<---- template headericclude ----->
Do I want a server install or Workstation?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Do I want a server install or Workstation?

I will be running Tomcat 5 and Oracle 10g. I'm not going to be using this machine for actual serving, I just want to learn SQL and JSP (and linux at the same time ugh). It seems like installing a workstation setup would be easier, but do I need to install as a server?

Thanx,
    Keith

elasticwings Guest
    I would do a custom install and select whatever packages you deem necessary. You can always go back and add them later of course.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I neglected to mention that I am a total beginner with Linux. I don't know what packages I need.
    Thanx Keith

Quella Guest
    I agree that a custom way is the right way to go, if you know the given packages you need. If you are not sure, and you have enough HD space, I would do an EVERYTHING install.

Quella

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by elasticwings
    I would do a custom install and select whatever packages you deem necessary. You can always go back and add them later of course.
    I think whatever install you go for, you get to choose to customise the choices before the install actually begins.
    I think a simple server install does not have a GUI front end, which may not be that nice if your new to Linux, or command lines.

If your not actually serving from that machine, I think I would just go for a customised workstation install, that way you have a system you can use for everyday computing, like browsing the web, checking your email, playing games perhaps, or using open office.

Yes you can choose a custom server install, but like you said your new to linux, so a custom workstation install (in my opinion) is your best bet.