Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th December 2004, 10:06 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
You know it's time to re-install when...

grep throws a segfault.

I have absolutely no idea what happened, or when, but here I was crusing along on my upgrade from FC2 to FC3 - then I couldn't get to GMail. Then I was having problems with the Apple movie trailers site. So I started to go poking around /etc to see if I could find anything. Okay, let's grep for some stuff in /etc - segfault?!?!?!?!

*sigh*

Obviously, I'm back up and running fine with a fresh installation. This is why I keep /home on a separate partition.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th December 2004, 11:15 PM
piedamaro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackers
grep throws a segfault.

I have absolutely no idea what happened, or when, but here I was crusing along on my upgrade from FC2 to FC3 - then I couldn't get to GMail. Then I was having problems with the Apple movie trailers site. So I started to go poking around /etc to see if I could find anything. Okay, let's grep for some stuff in /etc - segfault?!?!?!?!

*sigh*

Obviously, I'm back up and running fine with a fresh installation. This is why I keep /home on a separate partition.
I've suffered a similar issue: I had a lot of programs to segfault on startup, it turned to be a failed prelinking, running /etc/cron.daily/prelink again solved the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th December 2004, 11:39 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
Oh, crud. Good catch. Well, at least I have a cleaner system to mess up.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th December 2004, 12:52 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
It was reported days after the new released of fc3. But if you run your updates right away the bug was fixed: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...hlight=eggcups
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th December 2004, 01:01 AM
jtang613 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackers
This is why I keep /home on a separate partition.
I narrowly averted disaster today too. Been moving some hefty (GB+) files around on my /home partition when I began experiencing very strange behaviour ...
- File write failures
- Read failures
- ls: Failed. Input/Output Error

My entire /home partition began randomly locking up, despite reboots and /tmp clearing and "asking nicely".

So after some knuckle-cracking and head-banging I logged in as root. <cue ominous theme music>

I use the XFS (filesystem) for all my partitions, so my first task was to umount /home and run xfs_check /home. This revealed numerous "Bad magic number for inode" errors (about 30). Son-of-a-***** ! I gues there's a first for everything. Actually, I think this might stem from me accidentally tripping my powerbar when my PC was under heavy load a few days ago.

Anyway, my /home partition has a lot of stuff that I really need - and haven't yet backed up this week. So I then mounted /home and ran xfsdump -f /mnt/store /home to backup all my valuebles before unmounting it again and running xfs_repair /dev/md2. This handy tool cleared up those gremlins in less than 2 minutes on my 80GB /home partition.

It was a big relief, so I just thought I'd share the drama.

ciao,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th December 2004, 02:35 AM
Shadow Skill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,317
Hmm is this a trend? My startx and system-config-display magically disappeared yesterday..I ended up formatting / just before I read Crackers suggestion. Then Crackers himself ends up nuking his own / before reading about the prelink potential fix...Then you Tang today avoid disaster with your own system. I sense a pattern of great evil...
__________________
Ware wa mutekinari.
Wa ga kage waza ni kanau mono nashi.
Wa ga ichigeki wa mutekinari.



Please vote for this bug and help me make GAYT [Go As You Type ]a standard option in Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th December 2004, 04:51 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
There's a vey large difference - i had interrupted a prelink run and had (apparently) some files that were only partially processed. This rendered the whole system basically unstable. I'm actually quite glad I did do the re-install: I had some pretty crusty old config files that were so heavily modified I couldn't tell which way was up in them any more. I look more upon it as a needed spring cleaning - although a bit early in my case.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th December 2004, 11:06 PM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Hopefully the retweaking of those config files won't take too long. That and installing all the random software I have is why I'm not too keen on reinstalling.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th December 2004, 04:38 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
Actually, the reason the configs have been tweaked so much was to make them work from upgrade to upgrade. "Fixing" the few I needed to after the install took about 5 minutes. And 90% of the "random software" I install these days ends up in /opt. My usual problem is getting rid of the extra packages that I don't use. (Don't ask me why, it's an old habit from when disks were about 1/1000th the size they are now.)
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time fc6 Install teky68 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 19th January 2007 10:05 PM
network install help ** my first time doing it this way** golpemortal Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 18th December 2006 02:54 AM
install time 545 mins? .. wth! saabo Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 2nd November 2006 01:18 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:49 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat