Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th June 2004, 04:29 AM
ivaldes1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Where to get X help?

Hello all, X doesn't start on FC2, giving errors. What is the best place to get help for this?

-- IV
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th June 2004, 04:35 AM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
post the errors here and you might get help
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th June 2004, 04:48 AM
ivaldes1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Thank you for your reply. Here's my shortened x.log b/c it wouldn't allow the whole thing. I've attached the whole thing:

<snip>
(II) LoadModule: "dbe"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdbe.a
(II) Module dbe: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.0
Module class: X.Org Server Extension
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension DOUBLE-BUFFER
(II) LoadModule: "extmod"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libextmod.a
(II) Module extmod: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.0
Module class: X.Org Server Extension
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension SHAPE
(II) Loading extension MIT-SUNDRY-NONSTANDARD
(II) Loading extension BIG-REQUESTS
(II) Loading extension SYNC
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
(II) Loading extension XC-MISC
(II) Loading extension XFree86-VidModeExtension
(II) Loading extension XFree86-Misc
(II) Loading extension XFree86-DGA
(II) Loading extension DPMS
(II) Loading extension FontCache
(II) Loading extension TOG-CUP
(II) Loading extension Extended-Visual-Information
(II) Loading extension XVideo
(II) Loading extension XVideo-MotionCompensation
(II) Loading extension X-Resource
(II) LoadModule: "fbdevhw"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/linux/libfbdevhw.a
(II) Module fbdevhw: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 0.0.2
ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a
(II) Module glx: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading sub module "GLcore"
(II) LoadModule: "GLcore"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a
(II) Module GLcore: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension GLX
(II) LoadModule: "record"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/librecord.a
(II) Module record: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.13.0
Module class: X.Org Server Extension
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension RECORD
(II) LoadModule: "freetype"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libfreetype.so
(II) Module freetype: vendor="X.Org Foundation & the After X-TT Project"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 2.1.0
Module class: X.Org Font Renderer
ABI class: X.Org Font Renderer, version 0.4
(II) Loading font FreeType
(II) LoadModule: "type1"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libtype1.a
(II) Module type1: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.2
Module class: X.Org Font Renderer
ABI class: X.Org Font Renderer, version 0.4
(II) Loading font Type1
(II) Loading font CID
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a
(II) Module dri: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading sub module "drm"
(II) LoadModule: "drm"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/linux/libdrm.a
(II) Module drm: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.2
(II) Loading extension XFree86-DRI
(II) LoadModule: "radeon"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.o
(II) Module radeon: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 4.0.1
Module class: X.Org Video Driver
ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
(II) LoadModule: "ati"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/ati_drv.o
(II) Module ati: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 6.5.6
Module class: X.Org Video Driver
ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 0.7
(II) LoadModule: "mouse"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/input/mouse_drv.o
(II) Module mouse: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 6.7.0, module version = 1.0.0
Module class: X.Org XInput Driver
ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.4
(II) ATI: ATI driver (version 6.5.6) for chipsets: ati, ativga
(II) R128: Driver for ATI Rage 128 chipsets:
ATI Rage 128 Mobility M3 LE (PCI), ATI Rage 128 Mobility M3 LF (AGP),
ATI Rage 128 Mobility M4 MF (AGP), ATI Rage 128 Mobility M4 ML (AGP),
ATI Rage 128 Pro GL PA (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro GL PB (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro GL PC (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro GL PD (PCI),
