Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st February 2005, 05:15 PM
atv087 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Angry windows wont boot anymore

hey i have linux and windows on seperate drives and i had to reformat windows after i did that there was no grub so i did linux rescue and got grub back now it just says loading windows in 3 .. 2.. 1.. 0.. and then it does it all over again it wont load up windows
anyone have any ideas on how to fix this??



thanks
jay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st February 2005, 07:02 PM
terr9898 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 194
Look in /etc/grub.conf. Check in the Windows section, is the root (it may also be rootnoverify) parameter looking at the right drive, partition ID. My section says: rootnoverify (hd0,0) -- looks at the first Hard drive, first partition.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st February 2005, 09:32 PM
atv087 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
ok i tried a few different combinations they didnt work any other ideas

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd1,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=2
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core (2.6.9-1.667smp)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667smp ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-1.667smp.img
title Fedora Core-up (2.6.9-1.667)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img
title WINDOWS
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader +1


thats what my grub.conf shows ive tride hd0,0 and hd0,2 they both dont work one keeps reloading the bootloader the other says partition doesnt exist
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st February 2005, 10:32 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
This is the correct entry in the grub for windows.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st February 2005, 10:51 PM
atv087 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
well i added those to the grub.conf and now when i boot it says

Windows
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader +1
Grub_
and then it just sticks there
any idea what i should do i know your post says 1,0 but thats the other hard drive this one with fedora on it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd February 2005, 06:00 PM
atv087 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
someone please help i cant access any of my files that i have on my other drive because its ntfs and i cant get on windows to change it to fat 32 so i can mount it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd February 2005, 06:05 PM
ogetbilo Offline
RPMFusion Dev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: PA
Age: 35
Posts: 466
I had the same problem in my laptop. I tried many things.
The only solution I found was abandoning windoze for good and giving my second partition it's freedom
I'm glad I did that.
__________________
oget, the "Pulse against"

Thnigs that rule: Angelina, TKT, Linux, Supergravity, Alcohol...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd February 2005, 06:06 PM
terr9898 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 194
You didn't specify which Windows is installed on the other drive so I am assuming XP. You can reset the MBR( Master Boot Record): With the XP disc inserted, boot the machine, select the Repair option and fix the MBR.

Afterwards, you can use the Fedora Rescue cd to set the grub loader.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd February 2005, 06:08 PM
terr9898 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 194
To access NTFS drives from linux, look at the drivers from the http://linux-ntfs.sf.net project
They have RPMs for Fedora so installing should be easy. Review the guide before starting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd February 2005, 06:15 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
Which hd is primary and which is slave? are they IDE hd's?
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd February 2005, 05:55 PM
atv087 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
ok my windows is on my main hard drive hda it says theres 2 windows partitions thought which i dont know what is about. the main windows and the boot is on hda2 though and also i dont have a rescue cd or a windows xp cd i have a sony vaio and it uses the f10 or f12 for system restore and that wont work with the grub on there. So basically im thinking im sol. Then Fedora core 3 is on hdb and i believe it has 2 partitions.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4th February 2005, 02:46 AM
Spookster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marion, IA USA
Age: 40
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by atv087
ok my windows is on my main hard drive hda it says theres 2 windows partitions thought which i dont know what is about. the main windows and the boot is on hda2 though and also i dont have a rescue cd or a windows xp cd i have a sony vaio and it uses the f10 or f12 for system restore and that wont work with the grub on there. So basically im thinking im sol. Then Fedora core 3 is on hdb and i believe it has 2 partitions.
Then go to www.bootdisk.com and download what you need to boot XP. Then do what terr9898 suggested and recreate your MBR.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th February 2005, 02:44 PM
atv087 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
eh **** it thanks for your help guys im just using linux fulltime for now fedora core 3 and suse 9.1 on the 2 harddrives i have

any idea how to edit the grub.conf on fedora to boot suse?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th February 2005, 05:23 PM
multiboot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Excelsior, Minnesota
Age: 55
Posts: 25
Does this tell me you formatted the drive windows was on???

Quote:
i had to reformat windows after i did that there was no gru
Multiboot
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th February 2005, 06:22 AM
prashant Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
atv087 did u just formatted the drive on which u prior had windows may b u could have go it fixed -- the problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anymore, boot, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows partition and cd wont boot now ofblong Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 2nd June 2008 03:54 PM
windows wont boot - need to back up via Linux PC_Nerd Using Fedora 9 19th August 2007 09:10 AM
will not boot windows anymore pescobar Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 1st June 2005 09:05 AM
windows wont boot (part2) Fertis Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 21st September 2004 09:01 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:56 (Friday, 19-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat