Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th April 2005, 10:29 PM
ianmac
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Problem with SmartPM

I have been praising SmartPM because it is fast and resolves deps better than yum or apt. But, I am having a problem with the smartpm ui (smart -gui) now.

I am using Fedora Core 3 on an AMD Athlon XP 3000+, 512Mb ram, 160Gb HD. I use KDE as my desktop manager and smart 0.30.2 with smart-gui for resolving dependencies.

I ran smart-gui from my kmenu and upgraded the entire system, smart -gui runs nice and fast. Then I did a reboot, since I upgraded the kernel, and ran smart-gui from my kmenu and nothing happened. So, I ran smart-gui from a terminal and got the following:

10:56:25[root@work]# smart-gui
error: Interface 'gtk' not available

smart -gui no longer runs after the upgrade, however, smart (the cli portion) still runs nice and fast. So, I did a query of the rpm database for 'gtk' and got this:

11:09:22[root@work]# rpm -qa | grep gtk
usermode-gtk-1.74-1
gtk+-1.2.10-33
asp2php-gtk-0.76.18-3
gnome-python2-gtkhtml2-2.6.0-3
gtk2-engines-2.2.0-6
gtkspell-devel-2.0.7-2
pygtk2-libglade-2.4.0-1
mtr-gtk-0.69-1.1.fc3.rf
gtkhtml3-3.3.2-3
gtk+-devel-1.2.10-33
gtkhtml2-2.6.2-1
gtkhtml-1.1.9-10
pygtk2-2.4.0-1 <--- this is a dep for smart-gui
gtk-doc-1.2-2
iiimf-gtk-12.1-10.FC3
gtkspell-2.0.7-2
gtk2-devel-2.4.14-3.fc3
gtkhtml-devel-1.1.9-10
gtkhtml3-devel-3.3.2-3
gtk-engines-0.12-5
pygtk2-devel-2.4.0-1
authconfig-gtk-4.6.5-3.1
aiksaurus-gtk-1.2.1-2
gtkhtml2-devel-2.6.2-1
ghostscript-gtk-7.07-33
gtksourceview-1.1.0-4.fc3
aiksaurus-gtk-devel-1.2.1-2
gtk2-2.4.14-3.fc3
gtksourceview-devel-1.1.0-4.fc3

Information about my SmartPM installation:

11:10:34[root@work]# rpm -qa | grep smart
smart-gui-0.30.2-1.1.fc3.rf
ksmarttray-0.30.2-1.1.fc3.rf
smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at
smart-update-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at

11:00:55[root@work]# uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.11-1.14_FC3 #1 Thu Apr 7 19:23:49 EDT 2005 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux

smart (the cli portion) still runs nice and fast, but I'd like to continue using the smart -gui portion. However, I am now no longer able to run smart-gui and uninstalling and reinstalling did not solve the problem.

I am assuming that smart updated a gtk component and now the new version of that gtk component and smart-gui do not play well together. Is this a correct assumption? How do I fix this?

Last edited by ianmac; 20th April 2005 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st April 2005, 12:25 AM
deceptykhan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: So. California
Age: 31
Posts: 10
The problem doesn't lie with any of the GTK updates. I'm running the newest packages without a hitch.

The "Interface 'gtk' not available" is the error message you get when smart-gui is not installed, so perhaps try reinstalling smart-gui.

Check this thread for reference:
https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedo.../msg01084.html

Cheers,
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st April 2005, 12:45 AM
ianmac
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This is what I did in the beginning:
1. Ran smart-gui (worked fine) and upgraded the system.
2. Reboot.
3. Ran smart-gui and got the error: "error: Interface 'gtk' not available"

Ok, so the only thing I can think of is that something during the upgrade process uninstalled smart-gui for me because I didn't uninstall smart-gui between the first time I ran it (and upgraded the system) and receiving the error. Also, I re-installed smart-gui and got that exact same error when running it from a terminal. I know it is installed, but it won't run and gives that error.

Hmm... maybe I need newer packages. I got my smart and smart-gui packages from dag. Where did you get yours?

Last edited by ianmac; 21st April 2005 at 01:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st April 2005, 01:08 AM
ianmac
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well, when I installed the smart and smart-gui packages from dag, they installed fine.. no errors. But, when I install the same packages from atrpms, these packages won't install do to a long list of failed deps.
Code:
17:12:45[root@downloads]# rpm -Uvh smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386.rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
        /etc/smart is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
        /usr/bin/python2.4 is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
        /usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
        /usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/rpmdb is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
        /usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/rpmmodule.so is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
        /usr/lib/smart/distro.py is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
        python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
        rpm-python >= 4.3.3 is needed by smart-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at.i386
These deps don't make sense: "/etc/smart is needed by smart-0.30.2". So, smart is a dependency of smart?! Why is this package requiring things to be in certain directories?

Dag's smart and smart-gui packages install without fail, but atrpms smart and smart-gui packages fail to install due to missing deps. What gives?

Would it do any good to install the smart and smart-gui packages from dag and then upgrade them with the same packages from atrpms since the packages from atrpms are a bit newer?

Last edited by ianmac; 21st April 2005 at 01:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st April 2005, 06:54 AM
ianmac
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by deceptykhan
The problem doesn't lie with any of the GTK updates. I'm running the newest packages without a hitch.

The "Interface 'gtk' not available" is the error message you get when smart-gui is not installed, so perhaps try reinstalling smart-gui.