ATI Rage 128 Pro GL PE (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro GL PF (AGP),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PG (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PH (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PI (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PJ (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PK (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PL (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PM (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PN (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PO (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PP (PCI),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PQ (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PR (PCI),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PS (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PT (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PU (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PV (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PW (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro VR PX (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 GL RE (PCI), ATI Rage 128 GL RF (AGP),
ATI Rage 128 RG (AGP), ATI Rage 128 VR RK (PCI),
ATI Rage 128 VR RL (AGP), ATI Rage 128 4X SE (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 4X SF (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 4X SG (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 4X SH (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 4X SK (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 4X SL (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 4X SM (AGP),
ATI Rage 128 4X SN (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF (AGP),
ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TL (AGP), ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TR (AGP),
ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TS (AGP?), ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TT (AGP?),
ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TU (AGP?)
(II) RADEON: Driver for ATI Radeon chipsets: ATI Radeon QD (AGP),
ATI Radeon QE (AGP), ATI Radeon QF (AGP), ATI Radeon QG (AGP),
ATI Radeon VE/7000 QY (AGP/PCI), ATI Radeon VE/7000 QZ (AGP/PCI),
ATI Radeon Mobility M7 LW (AGP),
ATI Mobility FireGL 7800 M7 LX (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility M6 LY (AGP), ATI Radeon Mobility M6 LZ (AGP),
ATI Radeon IGP320 (A3) 4136, ATI Radeon IGP320M (U1) 4336,
ATI Radeon IGP330/340/350 (A4) 4137,
ATI Radeon IGP330M/340M/350M (U2) 4337,
ATI Radeon 7000 IGP (A4+) 4237, ATI Radeon Mobility 7000 IGP 4437,
ATI FireGL 8700/8800 QH (AGP), ATI Radeon 8500 QL (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9100 QM (AGP), ATI Radeon 8500 AIW BB (AGP),
ATI Radeon 8500 AIW BC (AGP), ATI Radeon 7500 QW (AGP/PCI),
ATI Radeon 7500 QX (AGP/PCI), ATI Radeon 9000/PRO If (AGP/PCI),
ATI Radeon 9000 Ig (AGP/PCI), ATI FireGL Mobility 9000 (M9) Ld (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility 9000 (M9) Lf (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility 9000 (M9) Lg (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9100 IGP (A5) 5834,
ATI Radeon Mobility 9100 IGP (U3) 5835,
ATI Radeon 9200PRO 5960 (AGP), ATI Radeon 9200 5961 (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9200 5962 (AGP), ATI Radeon 9200SE 5964 (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility 9200 (M9+) 5C61 (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility 9200 (M9+) 5C63 (AGP), ATI Radeon 9500 AD (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9500 AE (AGP), ATI Radeon 9600TX AF (AGP),
ATI FireGL Z1 AG (AGP), ATI Radeon 9700 Pro ND (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9700/9500Pro NE (AGP), ATI Radeon 9700 NF (AGP),
ATI FireGL X1 NG (AGP), ATI Radeon 9600 AP (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9600SE AQ (AGP), ATI Radeon 9600XT AR (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9600 AS (AGP), ATI FireGL T2 AT (AGP),
ATI FireGL RV360 AV (AGP), ATI Radeon Mobility 9600 (M10) NP (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility 9600 (M10) NQ (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility 9600 (M11) NR (AGP),
ATI Radeon Mobility 9600 (M10) NS (AGP),
ATI FireGL Mobility T2 (M10) NT (AGP),
ATI FireGL Mobility T2 (M11) NV (AGP), ATI Radeon 9800SE AH (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9800 AI (AGP), ATI Radeon 9800 AJ (AGP),
ATI FireGL X2 AK (AGP), ATI Radeon 9800PRO NH (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9800 NI (AGP), ATI FireGL X2 NK (AGP),
ATI Radeon 9800XT NJ (AGP)
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 00:0f:0
(WW) RADEON: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:0) found
(EE) No devices detected.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.X.Org
for help.
Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.0.log.txt (16.7 KB, 465 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th June 2004, 05:10 AM
Thoreau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age: 31
Posts: 410
Can you post your X cofiguration file?

should be in /etc/X11 as xorg.conf
__________________
Things do not change; we change.
HDT

"Do I understand your question, man, is it hopeless and forlorn?" Bob Dylan

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.
-- The Friends of Voltaire, 1906

My NcpMount script for Netware servers
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=544473&postcount=8
Thanks to: Brunson & Ibbo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th June 2004, 10:11 AM
ivaldes1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Here's my XF86Config file. This is a dual-head GE Force MX 200 PCI and a Radeon 7500 All-in-Wonder AGP. The .txt extension was added for upload. Thanks!

-- IV
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (4.6 KB, 817 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th June 2004, 02:45 AM
Thoreau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age: 31
Posts: 410
whew, i'm not sure. If i had this problem, i'd try each one on thier own, see if that worked. Then try both of them again. Or i would compile(from source) a new kernel to see if that fixed it. Hopfully someone else will help on this
__________________
Things do not change; we change.
HDT

"Do I understand your question, man, is it hopeless and forlorn?" Bob Dylan

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.
-- The Friends of Voltaire, 1906

My NcpMount script for Netware servers
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=544473&postcount=8
Thanks to: Brunson & Ibbo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th June 2004, 03:18 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
As root, run
Code:
Xorg -configure
This will write a new, autodetected xorg.conf to the directory you run the program from. You should not be in the /etc/X11 directory when you do this. You will then be given instructions on how to test the configuration (which I strongly recommend doing). Then it's a matter of finishing it off with your depth/modeline preferences and putting it in it's proper place.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th June 2004, 05:54 PM
ivaldes1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks for the information. I tried Xorg -configure but unfortunately the resulting file didn't work. However, I do understand now that my old XF86Config file that previously worked on RH9 isn't the one that is running for /etc/X11/ at all. I tried my previously working XF86Config file that used to work for RH 9 it and it didn't work either. Here's my current try xorg.conf and logfile. Thanks!

-- IV

xorg.conf.new:

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dri"
Load "vnc"
Load "dbe"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "glx"
Load "extmod"
Load "speedo"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 330 250 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "CPQ"
ModelName "COMPAQ S700"
HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
HorizSync 825307968.0 - 0.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 0.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 330 250 # mm
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "CPQ"
ModelName "COMPAQ S700"
HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
HorizSync 909194560.0 - 0.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 0.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "Rotate" # [<str>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "FlatPanel" # [<bool>]
#Option "FPDither" # [<bool>]
#Option "CrtcNumber" # <i>
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400]"
BusID "PCI:0:15:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac8Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "ForcePCIMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "BusType" # [<str>]
#Option "CPPIOMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "CPusecTimeout" # <i>
#Option "AGPMode" # <i>
#Option "AGPFastWrite" # [<bool>]
#Option "AGPSize" # <i>
#Option "GARTSize" # <i>
#Option "RingSize" # <i>
#Option "BufferSize" # <i>
#Option "EnableDepthMoves" # [<bool>]
#Option "EnablePageFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoBackBuffer" # [<bool>]
#Option "PanelOff" # [<bool>]
#Option "DDCMode" # [<bool>]
#Option "MonitorLayout" # [<str>]
#Option "IgnoreEDID" # [<bool>]
#Option "OverlayOnCRTC2" # [<bool>]
#Option "CloneMode" # [<str>]
#Option "CloneHSync" # [<str>]
#Option "CloneVRefresh" # [<str>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "DisplayPriority" # [<str>]
#Option "PanelSize" # [<str>]
#Option "ForceMinDotClock" # <freq>
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "ati"
VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
BoardName "Radeon RV200 QW [Radeon 7500]"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.0.log.txt (1.3 KB, 542 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th September 2005, 03:31 AM
petrulp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Unhappy I have exactly same error

I have a ATI Radeon 9600SE and I got same error "no screens found" and my X11 log file looks exactly like yours.
I also can't mount the Windows partition getting the message ntfs parttion not suportted.
It is my first instalation and I am kind in big trouble . I am wonderin how I will install my WLAN card on my desktop
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th September 2005, 11:36 AM
Twey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 867
The logfile is mentioning an ATI device, yet the config file specifies an NVIDIA device. Could this be the problem?
__________________
Twey
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29th November 2005, 05:08 AM
oneninefive Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Hello there, I am new with Fedora Cora 4. I am trying to switch to Linux from Windows XP and just installed FC4 for my 4th time. The problem I have is related to the display setting. It seems like FC4 is set up correctly for my NEC MultiSync LCD1530V monitor, but I am unable to see anything on the screen when FC4 is running. The screen shows up scrambled with weird colors and I can barely make out the words "Fedora" running across the screen.

I suspect it is because of my video card, but have not been able to find much help on that issue. My video card is All-In-Wonder 128 Pro Ultra AGP. I do not use the root command, I use the graphic interface to set up my FC4 on my computer.

Thanks in advance if someone can help me out.
__________________
--
oneninefive
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 15:11 (Saturday, 26-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat