Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th January 2005, 09:17 PM
willeubanks Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
What?? Discs 2, 3, 4 reading as Discs 6, 7, 8

I downloaded FC3 ISO's 1, 2, 3 and 4 from various mirror sites linked from the Fedora page and all of them checked out with md5 checksum. Problem is, when I get into the install, the last 3 discs are reading as discs 6, 7 and 8, which means I can't do anything requiring more than disc 1 because I get a "That is not the correct Fedora CDROM" message. Has anyone ever seen this? I've searched these forums and google and haven't found a similar situation. I'll try downloading some different images, but I don't see why that'd be the problem if they checkoud out with md5. Anyone know? Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th January 2005, 12:47 AM
SuperNu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 617
Just wondering, but did you download iso images named similar to FC3-i386-disc1.iso or FC3-i386-SRPMS-disc1.iso? If you downloaded isos similar to the latter, then you have the source rpms and not the binary rpms.

--SN
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th January 2005, 02:23 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Try downloading the MD5SUM file to your iso directory and running
Code:
md5sum -c MD5SUM
Should check them all, the file names are in it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th January 2005, 06:03 AM
willeubanks Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperNu
Just wondering, but did you download iso images named similar to FC3-i386-disc1.iso or FC3-i386-SRPMS-disc1.iso? If you downloaded isos similar to the latter, then you have the source rpms and not the binary rpms.

--SN
yep, turns out that's what i did. haha. so i got the right ISO's and stuff and got FC3 all loaded up, but for some reason GRUB was freezing when i reboot my computer and wouldn't let me boot from either OS. luckily i know more about windows than linux and was able to use recovery console to rewrite my MBR. so how do i make GRUB work or is there a better boot program that someone would reccomend?

PS - i have linux and XP installed on two seperate hard drives, so do i need to create a /boot partition on the FC3 drive? i thought i would be able to load it from the other hard drives MBR, but i'm not so sure now. that's also where i installed GRUB to - the XP MBR that is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
discs, reading

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD-rom not auto-mounting/reading discs in Fedora 10 solidex Hardware & Laptops 9 13th September 2009 09:53 PM
CD-RW Discs FONTAINBLEAU Hardware & Laptops 3 19th May 2008 04:43 PM
Bad Discs batbike Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 12th March 2006 05:48 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:38 (Tuesday, 25-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Banfora Photos on Instagram - Chishmy - Tsimlyansk