Check this thread for reference:
https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedo.../msg01084.html

Cheers,
I was thinking about this and I believe this is incorrect for the following reason.
I installed smart via the smart-0.30.2-1.1.fc3.rf.i386.rpm package. I then installed smart-gui via the smart-gui-0.30.2-1.1.fc3.rf.i386.rpm package. So, the smart app and the smart-gui app are two seperate packages. So, if I ran smart-gui from a terminal, wouldn't I get "bash: smart-gui: command not found" instead of "error: Interface 'gtk' not available" if the smart-gui app was not installed?

I don't think the problem is that the smart-gui app was not installed, because it was in fact installed when I got the "error: Interface 'gtk' not available" error, but I think the problem was that smart-gui upgraded something that left the smart-gui broken.

You can see, by the next to last paragraph in my original post, that I did uninstall and reinstall smart-gui and it did not solve the problem.

Does this sound correct?

Last edited by ianmac; 21st April 2005 at 06:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st April 2005, 07:23 AM
Dr_Strangelove Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 89
So everyone else has this info too..

I have not yet upgraded my kernel since I have been using smartpm. I have not seen the error

I would try removing both rpm packages.

rpm -e smart-gui
rpm -e smart

Then reinstall under new kernel and see what happens..
__________________
Fedora Core 3 - k2.6.10-1.770_FC3_SMP
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st April 2005, 07:26 AM
ianmac
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Strangelove
So everyone else has this info too..

I have not yet upgraded my kernel since I have been using smartpm. I have not seen the error

I would try removing both rpm packages.

rpm -e smart-gui
rpm -e smart

Then reinstall under new kernel and see what happens..
I will give this a go. Thank you for your info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st April 2005, 07:34 AM
Dr_Strangelove Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 89
There is also "smart-update" to remove and re-install.
__________________
Fedora Core 3 - k2.6.10-1.770_FC3_SMP
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st April 2005, 11:05 AM
ianmac
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
yeah, I removed and reinstalled everything and now smart-gui hangs when I try to do an upgrade. I ran smart upgrade from a terminal and it says "Computing transaction" and stays that way and never changes. I gave it an hour and a half (yes, you read that right.. an hour and a half) and then killed it, since it wasn't doing anything and taking 99% of CPU. Oh well, guess it's time to dump it and find something else since I can manually upgrade the entire system in an hour and a half.

It's a good thing the person who introduced me to Linux taught me how to manually track down and resolve deps before allowing me to experience the desktop.

Thanks for the help, everyone

Last edited by ianmac; 21st April 2005 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st April 2005, 03:05 PM
raghavendra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Age: 31
Posts: 360
Hi
I am not able to install smart-gui
when I give
yum install smart-gui
this is wat I get
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: pygtk2-python24 >= 2.4 is needed by package smart-gui
Error: Missing Dependency: /usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/pygtk.py is needed by package smart-gui

and when I give
smart install smart-gui
this is what I get
Computing transaction...error: Can't install smart-gui-0.30.2-16.rhfc3.at@i386: no package provides pygtk2-python24 >= 2.4
What should I do to solve this problem?
__________________
My Website
http://raghu.buildtolearn.net
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st April 2005, 05:49 PM
deceptykhan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: So. California
Age: 31
Posts: 10
It looks like you are missing the PyGtk dependancy.

Try "yum install pygtk" before installing smart-gui
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st April 2005, 05:52 PM
raghavendra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Age: 31
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by deceptykhan
It looks like you are missing the PyGtk dependancy.

Try "yum install pygtk" before installing smart-gui
I tried it before.....But this is what I got
No Match for argument: pygtk
Nothing to do
__________________
My Website
http://raghu.buildtolearn.net
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st April 2005, 06:10 PM
deceptykhan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: So. California
Age: 31
Posts: 10
sorry, try "yum install pygtk2"... the package is pygtk2.i386

you can find it via "yum provides pygtk"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21st April 2005, 06:55 PM
raghavendra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Age: 31
Posts: 360
Hi
This is what I get
[root /home/raghu] yum install pygtk2
Repository updates-released already added, not adding again
Repository base already added, not adding again
Setting up Install Process
Setting up Repos
dag 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Didier 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
updates-released 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
livna-stable 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
base 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
atrpms-stable 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
livna-unstable 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
freshrpms 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
livna-testing 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
dag : ################################################## 2216/2216
Didier : ################################################## 66/66
updates-re: ################################################## 852/852
livna-stab: ################################################## 155/155
base : ################################################## 2622/2622
atrpms-sta: ################################################## 991/991
livna-unst: ################################################## 56/56
freshrpms : ################################################## 483/483
livna-test: ################################################## 25/25
Nothing to do
__________________
My Website
http://raghu.buildtolearn.net
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21st April 2005, 08:22 PM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,465
Look at this page
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Toshiba Satellite C650D - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium Power output bust.

Last edited by Finalzone; 21st April 2005 at 08:23 PM. Reason: Fixed tag
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
problem, smartpm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Smartpm ntthuc Using Fedora 0 6th September 2006 09:30 AM
Smartpm pawel.stolowski Using Fedora 2 21st April 2006 08:29 PM
smartpm problem Gallan Using Fedora 0 11th October 2005 09:09 PM
SmartPM problems rlevitin Using Fedora 7 12th July 2005 03:14 AM
SMARTPM and FC4 Avix Using Fedora 1 30th June 2005 07:00 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:51 (Tuesday, 22-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat