Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th March 2005, 06:59 AM
robghealey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA
Age: 44
Posts: 455
Angry FC4 fresh install--i386-test1

Greetings everyone--

I downloaded the test1 isos and installed the os. I had no problems with the install, but neither gnome nor kde would load. I could get failsafe terminal to work, but nothing else. I guess it might be too bleeding edge with test1 to be usable!!!

Anyone else have same problems or not?
__________________
Sincerely,
Rob

"Deliberately choose to surround yourself with people that inspire you to greatness!"
  #2  
Old 18th March 2005, 07:41 AM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
You are closer than you may think.

Logon to the root and wait for 1/2 hour.

.i The gdm (a mouse diamon?) has a cpu loop but an update is waiting. Update that first.
ii. The Gnome may have session bugs of which are waiting and one of the bugs is slow startup waiting for them to time out.

Option 2.
If you can get internet access at the failsafe term or telinit 3.
yum update gdm
then yum update all # what ever the command format for that may be.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
  #3  
Old 23rd March 2005, 10:23 AM
mndar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,102
I installed FC4 test 1 , needless to say there were a few problems

1> I wan't able to install FC4 test 1 from the ISOs that i downloaded, so i had to burn them first. This is what happens, after selecting Hard Drive install, I am prompted to specify the partition and the directory. After doing that, I get an error message saying that 'Fedora Core ISOs were not found'. FYI: I always install FC3 using the Hard Drive install method. I have no clue why it didn't work this time.

2>WHERE IS the KDE Control Center in FC4 test 1?
Check out this link https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedo.../msg00332.html
Can I install it using Konstruct or by some other method ?

3> I start the machine in runlevel 3 and then start the X-server. This works fine. But now if i log out from my X session, I am stuck with a blank screen. NO, the system doesn't hang. I can still issue commands and they are executed!! If i give a command like 'startx', the X session starts but i cannot view the part when i type in 'startx'. After the X server starts, everything works fine!

4> Alrite I started the X-session, upon pressing Ctrl+Alt+F[1-6] , i get the same blank screen as above.

Is anyone else facing similar problems ?

My configuration is:
P4 2.6HT
512 MB DDR (400Mhz) Dual Channel
Intel 865GBF Motherboard
__________________
GStreamer XOverlay and VideoOverlay http://mndar.phpnet.us/gstreamer
  #4  
Old 23rd March 2005, 07:02 PM
jarifed Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 174
Quote:
1> I wan't able to install FC4 test 1 from the ISOs that i downloaded, so i had to burn them first. This is what happens, after selecting Hard Drive install, I am prompted to specify the partition and the directory. After doing that, I get an error message saying that 'Fedora Core ISOs were not found'. FYI: I always install FC3 using the Hard Drive install method. I have no clue why it didn't work this time.
The installation from a hard disk is broken.

Also the CD media test is broken

part 2 I can't help I am using GDM

Quote:
3> I start the machine in runlevel 3 and then start the X-server.
Did you upgraded gdm as in the earlier post??

Jarifed
  #5  
Old 24th March 2005, 06:36 PM
johnfg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
I, too, am having big problems getting FC4 test1 to run correctly after install. I can't get the network running, because it's looking for gnomevfs, which is there, but can't find it or use it or something like that. So, how can I update anything if I can't get out!

John
  #6  
Old 24th March 2005, 08:09 PM
mndar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,102
same here, can't get system-config-network to start. some gnomevfs error.
anyways you can configure your LAN card using

ifconfig eth0 <ip-addr> netmask <sub-net>
__________________
GStreamer XOverlay and VideoOverlay http://mndar.phpnet.us/gstreamer
  #7  
Old 24th March 2005, 08:44 PM
jarifed Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 174
update gnome-python-vfs

There has been allready a lot of updates (395) for what I have installed!

Jarifed
 

Tags
fc4, fresh, installi386test1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fresh f7 i386 installation , yum doesn't work carlainz Using Fedora 7 3rd September 2007 04:32 PM
FC6 Test1 and XGL: How To install? sev7en Using Fedora 5 12th September 2006 01:25 AM
Fresh i386 FC4 install hangs at boot. jtopping EOL (End Of Life) Versions 5 4th July 2005 10:08 PM
FC2-test1 reboot loop on install fail jelks Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 26th June 2004 03:52 PM
reboot loop on install FC2-test1 jelks Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 26th March 2004 04:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:18 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat