Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 21st April 2005, 12:01 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Yes, everyone agreed the problem was in your home dir. I guess we should have suggested trying a new user (and so a new home directory) earlier. Congratulations on sorting out your problem.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22nd April 2005, 01:46 AM
Raafi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
andy

question

why, if i am completely formatting a new installation, would there be any traces of my old name? (i am trying to learn the inners of my computer)
__________________
Just Passin Thru......
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22nd April 2005, 08:31 AM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Unless you do actually select to format a new filesystem, the "new installation" option in anaconda (the installer program) does NOT trash what was there before. In fact it actively looks at the RPMs you had installed in the previous install and will not replace ones that were newer than the ones on the install CDs!

Therefore /home/raafi survived the install completely intact, and whatever was wrong in there survived too. The howto you followed was about avoiding that situation for program files and libraries, so it moved the old ones out of the way, but it was not imagining problems in /home.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22nd April 2005, 11:41 AM
Raafi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
well thanks andy, and everyone else, you've been a great help

i gotta get used to this fc3 name (i feel like r2d2)
__________________
Just Passin Thru......
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 22nd April 2005, 11:46 AM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
You're welcome. Nothing stops you renaming your old home dir

mv /home/raafi /home/raffi-dead

userdel raafi

and then

adduser raafi
passwd raafi

and you can be yourself again!
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 23rd April 2005, 12:54 AM
Raafi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
i was thinking of that, but i figured the old stuff would come back and haunt me

you think this suggestion is the end-all to this saga?

i am at work now, so i am on windows xp, but when i get home i will try it,

but as i am thinking thru, what if it doesnt find a /home/raafi to mv? because it doesnt show any other users than fc3 (shudders, i hate that name)
__________________
Just Passin Thru......
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 23rd April 2005, 04:25 AM
Raafi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
andy

says no such directory as /home/raafi
__________________
Just Passin Thru......
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 23rd April 2005, 08:40 AM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
ls -l /home

If that doesn't show a raafi directory then I guess you're ready to recreate your cyber-raafi since the old home dir is nuked or already moved.
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2nd June 2005, 03:32 PM
jamie112 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
I had the same problem with Ubuntu, what i did was switch to a terminal (ctrl + alt + f1) login as root and make a new user (adduser), and that worked for me, (although i later switched back to fc3 ).

-Jamie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lasted, seconds, session

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session failed with 'Your session only lasted less than 10 seconds bla bla...' ffhjeon Using Fedora 2 12th July 2008 11:14 AM
Your session lasted less than 10 seconds jeeves Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 10th November 2006 06:05 PM
Your session only lasted less than 10 seconds. If you have not logged out yourself, t designflaw Using Fedora 5 9th June 2006 06:42 PM
Your session only lasted less than 10 seconds LinuxLars Using Fedora 31 14th October 2004 04:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:31 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Igaracu do Tiete Travel Photos on Instagram - Emden Travel Photos on Instagram - Arnold Travel Photos