Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st May 2013, 01:20 PM
Pedroski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 190
linuxfirefox
compiz

Hi again!

I love compiz! Especially the wobbly windows, so I have installed compiz. I click the box to activate wobbly windows, but when I close ccsm, my windows are not wobbly! Oh dear!

So I click on the compiz fusion icon. Bang, the desktop changes! The task bar at the top of the normal gnome desktop is gone, I have 4 desktops and wobbly windows in different colours! Great, but wait, what if I want to open something else? There is no way out, and no access to the menus and stuff which normally appears in gnome when you move the mouse to the top left corner of the screen.

The only way out is call a virtual terminal, ctrl alt f2, and sudo a shutdown! This can't be right.

Having activated compiz by clicking the compiz fusion icon, how can I deactivate it, short of a shutdown??

Also. I like to have more desktops, say 9. Where do I tell compiz that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st May 2013, 09:50 PM
solo2101 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: behind that screen...
Posts: 736
linuxchrome
Re: compiz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedroski View Post
The task bar at the top of the normal gnome desktop is gone
Do you mean the Mate Panel?
If i understand your problem...
Try right clicking where the panel used to be...at the top of the the screen, the panel should be there... its just not visible...
If you change the background color, the panel will be visible again...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd May 2013, 12:28 AM
Pedroski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 190
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

Nope, right click, left click on any edge of the screen won't elicit any response, I still can only shutdown to get back to gnome.

I definitely have compiz mate compatibility plugin installed. Any more tips??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd May 2013, 01:24 AM
sidebrnz Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 64
Posts: 2,460
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

I use Xfce, so things may be a tad different. My Settings menu includes Panel, and on the Display tab I have an option to automatically show and hide the Panel. If it's checked, the panel is barely visible on the edge of the screen unless I move the mouse onto it. Check with your control panels to see if you have the same thing. I mention this because I too use Compiz, and it doesn't control the panel.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd May 2013, 01:36 AM
Pedroski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 190
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

As far as I know, there is no option in gnome to hide the bar at the top. It is a permanent feature, which is a bit silly. I have gnome tweaks installed, but there is no option 'hide the task bar' as far as I can see. When I use Ubuntu, I have the launch panel on the left, and it hides automatically. Ubuntu has bits of compiz, like wobbly windows (my only reason for using compiz)

I have unchecked almost everything in ccsm, because I know it can be very touchy. So I only change one thing at a time, then try it.

Any other tips??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd May 2013, 02:06 AM
00negative Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: US
Posts: 21
What desktop are you using? You keep referencing gnome but another person asked you about mate as well. Compiz is a windows manager and I think there are ways to set it to default in mate but not sure about gnome
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd May 2013, 02:14 AM
Pedroski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 190
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

I am using gnome right now. I thought, when someone mentioned 'mate', that was somehow the name of the task bar which we see in gnome at the top. The task bar has on the left 'Activities', in the middle the date and on the right my name, battery, network, sound, and input icons. It is always there in gnome. Non-hideable so to speak.

By clicking activities, or simply moving the mouse to the top left corner, the open windows shrink, and I see a launch panel for favourites on the left, and the desktops on the right.

When I start compiz, there is no access to this area and no task bar at the top, so anything which is not open cannot be accessed, including the shutdown button.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd May 2013, 02:29 AM
raveit65 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 192
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedroski View Post
There is no way out, and no access to the menus and stuff which normally appears in gnome when you move the mouse to the top left corner of the screen.
Forget it, you're using gnome-shell which is designed to use with mutter as windows-manager.
Compiz doesn't work with gnome-shell.
I'm still wondering that gnome-3 doesn't crash.
Use MATE, XFCE or LXDE if you want to use compiz as windows-manager.
__________________
Life is to short for boring desktops
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd May 2013, 02:37 AM
Pedroski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 190
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

Aha, where did you read that?

I better go to compiz fusion and read up a bit! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd May 2013, 02:42 AM
raveit65 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 192
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

I do package compiz in fedora
__________________
Life is to short for boring desktops

Last edited by raveit65; 2nd May 2013 at 02:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2nd May 2013, 02:54 AM
00negative Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: US
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedroski View Post
Aha, where did you read that?

I better go to compiz fusion and read up a bit! Thanks!
Mate is a desktop environment based on the old gnome style and uses some of those packages. But compiz doesn't work with gnome shell. You can add some different effects via gnome shell extensions that you can find on the gnome shell extensions site but that is it.

Like other poster stated use mate or lxde, etc if you want compiz effects it will save you headaches
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2nd May 2013, 03:12 AM
Pedroski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 190
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

Ok got it, I've downloaded xfce desktop, not lxde. Will that work?

Why am I so crazy about wobbly windows?? I just think they are the coolest thing since sliced bread!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2nd May 2013, 03:27 AM
00negative Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: US
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedroski View Post
Ok got it, I've downloaded xfce desktop, not lxde. Will that work?

Why am I so crazy about wobbly windows?? I just think they are the coolest thing since sliced bread!
Yep that works, might search around on best way to install it. Don't think it's just an install compiz and everything works type install.

It is cool.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2nd May 2013, 03:31 AM
Pedroski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 190
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

Thanks! Only remains for someone to tell gnome they should make the task bar retractable!! I only have a small screen!
I like the Ubuntu launcher, it hides at the side, and comes when I move the mouse to the left!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd May 2013, 10:49 AM
raveit65 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 192
linuxfirefox
Re: compiz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedroski View Post
Ok got it, I've downloaded xfce desktop, not lxde. Will that work?

Why am I so crazy about wobbly windows?? I just think they are the coolest thing since sliced bread!
OK,
for the first time or always you can use fusion-icon to start compiz.
Than do your settings in ccsm (CompizConfig Settings Mananger)
If compiz is running you see a change directly.
If everthing works well you can use a start script 'compiz-xfce-emerald' wihich is in the compiz-xfce package or fusion-icon to start the xfce session directly with compiz and emerald as windows-decorator.
Add this to autostart or add fusion-icon to autostart.
Now after a logout your session starts directly with compiz.
If something goes wrong type 'xfwm4 --replace in a terminal to get the xfce windows-manager back.
To avoid start compiz in gnome with those possibilities, add this line to the desktop files located in /usr/share/applications/
OnlyShowIn=XFCE;
otherwise the fusion-icon or the script starts also in GNOME.

Have fun

Edit: don't expected that every plugin is working well in xfce. Compiz was designed to use with gnome-2 which is now MATE.
__________________
Life is to short for boring desktops

Last edited by raveit65; 2nd May 2013 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compiz

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange GNOME compiz problem with AWN - compiz-gtk? jeffers_uk Using Fedora 1 19th March 2009 08:32 PM
getting a compiz error when running compiz-manager manuleka Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 28th February 2009 04:20 AM
F9 compiz-0.7.5 packages added to the compiz-fusion repo leigh123linux Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 3 19th April 2008 01:08 AM
Fedora 7 +Intel965+ [Beryl, Compiz, Compiz-Fusion] Freezes bala04 Hardware & Laptops 0 15th September 2007 08:43 PM
GL Desktop/Gnome Compiz Manager - Adding to Compiz Axklor Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 1 24th February 2007 10:07 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:40 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat