Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th April 2005, 11:53 AM
Thomm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Unhappy Cannot install XMMS with yum - Now with added MPlayer problems...

Right, I've been trying for days to install some form of MP3 player on my FC3. The sound works and I can use music player to play any ogg files, but obviously most of my music is MP3. I've been trying to install xmms, but I've been having major trouble every time I try. I downloaded the rpm from freshrpms, and got this message:
Code:
[root@localhost tomm]# rpm -ihv xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64.rpm
warning: xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 6b8d79e6
error: Failed dependencies:
        libX11.so.6()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libXext.so.6()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libXi.so.6()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libc.so.6()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.2.5)(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libdl.so.2()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libgdk-1.2.so.0()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libglib-1.2.so.0()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libgmodule-1.2.so.0()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libgthread-1.2.so.0()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libgtk-1.2.so.0()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libm.so.6()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libm.so.6(GLIBC_2.2.5)(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libpthread.so.0()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libpthread.so.0(GLIBC_2.2.5)(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libxmms.so.1()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
        libz.so.1()(64bit) is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.x86_64
So I need the Glibs or something?

Code:
[root@localhost glib-2.6.3]# ./configure
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking for the BeOS... no
checking for Win32... no
checking whether to enable garbage collector friendliness... no
checking whether to disable memory pools... no
checking for gcc... no
checking for cc... no
checking for cc... no
checking for cl... no
configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
See `config.log' for more details.
And that happens. Then, I read somewhere that you can simply install xmms using yum, so I followed the instructions HERE, but it still doesn't work:
Code:
[root@localhost /]# yum install xmms
Repository updates-released already added, not adding again
Repository base already added, not adding again
Setting up Install Process
Setting up Repos
dag                       100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
updates-released          100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
livna-stable              100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
atrpms-stable             100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
livna-unstable            100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
freshrpms                 100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
livna-testing             100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
extras                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
dag       : ################################################## 2216/2216
updates-re: ################################################## 872/872
livna-stab: ################################################## 155/155
base      : ################################################## 2622/2622
atrpms-sta: ################################################## 1057/1057
livna-unst: ################################################## 59/59
primary.xml.gz            100% |=========================| 150 kB    00:00
http://ayo.freshrpms.net/fedora/linux/3/i386/freshrpms/repodata/primary.xml.gz: [Errno -1] Metadata file does not match checksum
Trying other mirror.
Error: failure: repodata/primary.xml.gz from freshrpms: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
This is driving me mad. Please help!

PS Any help you give will have to be very simple, or have step-by-step instructions. I'm pretty new to this game...

Thank you!

Last edited by Thomm; 1st May 2005 at 04:41 PM. Reason: Change title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th April 2005, 12:12 PM
bitrain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Age: 27
Posts: 1,426
Can you try this:
Code:
yum --disablerepo=freshrpms install xmms
And then for mp3 support:
Code:
yum --disablerepo=freshrpms install xmms-mp3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th April 2005, 12:42 PM
Thomm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Thanks for the help, I thought that was going to work, but then at the very last minute, Boom!
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# yum --disablerepo=freshrpms install xmms
Repository updates-released already added, not adding again
Repository base already added, not adding again
Setting up Install Process
Setting up Repos
dag                       100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
http://klid.dk/homeftp/fedora/linux/core/updates/3/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: HTTP Error 403: Forbidden
Trying other mirror.
updates-released          100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
livna-stable              100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
atrpms-stable             100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
livna-unstable            100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
livna-testing             100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
extras                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
dag       : ################################################## 2216/2216
updates-re: ################################################## 872/872
livna-stab: ################################################## 155/155
base      : ################################################## 2622/2622
atrpms-sta: ################################################## 1057/1057
livna-unst: ################################################## 59/59
livna-test: ################################################## 29/29
extras    : ################################################## 1109/1109
Setting up Repos
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package xmms.i386 1:1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf set to be updated
--> Running transaction check

Dependencies Resolved
Transaction Listing:
  Update: xmms.i386 1:1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf - dag
Total download size: 1.9 M
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
warning: rpmts_HdrFromFdno: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 6b8d79e6
public key not available for xmms-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.i386.rpm
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th April 2005, 12:59 PM
Freddan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Age: 34
Posts: 22
You have to get the gpg key for the dag repo installed.
Write rpm --import http://dag.wieers.com/packages/RPM-GPG-KEY.dag.txt as root in your console. That should make the dag repo work.

