Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th March 2004, 10:09 PM
god Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
CD drive

I decided to post here, because the problem escaleted in FC 2.

I have got a Samsung SN-324B Combo Drive in my notebook. I've the problem that I can't open CDs very often. I tried to mount manually but it doesn't help. The Drive-Manager of KDE 3.2 didn't help too. Sometimes I've to umount and sometimes not. This is very strange and I don't know what to do.
Is there a kernel option or something else?
  #2  
Old 6th March 2004, 03:52 AM
Bana Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 27
Posts: 581
In FC2 (and all 2.6 kernels) you must make sure that Grub is not booting with hda=ide-scsi or somesuch. The ide-scsi has been deprecated and so just remove this line from grub and reinstall: vim /etc/grub.conf and /sbin/grub-installer /dev/hd<a-z>

Also, try mounting your drive manually to see what error messages pop up: mount /dev/cdrom

Good Luck!
__________________
http://coolhands.blogspot.com/
binarybana AT gmail.com
  #3  
Old 6th March 2004, 12:22 PM
god Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
my grub.conf looks like this:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You do not have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
# root (hd0,2)
# kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda3
# initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd0,2)/boot/grub/handy_128.bmp
title Fedora Core (2.6.3-1.118)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.3-1.118 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb acpi=on
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.3-1.118.img
title Fedora Core (2.6.1-1.65)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.1-1.65 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb acpi=on
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.1-1.65.img
title Other
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
  #4  
Old 7th March 2004, 12:20 PM
god Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom shows this:

/dev/hdc: Eingabe-/Ausgabefehler
mount: blockorientiertes Gerät /dev/hdc ist schreibgeschützt, wird eingehängt im Nur-Lese-Modus
/dev/hdc: Eingabe-/Ausgabefehler
mount: /dev/hdc ist bereits eingehängt oder /mnt/cdrom wird gerade benutzt

i try to translate :-) :
/dev/hdc: I/O-Error
mount: block ?? device /dev/hdc is write protected and is mounted in read-only mode
/dev/hdc: I/O - Error
mount: /dev/hdc is already mounted or /mnt/cdrom is in use

I hope that I translated correct!
  #5  
Old 9th March 2004, 02:30 AM
Bana Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 27
Posts: 581
It sounds like it is already mounted and/or it is mounted in read only mode. Post your /etc/fstab and /etc/mtab here to see if that can clarify the situation a little better.

Can you also clarify the exact problem you are having as well? I don't know if I grasp the issue entirely, thx.
__________________
http://coolhands.blogspot.com/
binarybana AT gmail.com
  #6  
Old 11th March 2004, 01:31 PM
god Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
My exact problem is, that i can't mount my CD-Drive very often. It only works sometimes. If I start K3B, it freezes when it's searching for CD Drives!
I don't know what to do and I'm sure that I mount correctly.

/etc/mtab:

/dev/hda3 / ext3 rw 0 0
none /proc proc rw 0 0
none /sys sysfs rw 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts rw,gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
/dev/hda4 /home ext3 rw 0 0
/dev/hda1 /windows/C vfat rw,uid=500,gid=500 0 0
/dev/hda5 /windows/D vfat rw,uid=500,gid=500 0 0

/etc/fstab:
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults 1 2
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,unhide,user,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/hda1 /windows/C vfat defaults,uid=500,gid=500 0 0
/dev/hda5 /windows/D vfat defaults,uid=500,gid=500 0 0
  #7  
Old 16th March 2004, 07:36 PM
god Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
Does anyone have a solution!
  #8  
Old 16th March 2004, 11:16 PM
Bana Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 27
Posts: 581
Quote:
/etc/fstab:
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults 1 2
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,unhide,user,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/hda1 /windows/C vfat defaults,uid=500,gid=500 0 0
/dev/hda5 /windows/D vfat defaults,uid=500,gid=500 0 0
Hmm this is a Cdburner correct? In that case you don't want to have the entry ro as that means read only, that would explain why k3b is crashing (I guess) as it is a cd WRITING program.

Here is my fstab line for my cdburner if you wish to try this:
Code:
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom              udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
Hmm, it seems that I have the ro line too... I guess try using my line instead of yours and see if that works and then try removing the ro. HTH
__________________
http://coolhands.blogspot.com/
binarybana AT gmail.com
 

Tags
drive

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade FC9 to FC10 on Sata Drive - Installer not recognising Drive partitions, Dastekcom Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 28th November 2008 08:00 AM
Installing to a USB Flash Drive and using the drive and a normal hard drive beeball Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 23rd March 2008 05:45 AM
Move a Linux drive from drive 1 to drive 0 n7yg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 5th February 2007 02:26 AM
SATA Drive Issues, WD drive, VT8237 onboard controller dlfuqu Hardware & Laptops 3 22nd October 2006 08:48 AM
HOWTO install FDC3 on storage drive w/ winxp on raid 0 sys drive rook1976 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 21st February 2005 04:04 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:06 (Sunday, 21-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat