An assertion in this context is something the programmer thinks should be true at some point, and what you are seeing is the fact that that programmer was mistaken.

This failed assertion might be something really bad, as this is happening in Python's reference counting garbage collector (see http://pxr.openlook.org/pxr/source/Modules/gcmodule.c )

As this is most certainly a bug in Python, you should report this to the Python people. Their bug tracker is at http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=5470, IIRC.

Remember: a kitten will be killed if you dso not report this bug!
She is right you need to post a bug report or see if a bug report has been filed. I haven't never seen this error but I think it may be a corrupt file or two in your installation copy. You may be wise to post the bug report and download a fresh copy of FC4 x86_64 and try it.
__________________
Later...
Aurora...

Quote:
Knowledge is Power and Power you are going to need to be a computer programmer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th November 2005, 05:49 AM
gavinw6662 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 36
Posts: 1,281
Have you tried knoppmyth instead?? Although I give you much props for using fedora as a myth system. I heard knoppmyth is much easier to install.
__________________
I read your e-mail
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th November 2005, 12:01 PM
Knudson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Italy
Age: 30
Posts: 401
why don't you just download that rpm and install it, without using yum?
__________________
knu - ICQ# 51135890
knu.altervista.org
Help us to give linux a better software support!
Shooby dooby doo shooby dooby doo durul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem, update, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After 'yum update' problem wsinw Using Fedora 3 15th February 2009 04:56 PM
KDE Update Problem TheMixtureMedia Using Fedora 9 22nd December 2007 07:03 PM
yum update problem messner Using Fedora 0 15th June 2006 11:36 PM
Amarok Update Problem from yum -y update Raafi Using Fedora 6 27th August 2005 12:23 AM
FC3 update problem pengyou12345 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 4 14th July 2005 10:35 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:23 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Puruandiro Travel Photos on Instagram - Colomiers Photos on Instagram - Pinewood Photos