Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th April 2005, 11:02 PM
skolim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Smile anyone with a compaq evo n800c ??

after spending the whole day, on trying to configure the xorg.conf file(includes reading all posts here on the issue) on my lap i finally decided to ask someone for help. All i need is a nice xorg.conf file which will let my compaq evo n800c work in a normal resolution, if anyone here has one of these please please send me one here skolim69@hotmail.com or give me a link(sorry if this sounds cheeky).

thnx in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th April 2005, 11:26 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 40
Posts: 4,175
what is the problem?
do you have a graphics card?
onboard graphics?
resolution problem?
have tried (in gnome)
as root
Code:
 system-config-display
and changed the resolution, changed the display type etc????
what kernel are you using ?
Code:
uname -r
have you updated yet?
Code:
 yum update
Answers to these questions will get you a better reponse
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th April 2005, 12:49 AM
Varkk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 35
Posts: 287
On board graphics for this model should be a radeon7500. This is supported by the drivers which are included with X (Or at least works fine out of the box for RH9). Anywya, what is the resolution of your screen? on my one it is 1400x1050 and this is supported fine under RH9 if you just choose generic Laptop display for the monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th April 2005, 05:46 PM
skolim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
thanks for the fast replies,
to fedorajim
the graphic card is as Varkk said a radeon7500 and is recognized by the system, the laptop is updated up to date and has the 2.6.10-1.770_FC3 kernel. the problem is that i cant get a higher resolution than 1024x768@60Hz .
to Varkk yeah i chose a generic lcd panel at different resolutions but that didnt seem to work under fedora. i suppose ill start downloading redhat and see if i get the same problem !
thnx guys
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th April 2005, 12:16 AM
Varkk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 35
Posts: 287
Maybe just try hand editing the xorg.conf to only have the native resolution of your laptop screen.
Look for this part of the /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Code:
Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Videocard0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection
Then edit the line with modes to only have '1400x1050' or whatever resolution your screen displays normally. then save and restart X. (you need to be root to edit this file)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th April 2005, 09:23 AM
skolim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
hi varkk could please try and check your resolution here http://www.astalavista.net/v2/?cmd=net
cause i installed RH9 and have chosen the settings as you did and i bet my life that its stll only 1024x768 which the above link proved, even though the resolution is chosen to be 1400x1050 in the display settings. i now have completly no idea what might be wrong <confused>?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th April 2005, 09:48 AM
skolim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
right ill just add these if anyone cares to look at them, my new config file since im running red hat 9 and the logs:

http://www.skolim69.prv.pl/XFree86.0.log
http://www.skolim69.prv.pl/XF86Config

yeah Varkk ill try to do the only '1400x1050'thing but i doubt that will work since it didnt help under fedora.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th April 2005, 11:59 AM
skolim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
hey i just wanted to appologise to everyone for starting this thread (maybe some good moderator will delete it)
im really stupid next time i get a laptop ill look better at the specs stupid stupid stupid
now ill go back to using fedora kind'a liked it better than RH

once again sorry and thanks for all the help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compaq, evo, n800c

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install ndiswrapper on Fedora 10 (Compaq Evo N800c laptop) suffa07 Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 0 13th April 2009 04:37 PM
LTModem on Evo n800c Laptop -- Please help a n00b... noodlenoggin Hardware & Laptops 0 28th June 2006 01:32 PM
LTModem on Compaq n800c - Please help a n00b... noodlenoggin Hardware & Laptops 0 28th June 2006 01:25 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:25 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Mossendjo Photos - Sidhi - Cape Verde