Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th April 2005, 04:07 PM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999
I've been recieving the following error, whenever i try to use Yum. Yum has been working, but has now stopped.
Code:
Setting up Update Process
Setting up Repos
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/yum", line 7, in ?
    yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 68, in main
    result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 408, in doCommands
    return self.updatePkgs()
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 923, in updatePkgs
    self.doRepoSetup()
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 69, in doRepoSetup
    repo.baseurlSetup()
  File "repos.py", line 437, in baseurlSetup
  File "repos.py", line 690, in getMirrorList
  File "grabber.py", line 433, in urlopen
  File "grabber.py", line 562, in urlopen
  File "grabber.py", line 534, in _retry
  File "grabber.py", line 561, in retryfunc
  File "grabber.py", line 714, in __init__
  File "grabber.py", line 758, in _do_open
  File "grabber.py", line 835, in _make_request
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 326, in open
    '_open', req)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 306, in _call_chain
    result = func(*args)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 491, in <lambda>
    lambda r, proxy=url, type=type, meth=self.proxy_open: \
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 498, in proxy_open
    if '@' in host:
TypeError: iterable argument required
I've attempted to reinstall yum but with no success. I'm behind a proxy, but yum was working until i had to logout whilst yum was still running. Since then i've had this problem. Any ideas?
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th April 2005, 04:12 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Does this help?

yum update yum

then try again
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th April 2005, 04:21 PM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999
Not in the slightest. Peforming a:
Code:
su -
yum update
Results in:
Code:
Setting up Update Process
Setting up Repos
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/yum", line 7, in ?
    yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 68, in main
    result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 408, in doCommands
    return self.updatePkgs()
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 923, in updatePkgs
    self.doRepoSetup()
  File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 69, in doRepoSetup
    repo.baseurlSetup()
  File "repos.py", line 437, in baseurlSetup
  File "repos.py", line 690, in getMirrorList
  File "grabber.py", line 433, in urlopen
  File "grabber.py", line 562, in urlopen
  File "grabber.py", line 534, in _retry
  File "grabber.py", line 561, in retryfunc
  File "grabber.py", line 714, in __init__
  File "grabber.py", line 758, in _do_open
  File "grabber.py", line 835, in _make_request
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 326, in open
    '_open', req)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 306, in _call_chain
    result = func(*args)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 491, in <lambda>
    lambda r, proxy=url, type=type, meth=self.proxy_open: \
  File "/usr/lib/python2.3/urllib2.py", line 498, in proxy_open
    if '@' in host:
TypeError: iterable argument required
Yum update yum, provides the same result.
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th April 2005, 04:36 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
The code traceback seems to show an attempt to parse a broken or empty mirror list?

Try to change your base repo file, or whichever repo file comes up first, to a fixed URL, eg

baseurl=http://mirror.hiwaay.net/redhat/fedora/linux/core/$releasever/$basearch/os/
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th April 2005, 04:58 PM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999
No such luck. I didn't think that would make a difference either, as when I unistalled Yum it removed those files as well.
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th April 2005, 05:05 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
You uninstalled yum? Well that's easily fixed (assuming you're on FC3):

rpm -i http://mirror.hiwaay.net/redhat/fedo...fc3.noarch.rpm
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th April 2005, 05:16 PM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999
Sorry you don't seem to understand. I have this yum problem, but it has not been fixed by me reinstalling yum. So yum is installed.
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th April 2005, 06:47 PM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,479
Could you provide the code of yum(/usr/bin/yum) and /usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py, please? It will be interesting to see the problem.
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 21 Workstation Alpha x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Sony VAIO N250E - OS: Fedora 21 Alpha Design Suite i386.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th April 2005, 08:04 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Quote:
when I unistalled Yum it removed those files as well.
You're right, for some unaccountable reason I misunderstood. Apologies.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th April 2005, 09:26 AM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGreen
You're right, for some unaccountable reason I misunderstood. Apologies.
No problem, you were only trying to help.

And as requested the code for /usr/bin/yum:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/python

import sys
sys.path.insert(0, '/usr/share/yum-cli')
try:
    import yummain
    yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
except KeyboardInterrupt, e:
    print >> sys.stderr, "\n\nExiting on user cancel."
    sys.exit(1)
And /usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/python -t
# This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
# it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
# the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
# (at your option) any later version.
#
# This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
# but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
# MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
# GNU Library General Public License for more details.
#
# You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
# along with this program; if not, write to the Free Software
# Foundation, Inc., 59 Temple Place - Suite 330, Boston, MA 02111-1307, USA.
# Copyright 2004 Duke University 


import os
import sys
import locale
import time # test purposes only

import yum
import yum.Errors as Errors
import cli


from i18n import _


def main(args):
    """This does all the real work"""

    locale.setlocale(locale.LC_ALL, '')
    # our core object for the cli
    base = cli.YumBaseCli()

    if len(args) < 1:
        base.usage()

    def unlock():
        try:
            base.closeRpmDB()
            base.doUnlock('/var/run/yum.pid')
        except Errors.LockError, e:
            sys.exit(200)

