Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Other Versions > EOL (End Of Life) Versions
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

EOL (End Of Life) Versions This is a Forum to discuss problems and workarounds for versions of Fedora that have passed End of Life.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:17 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickisgod1
also have u tried mounting to a different directoy
i made a hdd folder, which u know..and i also tried a hdd1 folder, in mount again

both didn't work
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:21 PM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 2,222
also are you sure there are curently no files in /mnt/hdd
"ls -l /mnt/hdd"
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:22 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
[deeps@localhost ~]$ ls -l /mnt/hdd
total 0
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:22 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
this is confuuusin...why can i see one partition and not the other?:S
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:24 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Yeah everyone is confused now. Can we do another

mount

to see who is where right now.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:26 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
[deeps@localhost ~]$ su -
Password:
[root@localhost ~]# mount /dev/hdb2 /mnt/hdd
mount: /dev/hdb2 already mounted or /mnt/hdd busy
[root@localhost ~]# mount /dev/hdb1 /mnt/hdd
[root@localhost ~]#


again hdb2 doesn't work, hdb1 works fine
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:29 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Just mount on its own so we see who is where please.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:29 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
/dev/hda1 on / type ext3 (rw)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:30 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
i unmounted hdb1 again incase u were wondering
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:31 PM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 2,222
just saw your fstab the second part in type 8e wich is a LVM
this is causing the wierdness
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:32 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
hmm, wat does LVM stand for?:S

can it be fixed?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:33 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Well spotted Nick.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:34 PM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 2,222
check out this site for LVM as I am not that experienced with it
http://www.widagdo.com/lvm.htm
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:35 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
What does

ls -l /dev/volgroup/LogVol00

say?
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 27th April 2005, 08:36 PM
deeps Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 62
[deeps@localhost ~]$ ls -l /dev/volgroup/LogVol00
ls: /dev/volgroup/LogVol00: No such file or directory
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drive, fc3, hard, stuff

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is written to hard drive with thumb drive install or live cd murof Using Fedora 5 12th December 2008 05:27 PM
Booting from USB external drive instead of internal hard drive davrom Hardware & Laptops 2 24th November 2008 12:56 PM
Installing to a USB Flash Drive and using the drive and a normal hard drive beeball Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 23rd March 2008 06:45 AM
grub.conf on hard drive, boot usb drive badwolf001 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 17th November 2007 03:58 AM
Automount stopped working with USB pen drive and USB hard drive fedoraphile Using Fedora 20 14th December 2006 06:53 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:50 (Friday, 28-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Castell Son Claret Photos on Instagram - De Vries (OCBC NISP) - Villa Rosa di Martinsicuro (TE) Travel Photos on Instagram - Bologna Travel Photos