Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th February 2005, 03:11 PM
STEVE555 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 104
Thumbs down Yum Srpms

Hi everyone,
I am a regular visitor to this forum and I find it a fantastic resource to all sorts of problems and advice.However,I been trying to download the source-coed for my kernel(2.6.10-1.760_FC3) using yum and up2date.When I try the command "yum install kernel-source" it reports back it hasnothing to do. I also tried "up2date --get-souce kernel" but I feel it doesn't download it correctly,(I see the hash marks move too fast so i'm sure it hasn't downloaded the entire rpm because I know it is 39mb in size).

I have the latest yum.conf in /etc/ from http://fedorafaq.org and would be very grateful if someone can tell me a baseurl to use (e.g livna,redhat,etc) so I can edit my yum.conf and put it in to point it to the source rpms.

Regerds,STEVE555
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th February 2005, 04:35 PM
Evert Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Thailand ( i wish )
Posts: 317
for as far as i know, a source code for kernel in FC3 is no longer needed, nor available.

Evert
__________________
Linux box 1= sempron 3000+, 1Gb mem, 60Gb hd, 128Mb nvidia, FC5
linux box 2 = Pentium 4 2.0Ghz, 768Mb mem, 80GB hd, 256Mb ati, 2003 server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th February 2005, 05:11 PM
STEVE555 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 104
Smile

Hi Evert,
I know the source rpm does exsit,I have found it at http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pu...dates/3/SRPMS/

The reason why I want it is because I want to use the latest A.T.I. drivers for my graphics card.
I have read the A.T.I. website and it recommends that you must have the kernel source installed.
I have looked at the Livna unstable repository,but they haven't updated their rpms to the latest drivers (I'm not sure when they are going to either).

I could do a "yum install ati-fglrx kernel-module-fglrx-`(uname -r)` " but I know that yum will point to the old ones and I know I will run into problems

I just need some guidance on howto add the SRPMS repo's

Regards,Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th February 2005, 05:55 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,207
Steve, here's a link to installing it: http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthr...nstall+src+rpm
Here's also a bunch of different locations for it: http://www.google.com/search?q=2.6.1...en-US:official

I'll contradict my own advice to 100 other people and say that this time, skip Yum and just use the RPM install as described in the link.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
srpms, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SRPMS or Non SRPMS? StressTest Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 16th May 2005 11:56 AM
srpms armen Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 7th March 2005 10:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:25 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro Photos - The Superpit Kalgoorlie Photos