    # do our cli parsing and config file setup
    # also sanity check the things being passed on the cli
    try:
        base.getOptionsConfig(args)
    except Errors.YumBaseError, e:
        result = 1
        resultmsgs = [str(e)]
        for msg in resultmsgs:
            print >> sys.stderr, msg
        
        sys.exit(1)
        
    try:
        base.doLock('/var/run/yum.pid')
    except Errors.LockError, e:
        base.errorlog(0,'%s' % e.msg)
        sys.exit(200)

    # build up an idea of what we're supposed to do
    try:
        result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
    except Errors, e:
        result = 1
        resultmsgs = [str(e)]
    except KeyboardInterrupt, e:
        base.errorlog(0, '\n\nExiting on user cancel')
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)
    except IOError, e:
        if e.errno == 32:
            base.errorlog(0, '\n\nExiting on Broken Pipe')
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)
            
    if result not in [0, 1, 2, 100]:
        base.errorlog(0, 'Unknown Error(s): Exit Code: %d:' % result)
        for msg in resultmsgs:
            base.errorlog(0, msg)
        unlock()
        sys.exit(3)
    
    if result == 100:
        unlock()
        sys.exit(100)

    elif result == 0:
        for msg in resultmsgs:
            base.log(2, '%s' % msg)
        unlock()
        sys.exit(0)
            
    elif result == 1:
        for msg in resultmsgs:
            base.errorlog(0, 'Error: %s' % msg)
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)
            
    # Depsolve stage
    base.log(2, 'Resolving Dependencies')
    base.log(3, time.time())
    try:
        (result, resultmsgs) = base.buildTransaction() 
    except Errors.YumBaseError, e:
        result = 1
        resultmsgs = [str(e)]
    except KeyboardInterrupt, e:
        base.errorlog(0, '\n\nExiting on user cancel')
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)
    except IOError, e:
        if e.errno == 32:
            base.errorlog(0, '\n\nExiting on Broken Pipe')
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)
    
    if result not in [0, 1, 2]:
        base.errorlog(0, 'Unknown Error(s): Exit Code: %d:' % result)
        for msg in resultmsgs:
            base.errorlog(0, msg)
        unlock()
        sys.exit(3)
        
    if result == 0:
        unlock()
        sys.exit(0)
            
    elif result == 1:
        for msg in resultmsgs:
            base.errorlog(0, 'Error: %s' % msg)
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)

    base.log(2, '\nDependencies Resolved')
    base.log(3, time.time())
    #run post-depresolve script here
    #run  pre-trans script here
    # run the transaction
    try:
        base.doTransaction()
    except Errors.YumBaseError, e:
        base.errorlog(0, '%s' % e)
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)
    except KeyboardInterrupt, e:
        base.errorlog(0, '\n\nExiting on user cancel')
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)
    except IOError, e:
        if e.errno == 32:
            base.errorlog(0, '\n\nExiting on Broken Pipe')
        unlock()
        sys.exit(1)

    # run post-trans script here
    # things ran correctly
    # run a report function base.whatwedid() :)
    
    base.log(2, 'Complete!')
    unlock()
    sys.exit(0)
    
    
if __name__ == "__main__":
    
    try:
        main(sys.argv[1:])
    except KeyboardInterrupt, e:
        print >> sys.stderr, "\n\nExiting on user cancel."
        sys.exit(1)
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27th April 2005, 02:16 PM
mit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 233
It looks like some problem with the proxy url, that make some python class used bye yum fail.
have you specified a http_proxy=<Proxy server>, and what is set to ???

Try 'echo $HTTP_PROXY'
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27th April 2005, 03:14 PM
nordicart Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 145
It looks like your installed python package or your libxml2-python package (and through dependencies libxml2) may be broken. Those are the only python related yum dependencies which have been officially updated for FC3.

I suggest dowloading the updated packages and reinstalling them.

Last edited by nordicart; 27th April 2005 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
errors, garbage, problems, reporting, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me to fix Qt/KDE Garbage Graphics stevouch Using Fedora 0 13th February 2009 05:46 PM
clipboard garbage myname77 Using Fedora 3 19th September 2008 06:49 PM
Reporting two yum ERRORS. joe.pelayo Using Fedora 5 16th March 2007 10:38 PM
garbage on screen BenCollver Using Fedora 3 30th September 2006 06:24 PM
Kvpnc = Garbage OperatorOne Using Fedora 1 12th July 2006 12:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 20:07 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kertosono - Olenegorsk Photos - Minuf Photos