Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th March 2004, 01:30 PM
ndha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
how to change my login shell

hi all,

I've just upgrade from RH9 to Fedora 1. Everything seems fine but now I can't change my shell to tcsh.
I use the command `chsh' to change the shell to /bin/tcsh. It was ok. However, when i run tcsh command, it turns out that my shell is still bash. I check the $SHELL variable and find that it is still bash. I tried `chsh', it says that my shell is already tcsh (no change) :-( Please let me know how I can change this.

Another problem is that when I type `su' at the command line, I am in root (and have root priviledge) but the prompt doesn't change to root@. Do you know why it is that ?

thank you.
suzy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th March 2004, 02:25 PM
foolish Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aalesund, Norway
Age: 30
Posts: 1,888
Use su -, not su, to become root, su only changes to root permissions, su - (with the -) changes the enviroment to root. (Or something like that, I really have no idea :P)

Start memorizing: su -, su -. su -,


Default shell can be set for each user using redhat-config-users which is also found at the hat > System Settings > Users

If you're in text mode or lazy use:
Code:
usermod -s /bin/tcsh username
__________________
Sindre Pedersen Bjørdal || http://www.fedorasolved.org || Hardware Profile
- Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.

Last edited by foolish; 13th March 2004 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th March 2004, 02:32 PM
ndha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Yes, I did check the user setting. My account (the only one in my computer) is set to use tcsh but the shell still remains bash whenever I open a terminal.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th March 2004, 03:43 PM
mhelios Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Queensland, AU
Posts: 738
Try adding
Code:
export SHELL=/bin/tcsh
to your ~/.bash_profile or ~/.bashrc
__________________
mhelios@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 348963
GnuPG KeyID: 0xCE9F8922
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th March 2004, 05:05 PM
SuperNu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 617
You could also run /usr/bin/redhat-config-users to edit your user account or you could edit /etc/passwd and change the shell there.

--SN
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th March 2010, 09:44 AM
GMLink Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: how to change my login shell

I have the same issue; cannot change shell from /bash to /tcsh.

I have tried all commands listed here and the message I recieve is still "Shell not changed".

Anyone know how to resolve this minor issue?

/etc/shells has the following:

/bin/sh
/bin/bash
/sbin/nologin
/bin/tcsh
/bin/csh

Cheers,

GM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th March 2010, 11:25 AM
stevea
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: how to change my login shell

Congrats on bumping an ancient thread - may be a new record.

Quote:
[stevea@nidula ~]$ chsh -l
/bin/sh
/bin/bash
/sbin/nologin
/bin/zsh
/bin/tcsh
/bin/csh
[stevea@nidula ~]$ chsh -s /bin/tcsh
Changing shell for stevea.
Password: ######
Shell changed.
[stevea@nidula ~]$
[stevea@nidula ~]$ grep stevea /etc/passwd
stevea:x:520:520:stevea:/home/stevea:/bin/tcsh
"######' is where I entered my passwd.

AFTER you do the above then logout and log back in.
Quote:
[stevea@nidula ~]$ echo $SHELL
/bin/tcsh
So I don't understand your problem. Post the EXACT results if this fails.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th March 2010, 11:36 AM
GMLink Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Smile Re: how to change my login shell

That did it , Thanks Steve.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, login, shell

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
login window "can i change my login screen in fedora 10 oshan1991 Using Fedora 15 31st October 2009 12:11 PM
How to change login prompt so user must type login name (instead of select from list) DennyCrane Using Fedora 1 29th May 2008 04:34 AM
How do I change my default shell? youhaodeyi Using Fedora 3 8th October 2007 03:55 AM
To have a shell (instead of KDE) first login? grautu Using Fedora 1 4th September 2005 10:22 PM
change icon from shell Igoraus Using Fedora 7 20th October 2004 09:55 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:42 (Tuesday, 25-07-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat