Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd March 2005, 05:11 PM
mha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bahrain
Age: 53
Posts: 124
Can yum run automatically ?

Good day community,
I find it difficult or maybe impractical to run yum manually evryday or let say regulary. Can I configure it to run automatically daily ? eg by means of crontab . I have no idea how to strat crontab activities, I am just a noob.

regards,
mha
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd March 2005, 05:15 PM
tscheez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fairport, NY (Rochester)
Age: 36
Posts: 113
Yes, it is possible to run yum nightly, you will still have to reboot for the kernel updates.

service yum start

chkconfig --level 3 yum on
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd March 2005, 06:16 PM
PeTzZz Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tartu
Posts: 1,550
You can also do it with a nice gui: System Settings-->Server Settings-->Services.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd March 2005, 10:04 AM
mha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bahrain
Age: 53
Posts: 124
Does this mean I have to leave the system running all night every night ? I usually shutdown the system after I finish my work; I use this machine for 1 to 3 hours daily only when I'am home.

mha
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd March 2005, 08:27 PM
tscheez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fairport, NY (Rochester)
Age: 36
Posts: 113
as far as i know cron will run jobs it missed while a computer was off. I am not sure about this (my computers are always on) can someone confirm?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th March 2005, 07:48 AM
foolish Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aalesund, Norway
Age: 27
Posts: 1,888
If you start the yum nightly update service and only that, it will only run at night. But there's another service called anacron that will make sure cronjobs are run, even if the computer is shut of when the cron job is executed. This means that anacron will make sure the update gets done during the time the computer is turned on.

So, in system-config-services, enable yum and anacron.
__________________
Sindre Pedersen Bjørdal || http://www.fedorasolved.org || Hardware Profile
- Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th March 2005, 04:22 AM
vincentgan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30
Hi, I have two Linux FC2, and I enable both yum and anacron and confirm both service are running.
But I found that 1 of the machine always doesn't update automatically, e.g kernel update. What can I check further?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automatically, run, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I log in automatically, imksa Using Fedora 3 13th April 2009 12:59 PM
How to start X automatically white.rabbit Using Fedora 1 3rd June 2008 09:00 AM
X doesn't run automatically :( nutter426 Using Fedora 2 25th January 2008 10:19 AM
How to run source automatically? kqyym Using Fedora 3 19th September 2005 03:50 AM
updatedb not done automatically in FC4 CrystalCowboy Using Fedora 3 23rd August 2005 08:21 PM


Current GMT-time: 06:31 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat