Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th March 2017, 01:36 PM
bobx001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: santa barbara, CA
Posts: 339
linuxfedorafirefox
Success on Rikomagic RKM36S

I was able to finally install Fedora successfully, i.e. *it works*, on a Rikomagic RKM36 Mini-PC.

Well, it was not really easy, here is what worked for me:

1. Fedora Workstation, I was only able to do a 2 stage install. An old FC23 first, and then using fedup, was able to update to FC25. I will post in a week time, to see if it survives. If I try a direct FC25 install with Gnome, and I guess Wayland, it won't work properly, and corrupts the file system, I can only surmise things start to happen out of sequence.

2. LXDE Spin works fine for FC25, installed on the first try, and she's been kicking a week already, doing random things around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th March 2017, 02:16 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,675
linuxchrome
Re: Success on Rikomagic RKM36S

have you installed any additional RAM or stuck with the 2GB as supplied? F25 and Wayland may work better with more RAM as you'd have more to share for graphics rendering then.
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th March 2017, 03:33 PM
bobx001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: santa barbara, CA
Posts: 339
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Success on Rikomagic RKM36S

Quote:
Originally Posted by antikythera View Post
have you installed any additional RAM or stuck with the 2GB as supplied? F25 and Wayland may work better with more RAM as you'd have more to share for graphics rendering then.
Unfortunately I have not increased the RAM.

This coming weekend I will take a video of the full install of the latest FC25 default Workstation edition, that way we can maybe get some idea where is the point of failure. Maybe even FC26 too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rikomagic, rkm36s, success

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rikomagic RKM36 won't work "right". bobx001 Hardware & Laptops 0 9th February 2017 03:32 PM
Anyone had success using RPZ? flashl Servers & Networking 1 15th April 2016 01:35 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:40 (Thursday, 30-03-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat