Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st January 2013, 11:31 AM
yeleek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
linuxchrome
Question Install 64bit handbrake on F18

Hi,
Am trying to install handbrake 0.9.8 on F18 (KDE spin). I have tried to use this as a guide of the required dependencies for the build from source.

http://www.tommyappco.com/additions.php?req=13

all be it 'sudo yum groupinstall 'Development Tools'' fails.

However once running gmake for some time the install fails with this.

Code:
./contrib/lib/libass.a(ass_shaper.o): In function `ass_shaper_set_language':
ass_shaper.c:(.text+0x160e): undefined reference to `hb_language_from_string'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
gmake: *** [HandBrakeCLI] Error 1
Any ideas please? Has anyone managed to build/install this successfully on F18?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st January 2013, 02:14 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,515
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

What failed with development tools? It might be that an important tool wasn't installed.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2013, 04:19 PM
yeleek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

Hi,

When running the 'sudo yum groupinstall 'Development Tools'' command, I just got the below.

Code:
Warning: Group development-tools does not have any packages to install.
No packages in any requested group available to install or update
Thanks

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:10 PM ----------

Actually - these guys report a similar error for mplayer2.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=126900

Does hb_language_from_string = harfbuzz? And what can I do, as I want to be able to get subtitles...

Or is this a wild goose chase?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st January 2013, 06:25 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,515
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

I don't think it's a wild goosechase. I think the developers, judging from the build-LINUX doc included, are more used to Ubuntu. I think what I would do is look at the Ubuntu packages listed there, and try to get the Fedora equivalents. The build-essentials equivalent is can probably be fulfilled using

yum install gcc gcc-c++ make automake kernel-devel

I've never taken the time to check if one of those pulls in others in the list.) Then, try the other packages mentioned in that document and try doing it that way. If you get errors because a package or shared object, such as libx.so.1 can't be found, try finding what package provides it, using yum provides

http://home.roadrunner.com/~computer...mprovides.html

If all you're doing is putting in a file, without really drastic changes, you can use HandBrakeCLI. (Although its syntax for subtitles is confusing, see http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu/dvds.html for some stuff on subtitles with HandBrakeCLI

Have you seen this thread? http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=282622

I don't know how applicable it will be.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st January 2013, 10:48 PM
beckermania Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: US
Posts: 1
linuxfirefox
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

I ran into this same issue when attempting to build the 0.9.8 tarball. I checked out the nightly build and it successfully built.

Get the nightly here

svn://svn.handbrake.fr/HandBrake/trunk hb-trunk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd January 2013, 04:55 PM
yeleek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

Thanks for the replies guys.

1) Tried below
yum install gcc gcc-c++ make automake kernel-devel
All already installed

2) Tried the svn approach and it errored with the below
bhb/ -I./contrib/include -c ../libhb/rendersub.c -o libhb/rendersub.o
: ../libhb/rendersub.c:12:21: fatal error: ass/ass.h: No such file or directory
: compilation terminated.
: gmake: *** [libhb/rendersub.o] Error 1
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
time end: Tue Jan 22 16:05:59 2013
duration: 8 minutes, 19 seconds (499.69s)
result: FAILURE (code 2)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


searching for ass* shows no ass/ass.h

ben@wopr /tmp/hb-trunk$ find -iname ass*
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavformat/assdec.o
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavformat/assdec.d
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavformat/assenc.c
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavformat/assdec.c
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/assdec.o
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/assdec.d
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/ass.o
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/ass.d
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/assenc.c
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/assdec.c
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/ass.h
./build/contrib/ffmpeg/libav-v9.1/libavcodec/ass.c

---------- Post added at 04:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

Looks like I've made progress. Installed libdvdread-devel and libass-devel, handbrake now builds/installs and starts.

Thanks for the help guys.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd January 2013, 07:27 PM
CronoCloud Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 452
linuxfirefox
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

Instead of going to the hassle of compiling it, why not use the "Easy Button" way:

http://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/sourcef...17.x86_64.html

Download the rpm and install it...it's that simple.

CronoCloud
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd January 2013, 04:40 PM
yeleek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

Quote:
Originally Posted by CronoCloud View Post
Instead of going to the hassle of compiling it, why not use the "Easy Button" way:

http://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/sourcef...17.x86_64.html

Download the rpm and install it...it's that simple.

CronoCloud
I had tried that in the very beginning, on a vanilla F18 x64 install failed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th January 2013, 05:09 AM
kyderby Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

I just tried to compile Handbrake using the directions shown here: https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/CompileOnLinux

It failed & I attached the log files.

One thing to note is when I tried yum groupinstalll "Development Tools" "Development Libraries" \
> "X Software Development" "GNOME Software Development"

It says the following:

Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Warning: Group development-tools does not have any packages to install.
Warning: Group development-libs does not have any packages to install.
Warning: Group x-software-development does not have any packages to install.
Warning: Group gnome-software-development does not have any packages to install.
No packages in any requested group available to install or update

Any suggestions for me?

Update: I had success after installing packages libsamplerate-devel & libtheora-devel.
Attached Files
File Type: txt config.info.txt (1.4 KB, 81 views)
File Type: txt build.txt (980.4 KB, 85 views)
File Type: txt config.verbose.txt (2.5 KB, 61 views)

Last edited by kyderby; 24th January 2013 at 06:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th January 2013, 09:12 AM
yeleek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

I had trouble with those details too. Suggest this:

sudo yum groupinstall 'Development Libraries'
sudo yum install fribidi-devel
sudo yum install gtk+ yasm webkitgtk-devel gstreamer-devel gstreamer-plugins-base-devel
sudo yum install libgudev1-devel libnotify-devel
sudo yum install libass-devel
sudo yum install libdvdread-devel
sudo yum install gcc gcc-c++ make automake kernel-devel

svn checkout svn://svn.handbrake.fr/HandBrake/trunk hb-trunk
cd hb-trunk/
./configure --launch
cd build
sudo make install

Presuming that all goes through without error
hb-trunk/build/gtk/src/ghb is the gtk handbrake executable. I used the above process and handbrake is working for me now.

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27th January 2013, 09:23 AM
donaldm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 23
linuxfirefox
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

I have Fedora 18 and all I needed was to download the rpm for HandBrake (ie. HandBrake-gui-0.9.8-2.fc17.x86_64.rpm) which you can get at http://rpmfind.net/linux/RPM/index.html (just do a search for handbrake).

Note the rpm is for Fedora 17 however if you type the following as root:

# yum install HandBrake-gui-0.9.8-2.fc17.x86_64.rpm

All dependencies should be pulled in.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31st January 2013, 01:31 AM
gatlin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

There is a post on http://www.jamesarbrown.com/?p=196 about it.
GHB was updated within days, https://trac.handbrake.fr/browser/trunk/doc/BUILD-Linux.

You can try $( rpm -qpR HandBrake-gui-0.9.6-1.fc16.x86_64.rpm) on HandBrake's 0.9.6 to get an idea of what are - still likely - the requisites.
$(yum deplist HandBrake-gui-0.9.6-1.fc16.x86_64.rpm) will give you the names of the packages.

HandBrake lists BuildRequres in its .spec. (https://trac.handbrake.fr/browser/trunk/gtk/ghb.spec)
"13 BuildRequires: glib2-devel, gtk2-devel, webkitgtk-devel
14 BuildRequires: gstreamer-devel, gstreamer-plugins-base-devel, libgudev1-devel
15 BuildRequires: bzip2-devel, intltool, libnotify-devel, libtool, yasm"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd February 2013, 12:28 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,515
linuxfirefox
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

Thanks for those additions. Today, I was building from svn and couldn't figure out what I was missing (I'm doing CLI only, using --disable-gtk.)

It turned out I'd overlooked intltool and libtool. After installing those two, all was good.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd February 2013, 10:13 PM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,371
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

The Fedora remix Korora 18 (used to known as Kororaa) includes Handbrake along with many other packages. Easier than trying to compile it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23rd February 2013, 12:35 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,515
linuxchrome
Re: Install 64bit handbrake on F18

Actually, after posting, I saw that the Linux readme gives a list of packages for Fedora now. (I hadn't read till the end last time.)

Once I had them all installed, the building was very straightforward. Good to know about Kororaa though, thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
64bit, f18, handbrake, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is a rpm for Handbrake 0.9.8? GrayFox Using Fedora 14 2nd October 2013 08:40 PM
Install Handbrake on Fedora 16 MorphingDragon Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 17 19th July 2012 01:27 PM
install handbrake on centos 5.8 madjtorr Linux Chat 1 1st April 2012 05:30 PM
[SOLVED] How to install SecureCRT 6.7.4 64bit on Fedora 16 64bit safewithyou247 Using Fedora 0 25th March 2012 02:51 PM
can't install handbrake rpm bonedome Using Fedora 4 20th June 2010 11:28 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:19 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat