Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th March 2013, 06:45 PM
ekkli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crete
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
can not start graphical environment normally

Hi all,
I have installed F18 since late January, until then I used to work with Debian, I don't know a lot about linux, just the basics.
Besides Gnome 3.6, I also installed Cinnamon and Mate for test reasons and I ended up using cinnamon as my basic graphic environment.

Suddenly, last Friday, after the login screen, the system doesn't start any graphical environment.

I hard-rebooted and tried another session and it was the same situation.
No matter what graphical environment i tried, nothing starts and it only shows the classic blue gnome screen.

So, i press ctrl+alt+F2, and then I press
Code:
startx
in the terminal and then it starts the Gnome.

It seems like something "broke" in the X windows manager and it can not start normally.
In all other ways the system works fine, it just can not start normally after the login screen.
I haven't found out how to start cinnamon manually.
I also installed xfce from terminal but nothing changed.

Is there any way I can start cinnamon manually from the terminal ?
Is there a command to remove and then reinstall the X windows manager?
Have you got any idea about what broke and how to fix it ?


thanx in advance for your time and your patience, this is my first post in the english language i have ever done
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th March 2013, 10:38 PM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 65
Posts: 2,623
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

Next time this happens, don't just run startx. Do this first:

mv .xsession-errors xsession-errors

You need to do this first because when you run startx, the old file (from your last, failed session) will be overwritten and this will preserve the evidence. Then, once you've gotten things running, come back here and post the contents. I don't know if I'll be able to help any further, but if not, somebody will.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th March 2013, 12:36 PM
ekkli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crete
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

"no such file or directory"

I also tried locate or find .xession-errors and I got no results (after sudo updatedb).

there is no way to start cinnamon manually from terminal ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th March 2013, 01:55 PM
Ahmad Samir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 670
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

If the display manager being using is GDM then the session log is at ~/.cache/gdm/session.log .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th March 2013, 02:26 PM
ekkli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crete
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

the file
session.log.old
looks like this:

Code:
 :   w q 0 M   l
  )           ; !   R 6   v X        y   _ '         8 } y m -     4   i _   , 
j   + " * j v ;   3   S \ x       % & b @   s   >   Y `     _   M   d j p      
  m     * j v   0 3       x   8 D 2   6   ;   W   k     p 5    / c   @ c ^     
t   ` 4   m R %     g $ 8   p   < t J       Q   S     #     h @ y   _     ' n  
t   ` 4   m R % b   g $ 8   p   < t J       Q   S     #     h @ y   _     ' nW 
  > `   D m R   b   g         A <   J + 4 4    W M           =   L ( ) )       
m [   ;   c U   X     ' ,           l   ; z e T                 x )     A   vK 
        c z       u   z   X   M   =   '     g     D          f =   T   H o (   
v   j     ) k m $   1         K 9 N k     H   H            j    v5           Z 
v   j     ) k m $   1   9  X       { *         { R     E     R |     2   t   u 
      + i ) k   $     q     C   9   k       " H   ) ,     D   O ! T       , X v
U q r +                   Y /     # k     ) " H 1     V c D   O   6  3t 5   A  
          \ 8   . m     B     7   # Y   E )   * 1   $       -   8   t - z w t H
the same happens with the file session.log


is it important what the file Xorg.1.log shows ?
if yes, it's too big and I can't post it here
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th March 2013, 03:29 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,190
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

You can grep for just the error messages from your Xorg log files:
Code:
grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log
grep EE /var/log/Xorg.1.log
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th March 2013, 04:14 PM
ekkli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crete
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

do you think it's fixable ?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th March 2013, 07:37 PM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 65
Posts: 2,623
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

The fact that there's no .xsession-errors shows that the issue isn't with X, because it's not even starting. That means that your greeter, gdm is the issue, which explains why startx works from a command line.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th March 2013, 07:43 PM
ekkli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crete
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidebrnz View Post
The fact that there's no .xsession-errors shows that the issue isn't with X, because it's not even starting. That means that your greeter, gdm is the issue, which explains why startx works from a command line.
how can I fix this ?

edit :
I tried

sudo yum reinstall gdm

it reinstalled ok but didn't fix the problem

Last edited by ekkli; 20th March 2013 at 07:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th March 2013, 09:43 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,190
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

What is the output of this command?
Code:
ls -l /etc/systemd/system/default.target
It should be:
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 36 Mar  8 10:46 /etc/systemd/system/default.target -> /lib/systemd/system/graphical.target
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th March 2013, 09:55 PM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 65
Posts: 2,623
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

BTW, you don't need to use screen shots to show the results of your command. Just highlight the lines you need with your mouse and use Edit->Copy. Then, simply paste it into your reply. HTH, HAND.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20th March 2013, 11:26 PM
ekkli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crete
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloTwo View Post
What is the output of this command?
Code:
ls -l /etc/systemd/system/default.target
It should be:
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 36 Mar  8 10:46 /etc/systemd/system/default.target -> /lib/systemd/system/graphical.target
it's the same, isn't it ?
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 36 Feb 13 19:18 /etc/systemd/system/default.target -> /lib/systemd/system/graphical.target
except the difference in the date
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st March 2013, 02:40 AM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,190
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

Yes, it's the same, and as it should be. Just thought that would be one thing to check to make sure it wasn't pointing to /multi-user.target (console mode).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21st March 2013, 02:54 AM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 65
Posts: 2,623
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

Try running this command as root:

cat /var/log/messages | grep gdm

Look through the output for anything that looks like an error, especially something that reports that gdm has crashed, or terminated unexpectedly.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21st March 2013, 08:39 AM
ekkli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Crete
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: can not start graphical environment normally

it says something like that many times

Code:
Mar 20 23:23:17  gdm-simple-slave[796]: WARNING: Failed to give slave programs access to the display. Trying to proceed.
Mar 20 23:23:19  systemd-logind[713]: New session 1 of user gdm.
Mar 20 23:23:22  dbus-daemon[728]: dbus[728]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.53" (uid=42 pid=1402 comm="gnome-shell --mode=gdm ") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.16" (uid=0 pid=931 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")
Mar 20 23:23:22  dbus[728]: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.53" (uid=42 pid=1402 comm="gnome-shell --mode=gdm ") interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply="0" destination=":1.16" (uid=0 pid=931 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon --no-daemon ")
Mar 20 21:23:28  gdm-simple-slave[796]: WARNING: Failed to remove slave program access to the display. Trying to proceed.
Mar 20 21:23:28  gdm-simple-slave[796]: WARNING: Child process -1207 was already dead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
environment, graphical, start

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora10 will not load graphical environment sburnham79 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 28th November 2008 11:48 AM
change FC7 to start in graphical mode ? netsuvi Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 19th July 2007 06:33 PM
Cannot log into GDM/Gnome/graphical environment jort Using Fedora 16 2nd April 2006 12:52 PM
No Graphical Environment ddltohdd Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 28th September 2005 08:58 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:54 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ebebiyin Travel Photos - Sabah as Salim Photos - Pleasantville Travel Photos