/Freddan
__________________
God made the humans, the humans made the computer and killed god, the computer killed the human.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th April 2005, 01:02 PM
Thomm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddan
You have to get the gpg key for the dag repo installed.
Write rpm --import http://dag.wieers.com/packages/RPM-GPG-KEY.dag.txt as root in your console. That should make the dag repo work.

/Freddan
Thank you. The installation seemed to go without a hitch, and then I did the xmms-mp3 thing and that worked nicely too, as far as I could tell. But where the hell is my xmms? I even rebooted and I can't find it. Am I being dumb?

EDIT: It's working ( ), but there's no shortcut on the K menu thing. Should there be? How do I get one? Thanks!

EDIT 2: I'm really an idiot, aren't I. Who'd've thought XMMS would be simply called "Audio Player"? Problem solved. But I might be back when I want to play some videos

Last edited by Thomm; 30th April 2005 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th April 2005, 01:37 PM
bitrain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Age: 27
Posts: 1,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomm
But I might be back when I want to play some videos
Try mplayer , there are how-to for it in the how-to section in this forum!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th April 2005, 05:50 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
Here is how-to for your multimedia needs.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th April 2005, 05:54 PM
Vinneh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 223
mplayer also has an xmms plugin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st May 2005, 04:41 PM
Thomm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdeemvp
Here is how-to for your multimedia needs.
Thank you, that FAQ looks most useful.

I said I'd be back didn't I? Well I have a bit of a problem with MPlayer. God knows what I've done, but it doesn't work. When I click the icon or try and open a file in MPlayer, a little box flashes up in the middle of the screen and then disappears way to quickly to see what it actually says. Any ideas?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st May 2005, 04:45 PM
tejas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Age: 27
Posts: 1,574
Install xine, it is much better than mplayer if you are desperate

Open MPlayer from the terminal, your error may be output there also
__________________
I Was Counted! Registered Linux User #384707

BASH && Beer && Bass! Now THAT makes sense!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st May 2005, 04:51 PM
awklein
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
For the Mplayer problem:

Open up a console shell and type the following command:

gmplayer

Then try to play the media file which created the problem. Paste the text created in the console here.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 1st May 2005, 04:53 PM
Thomm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Code:
[root@localhost tomm]# mplayer /mnt/docs/docs/trials/spazyfaces.avi
MPlayer 1.0pre7-3.4.3 (C) 2000-2005 MPlayer Team
CPU: Advanced Micro Devices  (Family: 8, Stepping: 0)
Detected cache-line size is 64 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1


Opening joystick device /dev/input/js0
Can't open joystick device /dev/input/js0 : No such file or directory
Can't init input joystick
Setting up LIRC support...
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to open LIRC support.
You will not be able to use your remote control.
Playing /mnt/docs/docs/trials/spazyfaces.avi.
AVI file format detected.
VIDEO:  [XVID]  640x480  24bpp  25.000 fps  1178.0 kbps (143.8 kbyte/s)
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [pcm] Uncompressed PCM audio decoder
AUDIO: 32000 Hz, 2 ch, u8, 512.0 kbit/100.00% (ratio: 64000->64000)
Selected audio codec: [pcm] afm:pcm (Uncompressed PCM)
==========================================================================
No vidix driver name provided, probing available ones (-v option for details)!
vo: X11 running at 1280x1024 with depth 24 and 32 bpp (":0.0" => local display)
[radeon] Found chip: Radeon R360 NJ [Radeon 9800 XT]
libdha: DHA kernelhelper failed: No such file or directory
libdha: DHA kernelhelper failed: No such file or directory
[radeon] Video memory = 128Mb
[radeon] Set write-combining type of video memory
[radeon] Saved overlay colorkey settings
VIDIX: Description: BES driver for Radeon cards
VIDIX: Author: Nick Kurshev
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffodivx] vfm:ffmpeg (FFmpeg MPEG-4)
==========================================================================
Checking audio filter chain for 32000Hz/2ch/u8 -> 32000Hz/2ch/u8...
AF_pre: 32000Hz/2ch/u8
alsa-init: 1 soundcard found, using: default
                             [root@localhost tomm]# mplayer /mnt/docs/docs/trials/spazyfaces.avi
MPlayer 1.0pre7-3.4.3 (C) 2000-2005 MPlayer Team
CPU: Advanced Micro Devices  (Family: 8, Stepping: 0)
Detected cache-line size is 64 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1


Opening joystick device /dev/input/js0
Can't open joystick device /dev/input/js0 : No such file or directory
Can't init input joystick
Setting up LIRC support...
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to open LIRC support.
You will not be able to use your remote control.
Playing /mnt/docs/docs/trials/spazyfaces.avi.
AVI file format detected.
VIDEO:  [XVID]  640x480  24bpp  25.000 fps  1178.0 kbps (143.8 kbyte/s)
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [pcm] Uncompressed PCM audio decoder
AUDIO: 32000 Hz, 2 ch, u8, 512.0 kbit/100.00% (ratio: 64000->64000)
Selected audio codec: [pcm] afm:pcm (Uncompressed PCM)
==========================================================================
No vidix driver name provided, probing available ones (-v option for details)!
vo: X11 running at 1280x1024 with depth 24 and 32 bpp (":0.0" => local display)
[radeon] Found chip: Radeon R360 NJ [Radeon 9800 XT]
libdha: DHA kernelhelper failed: No such file or directory
libdha: DHA kernelhelper failed: No such file or directory
[radeon] Video memory = 128Mb
[radeon] Set write-combining type of video memory
[radeon] Saved overlay colorkey settings
VIDIX: Description: BES driver for Radeon cards
VIDIX: Author: Nick Kurshev
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffodivx] vfm:ffmpeg (FFmpeg MPEG-4)
==========================================================================
Checking audio filter chain for 32000Hz/2ch/u8 -> 32000Hz/2ch/u8...
AF_pre: 32000Hz/2ch/u8
alsa-init: 1 soundcard found, using: default
At this point it just stops, doesn't even cut back to a root prompt.

Could it be anything to do with the fact that I (for some reason) seemingly have two Mplayers installed? Under Sound & Video I have an icon for Mplayer and also one for Media player. Are they the same thing? I may have installed another instance via yum without realising I already had it.

I'll try xine now anyway

Last edited by Thomm; 1st May 2005 at 04:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 1st May 2005, 04:57 PM
awklein
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Xine, and the front end program named gxine, works very well for me too. I use mplayer as a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 1st May 2005, 05:16 PM
awklein
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
About the mplayer problem:

It looks like mplayer is searching for a library file named:

/usr/lib/libdha.so.1

This file is an mplayer feature included in a package named mplayer-vidix and a decription of this feature is

"VIDIX is the abbreviation for VIDeo Interface for *niX.
VIDIX was designed and introduced as an interface for fast user-space
drivers providing DGA everywhere where it's possible (unlike X11).
I hope that these drivers will be as portable as X11 (not only on *nix).
* What is it: It's a portable successor of mga_vid technology, but it's
located in user-space.
* Unlike X11 it provides DGA everywhere it's possible
* Unlike v4l it provides interface for video playback
* Unlike linux's drivers it uses the math library"

What you might need to do, to make mplayer work for you, is to install the package mplayer-vidix and also mplayer-vidix-ATI-Rage128. This last file is compile specifically for video car architecture.

A repop with maplyer packages is located at:
http://rpm.greysector.net/apt/fc3/RPMS.stable/

And skins and codecs are located at:
http://rpm.greysector.net/apt/all/RPMS.stable/

Also, be aware, the location of the codecs built by the mplayer organization has changed from /usr/lib/win32 to /usr/lib/codecs. If you use xine based appilcations with these codecs packages you will need to configure the player to point to this new codecs location.

EDIT:
Can you use i386/i686 build packages on a 64 bit machine?

Last edited by awklein; 1st May 2005 at 05:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1st May 2005, 06:23 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
Quote:
I said I'd be back didn't I? Well I have a bit of a problem with MPlayer. God knows what I've done, but it doesn't work. When I click the icon or try and open a file in MPlayer, a little box flashes up in the middle of the screen and then disappears way to quickly to see what it actually says. Any ideas?
I guess you did want to follow the tuturial I linked for mplayer.....you would not be having the problem.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, xmms, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install XMMS on fc9 seforo Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 2nd December 2008 11:16 PM
Cannot install xmms banie Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 48 25th August 2008 12:48 AM
Mp3's on xmms: xmms-mp3 decoder install error. driftwood Using Fedora 4 22nd February 2006 01:47 AM
how to install xmms? ramaswamyps Fedora Core 4 Test 10 11th May 2005 06:17 AM
Cant install XMMS here is why! s10237 Using Fedora 6 18th February 2005 04:38 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:28 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat